Make all windows Dockable!

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
PsYAuM
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:13 pm
Contact:

Make all windows Dockable!

Post by PsYAuM » Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:17 pm

Big ommision in Cubase 8, even after multiple requests for Dockable windows. That for me is a huge oppertunity missed and a big disappointment as the roaming Transport bar is both needed and a nuisance in its current format. The new layout and Workspaces could have been so much more. Sort it out Steinberg as it isn't like it wasn't requested! Dockable windows should have been the Layout and Workspace update not the partial nonsense you have given us as a new feature!

User avatar
Greg Houston
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by Greg Houston » Thu Dec 04, 2014 3:00 am

+1

My biggest disappointment with Cubase 8 was the claimed performance improvements had no effect in my projects, but after that I was super disappointed I couldn't dock the mixer below everything else. If I had simply been able to dock my mixer at the bottom of my project window I wouldn't have felt like my upgrade was a complete waste of money.
Image i7 3.4G Quad-Core, 16Gb, Win 10

User avatar
TSR
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:49 am

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by TSR » Thu Dec 04, 2014 3:12 am

+1

Seems like only the Media bay and the Vst Rack "thing" is dockable. In one fixed location??? (yes I can hear you scream workspaces ;-))
HOVER HATERS UNITE -- DOWN WITH HOVER
Alias True Stereo Recordings uses:
Win 7 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Win 8.1 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Motu PCIe-424 w/96 io +++
HW - Focusrite Control 2802, ISA430 mkII | Universal Audio LA-610 SE, UA 2-610, UA 8110 | TL-Audio 5052, C-1, PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000, M3000, M-One, D-Two | Eleven Rack | CC121 | Dynaudio BM15A +++
SW - Cubase 6.5/8, Nuendo 5.5 | Studio One 2.6 | Reaper 4.7 | PT10 | Boz Digital Labs, DDMF, Eventide, Exponential Audio, Kush Audio, Slate Digital, Softube, Sonnox, Soundtoys +++

User avatar
willynanita
New Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by willynanita » Sat Dec 06, 2014 2:39 pm

+1

I would like to be able to dock the Transport Bar!
My Songs

Wilfredo Nanita
Windows 10 Pro 64bits (1809) • Intel Core i7 3770 3.40 GHz • Ram: 16GB
Steinberg UR44 Audio Interface • M-Audio Axiom 61 Midi Controller
Yamaha HS7 Monitor Speakers • Cubase Pro 10

User avatar
serenity
Member
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by serenity » Sun Dec 07, 2014 2:26 am

Now imagine, that chord pad is place to other windows to dock. Like editors, mixer, time, pool...I think they prepare that place for future update. So we will wait.
Pawel

Windows 10 64 bit / Cubase 10 Pro 64 Bit / RME Fireface 400
www.studiomuzyczne.com

User avatar
jb
Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:59 am
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by jb » Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:45 am

This might help (workaround for windows): it lets you pinn windows at predefined locations, "always" or "on open" . I use it for setting the transport window ALWAYS at the same location, and for setting pluggin windows always at the same spot. Works great.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/winsize2/
Studio: Cubase 10.0.20 + jBridge 1.75
Intel I7 4930K @3.4Ghz/Asus P9X79/16gb/NVIDIA GeForce GT 610/RME Digiface and MultifacePCI/W10-64
Intel Q6600 @2.40Ghz /Asus P5K/4gb/NVIDIA GeForce 850 GT/RME multiface PCI/W10-64
Controllers: http://www.jbgeluid.nl/en/jurmix/
Dual Ipad2/16gb, Lemur running customized 16channel Mackie control and multiple 14 bits generic remote templates, presonus faderport, BCR2000
website: http://www.jbgeluid.nl

User avatar
distante
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by distante » Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:46 pm

+1 to this.

It's the only thing that I like of Adobe Audition
Hear and See Rock Songs maded with Steinberg's UR824 and Cubase 7: bit.ly/CorazonTRM ("Corazón") and bit.ly/AnimalTRM ("Animal")

Do you want to show your music or any audio work made with Cubase? fb.com/groups/Made.With.Cubase/

My Stuff:
UR824 and Cubase PRO 8.0.20 on Windows 8.1 64bits / 16GB RAM / Core i7 4790K / GTX970 4GB VRAM )
*Always the latest version available.
A bunch of Mics, Pres and Toys, Plugins and Heart

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3276
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by jaslan » Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:54 am

+1, HALion 5 is a great example.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

scarlatino
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:45 am
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by scarlatino » Fri Dec 12, 2014 6:23 am

+100500

mpayne0
Member
Posts: 655
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by mpayne0 » Fri Dec 12, 2014 3:05 pm

jaslan wrote:+1, HALion 5 is a great example.
hmm, that would be sweet.

Although I imagine they have to work out some kinks, because H5 can get a little messy if you go too crazy. People will make jpegs and mov files with Cubase contorted in all kinds of buggy ways. Best they take their time to do it properly... but I would love this kind of implementation.

User avatar
profezeus
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by profezeus » Sat Dec 13, 2014 8:55 am

+1
System 1: Custom ADK 9700Z Laptop with 4 internal SSD's, i7-4790K CPU, 32GB RAM, RME Babyface - Windows 8.1 64bit, Cubase Pro 10.5.0
System 2: Custom ADK 8600 Laptop with 3 internal SSD's, i7-2820QM CPU, 16GB RAM, RME Babyface - Windows 7 64bit, Cubase Pro 9.5.50
VSL, VEP5, East West CC, Arturia V Collection etc., CC121, various keyboards and acoustic instruments.

