Poor performance or too high expectations? Let's compare.

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
ilandigital
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:50 pm
Contact:

Poor performance or too high expectations? Let's compare.

Post by ilandigital »

Hey everyone.

Somehow I find my system performance quite poor. Maybe that's a given or
I messed something up or... I don't know...

Here's the setup:
Asus Sabertooth 990 FX
Athlon FX Bulldozer 8150 3,6 GHz 8-Core
16 Gigabyte Ram
Radeon HD 7950
RME fireface uc
OS is Win7 home premium x64 running of a 1TB Samsung Evo 840
DAW is cubase 8 pro
EVERY SOFTWARE DRIVER AND FIRMWARE IS UP TO DATE! (I just reinstalled due to frustration)

Here's the performance problem:

I'm running a project with a couple of vstis (Reaktor/battery/2xmassive/retrologue)
And there's some basic mixing going on.

THAT won't even play back without clicks and such @ a buffersetting of 1048 samples!!

I think this shouldn't be a problem with this machine - am I wrong?

Please tell me what kinda workload your machine can handle.

Thanks

woodsdemis
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 6:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Poor performance or too high expectations? Let's compare

Post by woodsdemis »

Well Reaktor ensembles can eat CPU depending on patch of course
Mac Pro 10.12.4 Cubase 9.0.2

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Poor performance or too high expectations? Let's compare

Post by jamusic »

I don't think that should be a problem for your machine at all.
Mine isn't as powerful, by the looks of it, and my performance is more than satisfactory.

The VSTs you've listed do seem to be heavy hitters as far as CPU usage goes, but not enough to cause the troubles you're having though.

I usually run several instances of Kontakt 4 & 5, [some of which are quite intense like Kirk Hunter's Spot Light Strings x 3 separate instances], Ample Sound Guitars x 2, Garritan Aria Player, 2-3 Reverbs, Compressors & a few Eqs - all are VSTs.

About 25-30 MIDI tracks. A few audio tracks.

Nothing bounced - all raw processing as it plays along.

Plus I can record new MIDI tracks through to any VST without any noticeable latency with my setting at either 256 or 512 - [can't remember which one it's at right now].

My performance meter never even gets up to half way - more like 20-30%.

I could easily add a bunch more stuff, but I never seem to need that many tracks.

Seems there's something else that's going there that needs to be addressed.

Have you check out the various articles, tips & tricks to tweak your system to optimize it for audio streaming and production?
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


jimmys69
Member
Posts: 807
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Poor performance or too high expectations? Let's compare

Post by jimmys69 »

PC Win7-64-16G i7-4790k/Cubase 5-6-7 32 bit, Cubase 8-9 Pro 64-bit/2-Steinberg UR824's/ADAM A7X/Event TR8/SS Trigger Plat Deluxe/Melodyne Editor

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 22716
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Poor performance or too high expectations? Let's compare

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Try to test your system via LatencyMon (free utility).

With PCs, it's always difficult. One component can significantly affects and slows down the whole system.

Reaktor could be very CPU consuming, depends on the sound. Battery could be very RAM consuming, depends on the library.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
mroekalea
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: Poor performance or too high expectations? Let's compare

Post by mroekalea »

TIP: start taskmanager and monitor for programs which do burst your CPU load, it can happen that devices like USB controllers, network interfaces, video boards interrupts your system bad so they can have priority. This will be obvious when related software causes cpu burst in your taskmanager (performance tab).
Menoj

If nothing goes right, go left!


Win10, 3930K@3.2Ghz, 32GB, 2 x DELL u2713hm monitors (5120 x 1440), monitoring: ADAM P22A with SUB8, Audient ID14 & Behringer XR18 & Focusrite safire pro 26IO, Cubase 9.5 pro & artist 8.5, wavelab 9.5 elements, HSO, RND Portico 5033, CC121, Cubase IC pro, Halion 6, GA4, VG2, Arturia Analog Lab, TRacks CS grand + all custom elements, BFD3, Amplitube 3&4 (fender, orange, SVX collections, slash), Z3TA+2, HSO library, many Waves plugs, Plugin Alliance plugins (BX, SPL, Maag & Elysia), NI Komplete 11 Ultimate, AIR instrument expansion pack v3, Melodyne Studio v4, Soundtoys 5, Lexicon native PCM reverb bundle, UJAM Virtual Guitarist complete bundle, SoniVox Premium collection, Ezkeys upright & Vintage Fender Jazz basses, Fender Bassman 100, Markbass TTE500 , FMC Neo 2128 cab

ilandigital
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Poor performance or too high expectations? Let's compare

Post by ilandigital »

Martin.Jirsak wrote:Hi,

Try to test your system via LatencyMon (free utility).

With PCs, it's always difficult. One component can significantly affects and slows down the whole system.

Reaktor could be very CPU consuming, depends on the sound. Battery could be very RAM consuming, depends on the library.

Latency checker says everything is fine.

I thought maybe it's a USB problem and I should get a pci usb fats to avoid the onboard controler.!?

ilandigital
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Poor performance or too high expectations? Let's compare

Post by ilandigital »

so just to clear this up i little.
i work in music production for almost 20 years now.
most of the time i've used windows machines since i'm not an apple kinda guy.
for the most part i know what i'm doing - even when it comes to setting up a daw and building a computer.

i ran very big productions with lots of tracks and processing on the prior machines and i really think here's
something terribly wrong. i just dont see it.

has anyone similar setup? id really like to compare....

lust but not least thanks for the answers. i appreciate that!



best

ilan

ilandigital
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Poor performance or too high expectations? Let's compare

Post by ilandigital »

jimmys69 wrote:Give these steps a shot:

http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/art ... windows-7/
i'll try and disable usb power management and uac. the rest that they mention i did already.

thank you for the link

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Poor performance or too high expectations? Let's compare

Post by jamusic »

In Cubase 7.5, there is the option to turn ASIO Guard per VST instrument, as well as Globally.

This was a suggestion that someone from Steinberg mentioned on here last year sometime.

Can you try that?

[I haven't actually looked for it in Cubase 8 Pro, because I've never needed to do it.]
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest