Create Chord Symbols replaces midi chords

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
Firpow
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 12:41 pm
Contact:

Create Chord Symbols replaces midi chords

Post by Firpow » Sun May 24, 2015 1:08 pm

How can I create Chord Symbols without this process removing the midi data from event I am extracting the chords from?

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3995
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Create Chord Symbols replaces midi chords

Post by raino » Sun May 24, 2015 7:54 pm

Perhaps you can provide the specific steps you are taking. It's difficult to understand what's happening from such a brief description.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Firpow
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 12:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Create Chord Symbols replaces midi chords

Post by Firpow » Tue May 26, 2015 7:24 pm

Yes, I am selecting in the sequencer view a midi event which I have recorded with my midi controller. This midi event thus includes chords that I wish to analyze. I then proceed to click the Project tab, select Chord Track and Create Chord Symbols which for some reason erases the data in the recorded midi event. I have not fiddled with any selections that should make the midi channel with the original recording to follow the chord track.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3995
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Create Chord Symbols replaces midi chords

Post by raino » Wed May 27, 2015 8:30 pm

Firpow wrote:Yes, I am selecting in the sequencer view a midi event which I have recorded with my midi controller. This midi event thus includes chords that I wish to analyze. I then proceed to click the Project tab, select Chord Track and Create Chord Symbols which for some reason erases the data in the recorded midi event. I have not fiddled with any selections that should make the midi channel with the original recording to follow the chord track.
So you're saying you have a recorded midi part that you are looking at in the Project Window. And then you use the Pencil Tool to draw a chord on the Chord Track. When you do this the data inside the midi part is erased leaving it blank, but an empty midi part remains. I'm not sure what you mean by "Project tab."

Initially I thought the track with the midi part was set to follow the chord track - but that would change not erase the midi data anyway. But you're saying it isn't. I've no idea what could be happening, it shouldn't do that.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Create Chord Symbols replaces midi chords

Post by vic_france » Wed May 27, 2015 9:49 pm

Just to clarify Raino's question.. is it deleting the source data, or just changing it?
I am indeed suspecting that the source MIDI track has "Follow Chord Track" enabled while performing this. It shouldn't be (because Cubase will try to work "both ways".. i.e. create the chord symbols as expected, but then replace the source data with what it considers to be the correct notes for those symbols)
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests