How to Log peaks?

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
Post Reply
User avatar
Sunshy
Member
Posts: 772
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Contact:

How to Log peaks?

Post by Sunshy »

I'd like to know all places when my 5.1 project peaks above -4 so I can finesse the levels. What's the best way to accomplish this?
N 10 Cubase 10
Intel Core I7-3930K Sandy Bridge 3.8, 64 GB Corsair RAM, Itel 330 Series SSD Drive for OS, Win 10 Pro 64 bit
RME UFX, UR28M, CC 121, Blackmagic Intensity Pro

Steve Hoy
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to Log peaks?

Post by Steve Hoy »

I think PPMulator will do this.

Cheers
Steve

Kid Dropper Sound
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

Re: How to Log peaks?

Post by Kid Dropper Sound »

Nugen VisLM meter will also do this.

There are two versions, the more expensive one has all the logging features.

bother versions come with 64bit.dll's also

IMO this meter is a lot more useful in post than PPmulator.. which I also have.
Win7 64 i7 24gb
RME FF400
AVID CONTROL - MIX - TRANSPORT
N5.5.2 - Pro Tools 10.0 CPTK
JBL LSR4326+4312
Jbridge, EQuality, COMPassion
www.kdsound.net

User avatar
Big K
Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: How to Log peaks?

Post by Big K »

Last time I needed to find peak levels on tracks I used "detect silence" .
I copied the tracks and stripped silence below, e.g., -4 dB, locked and disabled the track, minimized its hight and had all peaking positions sitting above the original track. It was a fast visual reference, done in 20 secs for 6 tracks or surround.
Nuendo 10, WaveLab 9.5, RME, UAD, PoCo, Win10/64 bit, PC i7 3930K, 16GB RAM, Intensity Pro, Melodyne 5, Spectrasonics, VSL, All Brainworx & Plugin Alliance, Genelec 1031 for 5.1, Quested HQ 210, NS10s, sevaW lla, LAWO, Neumanns, Brauners, Sennheisers, Schoeps, Sony DASH3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware, professionally build and designed studio acoustics. SB-User since Cubase 2.0, Nuendo 1.5, WaveLab 1.5 ...

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2704
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: How to Log peaks?

Post by Fredo »

Haha ... Clever ....

Fredo

User avatar
Sunshy
Member
Posts: 772
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: How to Log peaks?

Post by Sunshy »

Clever indeed Fredo. This works perfect for my needs. Not a true "log" of peaks, but I'm glad I can do this within Nuendo as is. Thanks for the posts.
N 10 Cubase 10
Intel Core I7-3930K Sandy Bridge 3.8, 64 GB Corsair RAM, Itel 330 Series SSD Drive for OS, Win 10 Pro 64 bit
RME UFX, UR28M, CC 121, Blackmagic Intensity Pro

maxhowarth
Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:14 pm
Contact:

Re: How to Log peaks?

Post by maxhowarth »

Kid Dropper Sound wrote:IMO this meter is a lot more useful in post than PPmulator.. which I also have.
wait for ppm+ 3.0. it's really excellent and far far cheaper than vislm.
best wishes
max

http://www.redfacilities.com

2 x 3.3 6core mac pro | 12gb ram | mac os 10.7.3| n5.5 | rme multiset/audiolink96 | 3 x 19" flat panels | decklink xt | waves8 | altiverb7 | mc mix

Hugh
Member
Posts: 284
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:24 pm
Contact:

Re: How to Log peaks?

Post by Hugh »

Hello,
Last time I needed to find peak levels on tracks I used "detect silence" . ....
Great tip, we'll try that.
Hugh

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests