No Quicktime or Direct Show in Cubase 5

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
beatleboy3
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:25 am
Contact:

No Quicktime or Direct Show in Cubase 5

Post by beatleboy3 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:28 am

Hi, i have just upgraded to Cubase 5, doing film scoring. my Device Setup does not show Quicktime or DirectShow in the Video Player devices.. only "Onscreen Window" comes up, reseting does not work, no options for loading in quicktime etc... both quicktime and Direct show are installed on the computer... any help? thx in advance.

gravehill
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:52 am
Contact:

Re: No Quicktime or Direct Show in Cubase 5

Post by gravehill » Thu Dec 23, 2010 1:27 pm

Which version of Cubase 5 is it?

A while ago the folks at Steinberg had a huge idea and decided to only support QuickTime. If you want to use something else, you must convert the file. Hence no need to show multiple options either. Sometimes, even with videos that QuickTime Player plays happily Cubase gives an error saying the file is invalid. Usually (but not always) reimporting the video file solves it. No idea what causes it.
i9 9900k, 32 GB RAM, AsRock Taichi Ultimate MoBo, Focusrite Saffire 24 DSP with Win10 64 bit and Cubase 10. http://www.chaosresearch.net

beatleboy3
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:25 am
Contact:

Re: No Quicktime or Direct Show in Cubase 5

Post by beatleboy3 » Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:09 am

thx!!!

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2468
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: No Quicktime or Direct Show in Cubase 5

Post by MrSoundman » Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:18 am

I've found it helps to always have the latest version of Quicktime installed. Many disagree with the decision to revamp the video handling, but as a dual-platform application, I can understand the reasoning behind the decision. Cubase is not primarily a video application and most people who work in video will already have lots of options for converting to Quicktime, so OK, I'm cool with that.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.12 • WaveLab 10.0.30 • SpectraLayers 6.0.30 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

beatleboy3
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:25 am
Contact:

Re: No Quicktime or Direct Show in Cubase 5

Post by beatleboy3 » Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:22 pm

Hi, ended up going back to original install of cubase 5 because every update stops video capability in its tracks (no pun intended). can't load in an .mpg.. gives the "file not supported" error, and even if you ignore and click "open", nothing happens...the original install is fine.. its an issue with the updates on my end...i've updated to 5.5.2 and same problem...any thoughts? thx..

beatleboy3
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:25 am
Contact:

Re: No Quicktime or Direct Show in Cubase 5

Post by beatleboy3 » Sun Jan 30, 2011 11:25 pm

ha haaaaa - you were right -ended up being simple update of quicktime! (thought i had done this previously...) aargh

thx for help!

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests