Facility to play local media files in the Control Room

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
Locked
imm
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:37 pm
Contact:

Facility to play local media files in the Control Room

Post by imm » Sun May 24, 2015 10:43 pm

I would like to see a way to play media files via an external (software) media player in the Control Room. I.e. besides External Input, Talkbacks, Cue, Headphone and Monitor, it ought to be possible to add a local (software) media player as a source to the Control Room.

This way it will be much easier to play media files through your physical monitors without first having to import the media files in the audio pool.

(Or maybe the facility exists but I just hav not ound it?
Eventually see my old request http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 46&t=21605)

Kind regards
Ib-Michael
Cubase Pro 8, Grove Agent 3, HALion One, HALion Symphonic Orchestra,
PadshopPro, NI Komplete 9 Ultimate, NI Kore 2, Addictive Drums 2, Sequel 3,
PreSonus StudioOne 2, MR816csx, CC121, MOTU2408, Behringer DDX3216,
CMC-AI, CMC-CH, CMC-FD, CMC-TP, CMC-QC, CMC-PD,
Yamaha MOXF 8, Yamaha Motif 7, Yamaha S03, Yamaha DX7,
Emu Emax SE, Emu Proteus-FX,
Epiphone Les Paul Ultra II, Ovation CC 049S,
Fender Standard American Jazz Bass

Why can't I make a hit?

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3864
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Facility to play local media files in the Control Room

Post by raino » Mon May 25, 2015 8:32 pm

You can play a file using the Audio Pool without actually importing it. Just use the preview capability in the Audio Pool's import dialog, and then don't import anything.

Or alternatively just use a separate media player independently. I often have both Cubase and Windows Media Player open at the same time so I can switch back and forth between listening to a project and other songs. Heck I can even play them both at the same time if I'm looking for cacophony. What benefit do you expect to get by routing a player thru Cubase instead of just playing it directly?
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

dmbaer
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 7:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Facility to play local media files in the Control Room

Post by dmbaer » Mon May 25, 2015 9:21 pm

raino wrote:What benefit do you expect to get by routing a player thru Cubase instead of just playing it directly?
I use the control room expressly for the purpose of having IK ARC active for my monitors (but I never have to worry about remembering to turn ARC off for exports). Likewise, I route the headphone control room channel thru my focurite VRM box. I'd love to easily play external media through the control for these reasons.

I was just watching the new Groove 3 video series about Cubase 8 Pro. I had not been aware of the external inputs possibilities in the control room. I was just about to post a question here on whether it would be possible to somehow route my DAW's DVD drive playing a CD into a control room input. I suspect the answer is no, but it rarely hurts to ask.
David Baer

Hardware: Intel I7 4-core hyper-threaded; 8M RAM; Dual hard drives; Roland Quad Capture
OS: Win 7 64-bit
DAW: Cubase 7.5 64-bit (and SONAR X2 64-bit)
Synths and effects: More than I care to contemplate, but only the 64-bit stuff ever gets used

AlexRish
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 6:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Facility to play local media files in the Control Room

Post by AlexRish » Tue May 26, 2015 10:33 am

Have you tried to google something like "vst media player"? There're some free solutions on the web that may suit your needs.

Dewi32
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Facility to play local media files in the Control Room

Post by Dewi32 » Tue May 26, 2015 10:57 am

Sample Magic Magic AB is exactly what you need

dmbaer
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 7:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Facility to play local media files in the Control Room

Post by dmbaer » Tue May 26, 2015 8:50 pm

AlexRish wrote:Have you tried to google something like "vst media player"? There're some free solutions on the web that may suit your needs.
Yes, I've got foobar2000 (or something like that - not at my DAW). It works fine, but I can't get it to remember to loaded VST and have to reset it every time. This is not something that's essential, but the discovery of external inputs for control room made me wonder if there was some way to define the computer's DVD drive as a control room input - mostly just curiosity.
David Baer

Hardware: Intel I7 4-core hyper-threaded; 8M RAM; Dual hard drives; Roland Quad Capture
OS: Win 7 64-bit
DAW: Cubase 7.5 64-bit (and SONAR X2 64-bit)
Synths and effects: More than I care to contemplate, but only the 64-bit stuff ever gets used

AlexRish
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 6:02 pm
Contact:

Facility to play local media files in the Control Room

Post by AlexRish » Tue May 26, 2015 8:55 pm

dmbaer wrote:
AlexRish wrote:Have you tried to google something like "vst media player"? There're some free solutions on the web that may suit your needs.
Yes, I've got foobar2000 (or something like that - not at my DAW). It works fine, but I can't get it to remember to loaded VST and have to reset it every time. This is not something that's essential, but the discovery of external inputs for control room made me wonder if there was some way to define the computer's DVD drive as a control room input - mostly just curiosity.
Well, I mean, a vst instrument capable of playing video and audio files, not external media player with vst inserts. [emoji16]

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3864
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Facility to play local media files in the Control Room

Post by raino » Tue May 26, 2015 9:40 pm

Disclaimer: I haven't actually tried this but I think it would work.

Depending on your audio interface & if you have some spare I/O on it, you might be able to do this by setting up a loopback. In Control Panel/Sounds set your default audio output to a pair of unused channels. Then in the audio device interface, if it supports this, have those channels loopback to a pair of input channels. Now when you play something in the DVD player, its audio should appear on those inputs in Cubase where you can route it as desired.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3050
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Facility to play local media files in the Control Room

Post by peakae » Wed May 27, 2015 2:50 am

I have for years used my internal audio connected to my studio interface using SPDIF. That way I eliminate the poor DAC from the internal interface.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

imm
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Facility to play local media files in the Control Room

Post by imm » Thu May 28, 2015 12:47 pm

raino wrote:Disclaimer: I haven't actually tried this but I think it would work.

Depending on your audio interface & if you have some spare I/O on it, you might be able to do this by setting up a loopback. In Control Panel/Sounds set your default audio output to a pair of unused channels. Then in the audio device interface, if it supports this, have those channels loopback to a pair of input channels. Now when you play something in the DVD player, its audio should appear on those inputs in Cubase where you can route it as desired.
I get the idea, but unfortunately I have been unable to implement it. I have a few free (ADAT) ports on my interface (MR816csx), but it does not seem to be possible to specify any input or output ports for this interface in the Control Panel/Sounds dialog. I can only select between my PC Soundcard and Yamaha Steinberg FW WDM Audio, not the individual ports on the interface.

Looking at the MR816 Mixer application, it looks like the output from a Windows audio application comes in via the "DAW-port". When I play audio files via a media player I see signal indication on and hear sound from the MR816csx. But I don't see any reaction in Cubase, no matter how I set up the VST Connections (maybe I have not found the right way yet?).

I am able to play music from Cubase and an external media player simultaneously, but I am not able to control the external media player via the Control Room (like if it was a physical/external CD player).

If you find a way to implement your suggestion, I would sure like to hear about it.


The benefits of being able to play media players through the Control Room is you have easy handling of sound sources (very handy when A/Bing different sources), and you have the possibility to treat all your sound sources with (the same) VST effects, should you want to.

Best regards
Ib-Michael
Cubase Pro 8, Grove Agent 3, HALion One, HALion Symphonic Orchestra,
PadshopPro, NI Komplete 9 Ultimate, NI Kore 2, Addictive Drums 2, Sequel 3,
PreSonus StudioOne 2, MR816csx, CC121, MOTU2408, Behringer DDX3216,
CMC-AI, CMC-CH, CMC-FD, CMC-TP, CMC-QC, CMC-PD,
Yamaha MOXF 8, Yamaha Motif 7, Yamaha S03, Yamaha DX7,
Emu Emax SE, Emu Proteus-FX,
Epiphone Les Paul Ultra II, Ovation CC 049S,
Fender Standard American Jazz Bass

Why can't I make a hit?

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3864
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Facility to play local media files in the Control Room

Post by raino » Thu May 28, 2015 8:35 pm

imm wrote: I get the idea, but unfortunately I have been unable to implement it. I have a few free (ADAT) ports on my interface (MR816csx), but it does not seem to be possible to specify any input or output ports for this interface in the Control Panel/Sounds dialog. I can only select between my PC Soundcard and Yamaha Steinberg FW WDM Audio, not the individual ports on the interface.
Look at the docs for your MR816csx and see if there is anything you need to set in order to make its individual ports available to Windows.

On my DAW (which of course is specific to my hardware) in Control Panel/Sound I can see and set my default to 8 different stereo outs on my Fireface 400. Additionally I have available digital and analog outs built into my motherboard and 4 outs on my graphics card - all of these I've disabled since I don't use them. But I could set my default audio to go to any of those if I wanted. Control Panel/Sound should show you every available audio output in the Playback tab and every input in the Recording tab. But it is the drivers for the devices that lets Windows know they exist. So the driver for your MR816csx should be making all its ports available to Windows.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 587
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Facility to play local media files in the Control Room

Post by HughH » Sun May 31, 2015 10:44 pm

raino wrote:Disclaimer: I haven't actually tried this but I think it would work.

Depending on your audio interface & if you have some spare I/O on it, you might be able to do this by setting up a loopback. In Control Panel/Sounds set your default audio output to a pair of unused channels. Then in the audio device interface, if it supports this, have those channels loopback to a pair of input channels. Now when you play something in the DVD player, its audio should appear on those inputs in Cubase where you can route it as desired.
This is what I've been doing for some time - it allows me to use control room features (multiple monitors, Bass Management, etc) on everything.

I have 2 ports on my interface (RME) assigned as playback device in Windows.
Then I loop those back to the corresponding inputs (RME allows this in software).
I assign those inputs as an external source in Cubase. Done.
I can then bring it up in the control room.
Also makes it very easy to record something off the internet in Cubase.

If loopback is not a feature on the Steinberg interface then you could do it with a cable, I suppose.

Hugh
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability
Pro Tools Ult cause I have to

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests