(MAC) Cubase 5 / Reason 4 RAM usage?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
benbtite
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:07 pm
Contact:

(MAC) Cubase 5 / Reason 4 RAM usage?

Post by benbtite » Tue Dec 28, 2010 4:43 pm

Greetings-

Does anyone know how using these 2 programs together utilizes RAM on a Snow Leopard Machine? I get that because both programs are 32 bit, either program can only use 4GB of RAM on their own. Is it possible (probably dreaming here) that when both programs are open (using Rewire) that each are using 4GB of RAM separately (thus using all 8GB)?

My guess is that they're sharing the same 4GB, but I wonder if anyone knows for sure...thanks!

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: (MAC) Cubase 5 / Reason 4 RAM usage?

Post by JMCecil » Tue Dec 28, 2010 4:50 pm

benbtite wrote:but I wonder if anyone knows for sure...thanks!
I can answer this part of the question because there is no doubt that someone knows for sure.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Guest

Re: (MAC) Cubase 5 / Reason 4 RAM usage?

Post by Guest » Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:18 pm

Both programs have their own processes which could theoretically run up to 4 GB each. But in practice you'll note that Cubase manages most of the memory when rewired to Reason. Watch the memory allocation in Activity Monitor while you load bigger sample patches in Reason. You'll see that Cubase's share will grow significantly while Reason's amount stays relatively small.

benbtite
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:07 pm
Contact:

Re: (MAC) Cubase 5 / Reason 4 RAM usage?

Post by benbtite » Wed Dec 29, 2010 6:21 pm

Thanks for the reply, Georg. It was really interesting to see how little RAM was actually being used when I checked the activity monitor. Even with both programs open there was at least 1.5 GB free of the 4GB available. Funny how even 2GB of RAM seemed enormous 5 years ago when I bought this machine.
Cheers & Happy New Year!

Ben

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Memo36641663 and 10 guests