User avatar
standalone
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 8:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by standalone » Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:59 pm

Another vote from me. I hope they keep improving in this direction.

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by lukasbrooklyn » Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:06 pm

TSR wrote:+1

Seems like only the Media bay and the Vst Rack "thing" is dockable. In one fixed location??? (yes I can hear you scream workspaces ;-))
i hesitate to even call it docking. the way docking is referred to and implemented in other programs is being able to freely drag a docked window out of its position, and then later... well, 'dock' it. this however is just a fixed alternate version of the project window.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

User avatar
serenity
Member
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Odp: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by serenity » Thu Dec 18, 2014 9:22 pm

TSR wrote:+1

Seems like only the Media bay and the Vst Rack "thing" is dockable. In one fixed location??? (yes I can hear you scream workspaces ;-))
And chord pad at bottom. I wish they implement editors the same way.
Pawel

Windows 10 64 bit / Cubase 10 Pro 64 Bit / RME Fireface 400
www.studiomuzyczne.com

elbadaoui
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 7:37 am
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by elbadaoui » Sun Dec 28, 2014 1:42 pm

willynanita wrote:+1

I would like to be able to dock the Transport Bar!
+1

... and put the clik in the the task bar

elbadaoui
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 7:37 am
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by elbadaoui » Sun Dec 28, 2014 1:45 pm

PsYAuM wrote:Big ommision in Cubase 8, even after multiple requests for Dockable windows. That for me is a huge oppertunity missed and a big disappointment as the roaming Transport bar is both needed and a nuisance in its current format. The new layout and Workspaces could have been so much more. Sort it out Steinberg as it isn't like it wasn't requested! Dockable windows should have been the Layout and Workspace update not the partial nonsense you have given us as a new feature!

+1

User avatar
serenity
Member
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by serenity » Tue Dec 30, 2014 2:20 am

Maybe they just can't do it ? Because window like Key editor have multiple switchable tools on the left. And it dosen't feet screen if it will be docked ? To many options, tools...less simle workflow.
Pawel

Windows 10 64 bit / Cubase 10 Pro 64 Bit / RME Fireface 400
www.studiomuzyczne.com

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9171
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by -steve- » Tue Dec 30, 2014 4:57 am

lukasbrooklyn wrote:
i hesitate to even call it docking. the way docking is referred to and implemented in other programs is being able to freely drag a docked window out of its position, and then later... well, 'dock' it. this however is just a fixed alternate version of the project window.
Right. The Chord Pad and Media Bay are not docked in the sense that a boat is docked, which is the source of the word usage.

Personally I used to want docking Windows a la Digital Performer, but my enthusiasm for it wore off.

In any case it when people say "dock" it's not entirely clear what they mean.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

elbadaoui
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 7:37 am
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by elbadaoui » Tue Dec 30, 2014 12:04 pm

PsYAuM wrote:Big ommision in Cubase 8, even after multiple requests for Dockable windows. That for me is a huge oppertunity missed and a big disappointment as the roaming Transport bar is both needed and a nuisance in its current format. The new layout and Workspaces could have been so much more. Sort it out Steinberg as it isn't like it wasn't requested! Dockable windows should have been the Layout and Workspace update not the partial nonsense you have given us as a new feature!

+1
i like dockable windows in Studio One !

krheatman
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by krheatman » Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:51 pm

Also make media bay collapse if you want it to!

dek88
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 3:46 am
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by dek88 » Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:12 pm

+1

+ hotkey to maximize/unmaximize the selected window
Image

User avatar
serenity
Member
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by serenity » Fri Jan 02, 2015 2:11 am

And that the way it should look like ! You nail it. Now you need bigger screen :)
Pawel

Windows 10 64 bit / Cubase 10 Pro 64 Bit / RME Fireface 400
www.studiomuzyczne.com

User avatar
Greg Houston
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by Greg Houston » Fri Jan 02, 2015 2:17 am

dek88 wrote:+1

+ hotkey to maximize/unmaximize the selected window
Image
Other than having two title bars at the top of the page, that mockup looks great. After using Cubase for over a decade I've finally broke down and started demoing other DAWs. I downloaded the cheapest one on my candidate list first, Reaper, and it has great docking functionality from what I can tell so far. It looks much more integrated and professional than the sloppy mess of windows in Cubase.
Image i7 3.4G Quad-Core, 16Gb, Win 10

User avatar
distante
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by distante » Fri Jan 02, 2015 4:09 pm

dek88 wrote:+1

+ hotkey to maximize/unmaximize the selected window
Image
+1 ...
Hear and See Rock Songs maded with Steinberg's UR824 and Cubase 7: bit.ly/CorazonTRM ("Corazón") and bit.ly/AnimalTRM ("Animal")

Do you want to show your music or any audio work made with Cubase? fb.com/groups/Made.With.Cubase/

My Stuff:
UR824 and Cubase PRO 8.0.20 on Windows 8.1 64bits / 16GB RAM / Core i7 4790K / GTX970 4GB VRAM )
*Always the latest version available.
A bunch of Mics, Pres and Toys, Plugins and Heart

dek88
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 3:46 am
Contact:

Re: Make all windows Dockable!

Post by dek88 » Fri Jan 02, 2015 11:22 pm

Greg Houston wrote:Other than having two title bars at the top of the page, that mockup looks great.
ok then, things are starting to get busy, but thats not the point, its way more organized and having everything there is better than having 3 4 windows all over the place, its a choice and you could split it up in different workspaces, just leave us with a hotkey for maximize/unmaximize on the selected window and i wouldnt mind having everything in 1 window.

Image

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests