How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
Jaymo99
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:02 am
Contact:

How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by Jaymo99 »

OK so i have seen other bit about this but no ones come right out and said it!

HOW DO YOU INSTALL THE VSTSOUNDS found in the additional content/ VST Sounds found in the installer?

I have tried everything.. complete new install and everything in-between on this windows 8 machine

Bass amp says it can't find reverb impulses. where is it looking ?

Thanks for any help

Regards

jaymo

Cubase 8 on Win 8.1
My studio
AMD FX 8350 4.0Mhz 8 core on a Gigabyte 990FX Gaming w/ 32gb Ram / SSD main drive/Windows 10 64 bit/ Steinberg UR 242/CMC QC & AI/Cubase 9.5.20/ some synths some guitars some Basses and a Cat

User avatar
Outsounder
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by Outsounder »

If I recall correctly, I THINK you can can copy/paste them into the relative folders at: c/users/your name/AppData/Roaming/Steinberg/Cubase 8_64/Presets

Steinberg likes to chuck presets all over the place, you can use the media bay to find the relevant vst sound folders and put them there as well, good luck with it !
Main-Intel i7/Asus mobo/Gforce GPU/32gig ram. Secondary-Intel Q9950/Asus mobo/Radeon GPU/8gig ram.Win7 pro/Win10 pro, Cubase 9.5 Pro/Cubase 10.5 pro, Studio One 4 Pro, ACID, Ableton Live, SonicCore/Scope DSP Audio System, Presonus Sceptre S6 monitors. Avid Artist Mix/Control and Transport. Software includes NI Komplete 10, Halion 6, East West Play Libraries, Heavyocity Libraries, Sample Logic Libraries Best Service Libraries, Sonokinetic Libraries, 8Dio Libraries,Project Sam Libaries, Sound Iron Libraries,Melodyne Pro, Uberschall Elastic & Liquid Libraries etc etc.

Jaymo99
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:02 am
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by Jaymo99 »

found the sound folder via media bay but put the sounds in and still not working :/
My studio
AMD FX 8350 4.0Mhz 8 core on a Gigabyte 990FX Gaming w/ 32gb Ram / SSD main drive/Windows 10 64 bit/ Steinberg UR 242/CMC QC & AI/Cubase 9.5.20/ some synths some guitars some Basses and a Cat

User avatar
Outsounder
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by Outsounder »

Try putting them in the app/data/roaming one. That's a hidden folder so you'll have to up hide it if you can't see it
Main-Intel i7/Asus mobo/Gforce GPU/32gig ram. Secondary-Intel Q9950/Asus mobo/Radeon GPU/8gig ram.Win7 pro/Win10 pro, Cubase 9.5 Pro/Cubase 10.5 pro, Studio One 4 Pro, ACID, Ableton Live, SonicCore/Scope DSP Audio System, Presonus Sceptre S6 monitors. Avid Artist Mix/Control and Transport. Software includes NI Komplete 10, Halion 6, East West Play Libraries, Heavyocity Libraries, Sample Logic Libraries Best Service Libraries, Sonokinetic Libraries, 8Dio Libraries,Project Sam Libaries, Sound Iron Libraries,Melodyne Pro, Uberschall Elastic & Liquid Libraries etc etc.

Jaymo99
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:02 am
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by Jaymo99 »

still nothing.. it seems that the reverb in VST Bass Amp in cubase 8 is dependant on this impulse as there in NO reverb at all working in the effects chain.
My studio
AMD FX 8350 4.0Mhz 8 core on a Gigabyte 990FX Gaming w/ 32gb Ram / SSD main drive/Windows 10 64 bit/ Steinberg UR 242/CMC QC & AI/Cubase 9.5.20/ some synths some guitars some Basses and a Cat

User avatar
DaveAbbott
Member
Posts: 673
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:51 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by DaveAbbott »

Hi Jaymo

I had the same problem of Bass amp looking for a reverb impulse, I would suggest raising a support ticket with steiny as I have done, Luis Dongo has been kind enough to try help me with this, although we haven't solved it yet. The reverence file is where it's supposed to be but Bass amp can't find it. Reloading C8 didn't help, nor trashing press so....

Best Regards

Dave
Dave Abbott
Entertainer | Musician | Producer
cricket@iafrica.com

Computer i7 3 Ghz CPU, Intel Mobo, DX58SO, 12Gig DDR1600 RAM, System Drive 64 Gig SSD + 480 Gig SSD sample drive + 3 x 1TB recording and sample drives.
Software: Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, Cubase 10 Pro, Wavelab 9.5, NI Komplete Ultimate, UAD, Waves, and various other plugs
Interface: Steinberg UR824 with Focusrite ISA One, Focusrite Octopre, Cubase Elements 8.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on spare machine. Cubase Elements 9.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on Stage Laptop (Dell 6430 i7 with 8gig RAM)
Korg Taktile 49 Controller Steinberg CC121 Controller

Rule 1: Have Fun! Rule 2: It's Not Serious! Rule 3: When in doubt refer to Rule 1!!

User avatar
Felipe Garcia
Moderator
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by Felipe Garcia »

Restarting the Cubase installation and activating the "install for anyone..." checkbox should solve the problem.
Joaquin Felipe Garcia, Senior Support Representative
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

Jaymo99
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:02 am
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by Jaymo99 »

ok I've uninstalled Cubase reinstalled that ( no where did it ask "Install for anyone")
uninstalled VST_Bass_Amp_Content reinstalled this did have the for everyone option

Still missing reverb impulse :/

Am i missing something ?
My studio
AMD FX 8350 4.0Mhz 8 core on a Gigabyte 990FX Gaming w/ 32gb Ram / SSD main drive/Windows 10 64 bit/ Steinberg UR 242/CMC QC & AI/Cubase 9.5.20/ some synths some guitars some Basses and a Cat

Jaymo99
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:02 am
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by Jaymo99 »

Just to try i let cubase install things where it wanted to , nota location of my choosing and still not working correctly :/
My studio
AMD FX 8350 4.0Mhz 8 core on a Gigabyte 990FX Gaming w/ 32gb Ram / SSD main drive/Windows 10 64 bit/ Steinberg UR 242/CMC QC & AI/Cubase 9.5.20/ some synths some guitars some Basses and a Cat

User avatar
DaveAbbott
Member
Posts: 673
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:51 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by DaveAbbott »

Hi Jaymo

Have you made any progress on this, Luis Dongo wanted to do a remote session but I haven't heard back from him yet, it does seem to have something to do with permissions. When I first loaded C8 my SSD c: drive was unintentionally filled as the install was trying to put the VST sound files there, I have them on a separate drive and had to do a bit of jaggery pokery during the install to make room for C8 on the C: drive. I'm sure this has something to do with the problem. It's not something that's essential, I've not had the bass amps up to now and managed with others, but I'd sure like to try 'em☺

Best Regards

Dave
Dave Abbott
Entertainer | Musician | Producer
cricket@iafrica.com

Computer i7 3 Ghz CPU, Intel Mobo, DX58SO, 12Gig DDR1600 RAM, System Drive 64 Gig SSD + 480 Gig SSD sample drive + 3 x 1TB recording and sample drives.
Software: Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, Cubase 10 Pro, Wavelab 9.5, NI Komplete Ultimate, UAD, Waves, and various other plugs
Interface: Steinberg UR824 with Focusrite ISA One, Focusrite Octopre, Cubase Elements 8.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on spare machine. Cubase Elements 9.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on Stage Laptop (Dell 6430 i7 with 8gig RAM)
Korg Taktile 49 Controller Steinberg CC121 Controller

Rule 1: Have Fun! Rule 2: It's Not Serious! Rule 3: When in doubt refer to Rule 1!!

Jaymo99
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:02 am
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by Jaymo99 »

Hey Dave
no luck as of yet,
Im wondering though as you mention it. when i first installed cubase 8 i did it as an upgrade from 7.5 i was running Win 7 64bit. But as i read that the performance on Windows 8 was so much better i decided to install Win 8 on anther drive ( small SSD) just to see if that increase in performance was worth the step up to Windows 8. but due to the drive size i decided to put extra content on a separate drive. far as i can tell only Bass amp has the problem with additional content. everything else seems fine so my guess is its just something quirky with Bass amp VST- i wouldn't really mind but when i load the couple projects I've used bass amp i get the damned annoying waring that it can't find the file. even though the program installed it. so my gues its a bug in this plug in... not the end of the world but annoying none the less.
on the upside my findings are that 8 on my Win 7 machine performance was substantially better then 7.5 and 8 on windows 8.1 is better still with with average load slightly better but real time load reduced to almost nothing as compared 7.5 or 8 on win 7 so it does seem Win 8.1 is the way to go. so thats where im at now.
My studio
AMD FX 8350 4.0Mhz 8 core on a Gigabyte 990FX Gaming w/ 32gb Ram / SSD main drive/Windows 10 64 bit/ Steinberg UR 242/CMC QC & AI/Cubase 9.5.20/ some synths some guitars some Basses and a Cat

User avatar
DaveAbbott
Member
Posts: 673
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:51 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by DaveAbbott »

Hi again Jaymo

Thanks for the info, there's been a thread about Windows 8 so it's interesting that you say it's better than win7. I've had few problems with C8pro so I'll stay where I am for the moment, but it's good to know. I'll stay with the bass amp problem though.

Best Regards

Dave
Dave Abbott
Entertainer | Musician | Producer
cricket@iafrica.com

Computer i7 3 Ghz CPU, Intel Mobo, DX58SO, 12Gig DDR1600 RAM, System Drive 64 Gig SSD + 480 Gig SSD sample drive + 3 x 1TB recording and sample drives.
Software: Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, Cubase 10 Pro, Wavelab 9.5, NI Komplete Ultimate, UAD, Waves, and various other plugs
Interface: Steinberg UR824 with Focusrite ISA One, Focusrite Octopre, Cubase Elements 8.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on spare machine. Cubase Elements 9.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on Stage Laptop (Dell 6430 i7 with 8gig RAM)
Korg Taktile 49 Controller Steinberg CC121 Controller

Rule 1: Have Fun! Rule 2: It's Not Serious! Rule 3: When in doubt refer to Rule 1!!

Jaymo99
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:02 am
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by Jaymo99 »

Hey Dave,

I've redownloaded Cubase 8 and this time it was a lot faster then last and , everything went in as it should and everything working with no error and no missing impulses :) i reckon something got corrupted in my download or when i un archived the zip file.

ill play a bit then post in the performance thread my findings between cubase 7.5 and 8 on win 7 vs Win 8
My studio
AMD FX 8350 4.0Mhz 8 core on a Gigabyte 990FX Gaming w/ 32gb Ram / SSD main drive/Windows 10 64 bit/ Steinberg UR 242/CMC QC & AI/Cubase 9.5.20/ some synths some guitars some Basses and a Cat

User avatar
DaveAbbott
Member
Posts: 673
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:51 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by DaveAbbott »

Hi Jaymo

glad you got it sorted, did you just uninstall C8, re-download it and then reinstall.? Did you delete anything else on the uninstall or???

Best Regards

Dave
Dave Abbott
Entertainer | Musician | Producer
cricket@iafrica.com

Computer i7 3 Ghz CPU, Intel Mobo, DX58SO, 12Gig DDR1600 RAM, System Drive 64 Gig SSD + 480 Gig SSD sample drive + 3 x 1TB recording and sample drives.
Software: Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, Cubase 10 Pro, Wavelab 9.5, NI Komplete Ultimate, UAD, Waves, and various other plugs
Interface: Steinberg UR824 with Focusrite ISA One, Focusrite Octopre, Cubase Elements 8.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on spare machine. Cubase Elements 9.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on Stage Laptop (Dell 6430 i7 with 8gig RAM)
Korg Taktile 49 Controller Steinberg CC121 Controller

Rule 1: Have Fun! Rule 2: It's Not Serious! Rule 3: When in doubt refer to Rule 1!!

User avatar
DaveAbbott
Member
Posts: 673
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:51 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by DaveAbbott »

Hi Jaymo

glad you got it sorted, did you just uninstall C8, re-download it and then reinstall.? Did you delete anything else on the uninstall or???

Best Regards

Dave
Dave Abbott
Entertainer | Musician | Producer
cricket@iafrica.com

Computer i7 3 Ghz CPU, Intel Mobo, DX58SO, 12Gig DDR1600 RAM, System Drive 64 Gig SSD + 480 Gig SSD sample drive + 3 x 1TB recording and sample drives.
Software: Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, Cubase 10 Pro, Wavelab 9.5, NI Komplete Ultimate, UAD, Waves, and various other plugs
Interface: Steinberg UR824 with Focusrite ISA One, Focusrite Octopre, Cubase Elements 8.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on spare machine. Cubase Elements 9.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on Stage Laptop (Dell 6430 i7 with 8gig RAM)
Korg Taktile 49 Controller Steinberg CC121 Controller

Rule 1: Have Fun! Rule 2: It's Not Serious! Rule 3: When in doubt refer to Rule 1!!

User avatar
DaveAbbott
Member
Posts: 673
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:51 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by DaveAbbott »

Just spent two separate team viewer sessions with Luis Dongo trying to sort this out (well done Steinberg) and finally on the third one we find that I just needed to do maintainence on my eLicencer. So if you have this problem it's likely that this is all it is. It's probably worth everyone doing a routine maintenance on their eLicencer anyway.

Best Regards

Dave
Dave Abbott
Entertainer | Musician | Producer
cricket@iafrica.com

Computer i7 3 Ghz CPU, Intel Mobo, DX58SO, 12Gig DDR1600 RAM, System Drive 64 Gig SSD + 480 Gig SSD sample drive + 3 x 1TB recording and sample drives.
Software: Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, Cubase 10 Pro, Wavelab 9.5, NI Komplete Ultimate, UAD, Waves, and various other plugs
Interface: Steinberg UR824 with Focusrite ISA One, Focusrite Octopre, Cubase Elements 8.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on spare machine. Cubase Elements 9.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on Stage Laptop (Dell 6430 i7 with 8gig RAM)
Korg Taktile 49 Controller Steinberg CC121 Controller

Rule 1: Have Fun! Rule 2: It's Not Serious! Rule 3: When in doubt refer to Rule 1!!

mortenhaugen
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 10:00 am
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by mortenhaugen »

I have the same "Cannot locate Reverb Impule Response File" problem with the VST Bass Amp in C8Pro. I did the eLicencer maintenance as suggested by DaveAbbot, but it did not help. Then I uninstalled Cubase, downloaded the installation package again, and installed (including the 8.0.10 upgrade). The problem is still there. I have also tried doing a full rescan in the MediaBay.
My installation is C8Pro 64-bit on Windows 7 Professional SP1 with latest upgrades.

mortenhaugen
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 10:00 am
Contact:

Re: How EXACTLY are you to install the "additional Content"

Post by mortenhaugen »

OMG, Steinberg ... I finally solved the "Cannot locate Reverb Impule Response File" problem by discovering that it also exists a 9.1GB installation package for C8Pro, in addition to the (smaller) package that was linked to in my purchase order email.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests