License issues

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Gentoo
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:09 am
Contact:

License issues

Post by Gentoo » Sat Feb 14, 2015 4:59 am

Ok, I have a working eLicense that came with Cubase 6 when I originally purchased it. It's still working fine on my desktop and I have upgraded to 6.5 since I bought it at the right time and then later, paid for the upgrade to 7 which is what I'm running now.

I just bought a laptop and installed Cubase 6 from the disk as I need to in order to upgrade to 6.5 and need 6.5 for my 7 upgrade. Since 7 is just an upgrade, I cannot install it directly. thing is, my eLicense no longer has the Cubase 6 activation key and I lost that paper it was on. The EL only has the 7 activation code on it.

So I guess my question is; is there a way to get my Cubase 6 code again? On My Steinberg's site, I only see the Cubase 7 code and a Wavelab le code.

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3170
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by jaslan » Sat Feb 14, 2015 3:40 pm

You don't need another Activation code. The license is on the dongle. Install Cubase, plug in the dongle, and start Cubase.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Gentoo
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Gentoo » Sat Feb 14, 2015 4:21 pm

That didn't work. It worked when I was installing CB 6 on the laptop but when I go to open it, I get a message saying that no valid license for the product and it will stop now.

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 728
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Makumbaria » Sat Feb 14, 2015 5:01 pm

Are you using Cubase full or another version?

If it is the full version, simply plug in your Usb dongle and run Cubase.
Cubase Pro 10.0.30 / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 2.2.10 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

Gentoo
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Gentoo » Sat Feb 14, 2015 6:32 pm

It's the full version. For whatever reason, when I try to open it on my laptop, it says there is no valid license. Both Cubase 6 and 7 run with the dongle flawlessly on my desktop.

Maybe I'll try reinstalling.

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 728
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Makumbaria » Sat Feb 14, 2015 6:44 pm

Are you moving the USB dongle to the laptop? You should also install the latest version of elicenser:

http://www.elicenser.net/en/latest_downloads.html
Cubase Pro 10.0.30 / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 2.2.10 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

Gentoo
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Gentoo » Sat Feb 14, 2015 6:46 pm

Elicenser is updated and yes, I move the dingle to the laptop before attempting to open Cubase.

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 728
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Makumbaria » Sat Feb 14, 2015 6:49 pm

Weird. What happens if you try to open elicenser software on the laptop? Can you see your licenses there?

Did you install Cubase 7 or 7.5? A Cubase 7 license will not be enough to run 7.5 version.
Gentoo wrote:installed Cubase 6 from the disk as I need to in order to upgrade to 6.5 and need 6.5 for my 7 upgrade. Since 7 is just an upgrade, I cannot install it directly.
There is no need to install older version just to upgrade. Install only the version you will need. Use a full installer for Cubase 7.
Cubase Pro 10.0.30 / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 2.2.10 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

Gentoo
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Gentoo » Sat Feb 14, 2015 7:37 pm

My Cubase 7 purchase was for an upgrade from 6.5. I don't think it is the full installer package.

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 728
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Makumbaria » Sat Feb 14, 2015 8:59 pm

Gentoo wrote:My Cubase 7 purchase was for an upgrade from 6.5. I don't think it is the full installer package.
Doesn't matter if you bought it as a full license or as an upgrade. You can always use the full installer to 7.0.5 and then an update to 7.0.7

http://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id=d ... base_7&L=1

There is no need to install 6, 6.5 or even 7.0.0 if you want to use only 7.0.7

Install only the 7.0.5 full package and the 7.0.7 update and you are good to go.
Cubase Pro 10.0.30 / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 2.2.10 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

Gentoo
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Gentoo » Sun Feb 15, 2015 6:32 am

UGH! Steinbergs sight is so slow!

Gentoo
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Gentoo » Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:58 pm

Ok, that second download in that link doesn't seem to be anything. The first download link works like it should; after mounting the drive, it installs like it should until I get to the end. At that point, it asks for a second DVD to finish the installation. Since I don't have one, it quits the installation at this final stage.

What did I do wrong?

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 728
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Makumbaria » Tue Feb 17, 2015 4:01 am

download both ISOs:

DVD 1 · Cubase 7.0.5 (ISO Image) Mac & Windows · 5.2 GB
DVD 2 · HALion Sonic SE Content (ISO Image) Mac & Windows · 3.4 GB

Install the first one, and also the second one if you want everything (use winrar to extract files if you don't want to "mount it").

After that, install 7.0.7 update
Cubase Pro 10.0.30 / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 2.2.10 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

Gentoo
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Gentoo » Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:46 pm

Ok, Cubase finally instead in the laptop. the second package which I believe is a lot of halion Sonic se sounds will not install. When I click next after the first page, it says there are no operations to perform then closes. I know I need this because my projects are missing Halion sonic sounds even though it shows in the window the midi events.

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 728
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Makumbaria » Tue Feb 17, 2015 11:47 pm

Probably because there is no more need to update Sonic SE (maybe it was already updated when you installed Cubase 7 before this attempt).

And remember, Halion Sonic is a different software (with a different installer). The second ISO is for installing Halion Sonic SE. If you have a license for Halion Sonic (or Halion Sonic 2), you will need to download it.
Cubase Pro 10.0.30 / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 2.2.10 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

Gentoo
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Gentoo » Wed Feb 18, 2015 12:16 am

Everything has been HS se. Sorry if I screwed up and caused confusion. That entire installation was weird. Reverence, Groove Agent and a few other things didn't install at all even though during the installation it said it did. When Cubase loaded, there were several error messages letting me know what was missing.

Gentoo
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Gentoo » Sun Feb 22, 2015 6:30 am

So my guess here is that I'm just sort of screwed.

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 728
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Makumbaria » Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:46 am

Well, you can uninstall everything and try again to see if helps.

P.S.:
Are you in touch with official support?
Cubase Pro 10.0.30 / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.8 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 2.2.10 / Halion 6.2.10 / Halion Sonic 3.2.10 / Padshop Pro 1.2.10 / HSO 1.0 / The Grand 3.2.0/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 5 / VSL / Vienna Mir pro 24 /Bias amp & FX 1 & 2/ Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / Mercuriall Spark & Reaxis / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 & V10 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI / Neural DSP Darkglass ultra / PSP audioware / Markstudio 2 /

Gentoo
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Gentoo » Tue Feb 24, 2015 6:51 pm

I wrote support back when I started this thread but have not received a response.

Gentoo
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: License issues

Post by Gentoo » Mon Mar 16, 2015 10:38 pm

So, I got Cubase installed on the laptop. However, most of the virtual instruments are missing; no Groove Agent One, No Reverence, no Loop Mash and I think even some of the Halion Sonic se sounds are missing.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests