Piano

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
User avatar
Incarnadine
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 4:01 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Piano

Post by Incarnadine » Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:31 am

I'm trying to find a really good piano sound for playing live using Cubase Artist 7.5. What do you recommend and what do you use? Thank you in advance.

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by enjneer » Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:38 am

Imperfect Samples' Fazioli Ebony Concert Grand. Sounds amazing. Compress heavily for great pop sound. http://www.imperfectsamples.com/website ... /index.php
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

johnstaf
Junior Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:53 am
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by johnstaf » Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:50 am

VSL Vienna Imperial is my favourite piano by far. It comes with Vienna Ensemble (free version) which is a very efficient way to run the piano live (whether inside a DAW or not)
Lots of stuff. OS agnostic.

User avatar
Incarnadine
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 4:01 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by Incarnadine » Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:22 am

Thank you both I am taking a look into these now :)

User avatar
Incarnadine
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 4:01 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by Incarnadine » Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:24 am

johnstaf wrote:VSL Vienna Imperial is my favourite piano by far. It comes with Vienna Ensemble (free version) which is a very efficient way to run the piano live (whether inside a DAW or not)
Do you have a link for this by any chance? I have found this: http://www.vsl.co.at/en/211/442/478/1701/1305.htm but it's rather expensive.

johnstaf
Junior Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:53 am
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by johnstaf » Sun Nov 16, 2014 2:55 am

I'm afraid that's it and it is rather expensive :( There is a cheaper alternative, Bösendorfer Imperial, but it's not as good.

Other than that, I quite like Ivory II American Concert D. It's much cheaper than the VSL, but the quality really is very good.
Lots of stuff. OS agnostic.

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by vic_france » Sun Nov 16, 2014 3:17 am

For what kind of music?
To be played in what sort of venues?
Solo, or as part of a band?
I don't think there is one piano that "does it all" (surprisingly, a really good, multi-sampled piano can sound completely out of place within a band, or in a very resonant hall, where you'd be better off with a sound that simply "cuts through" ;).
Anyways, before spending any money (there are very few sampled pianos that offer a free demo.. mainly due to the size of the download), you could try the (free!) "Piano One" from Sound Magic.. http://www.supremepiano.com/product/piano1.html
And you should really try out Pianoteq 5 (modeled rather than sampled), which also has a free demo version..
https://www.pianoteq.com/try (it links initially to the Mac download, but then there's a sub-link for "other systems").
If nothing else, it might steer you towards (or away from!) your initial choice ;)
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
Incarnadine
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 4:01 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by Incarnadine » Sun Nov 16, 2014 9:28 am

vic_france wrote:For what kind of music?
To be played in what sort of venues?
Solo, or as part of a band?
I don't think there is one piano that "does it all" (surprisingly, a really good, multi-sampled piano can sound completely out of place within a band, or in a very resonant hall, where you'd be better off with a sound that simply "cuts through" ;).
Anyways, before spending any money (there are very few sampled pianos that offer a free demo.. mainly due to the size of the download), you could try the (free!) "Piano One" from Sound Magic.. http://www.supremepiano.com/product/piano1.html
And you should really try out Pianoteq 5 (modeled rather than sampled), which also has a free demo version..
https://www.pianoteq.com/try (it links initially to the Mac download, but then there's a sub-link for "other systems").
If nothing else, it might steer you towards (or away from!) your initial choice ;)
It's for playing as part of a band, however the times I need the piano sound for I am usually the lead sound at that point. Thank you for the links!

ulesto
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by ulesto » Sun Nov 16, 2014 9:39 pm

I'm not sure what's included in Cubase Artist but you may already have one. The S90es in Halion Sonic is a great Yamaha piano, virtually identical to the hardware (which is sampled as well).
Mac Pro, OSX 10.11.6, MR816CSX, Cubase Pro 9.5, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Halion 6, Halion Sonic, HSO, Waves, UAD...

User avatar
foolomon
Senior Member
Posts: 1695
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by foolomon » Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:23 pm

Alicia's Keys.

And they lived happily ever after. The end.
_________________

"Just call me Larry."

Lenovo T450 laptop (Windows 7 64-bit + 16GB RAM + 500GB SSD)
AMD-Phenom II based system (Windows 7 64-bit + 8GB DDR3 RAM)
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 interface

Other hardware: Too much to mention here
Software: Cubase 8.5 Pro; Komplete 9; Melodyne Editor; FabFilter Pro Suite; various VSTs from Blue Cat Audio, Native Instruments (beyond what's in Komplete), Slate, Softube, Sound Toys and Variety of Sound

Stop by and visit!

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by BriHar » Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:31 pm

Delicious Keys ... Mmmmm...
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

User avatar
swamptone
Member
Posts: 758
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:19 pm
Location: Upstate New York
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by swamptone » Mon Nov 17, 2014 5:32 pm

If you want something with a relatively small footprint, that doesn't gobble up system resources at an alarming rate (and thus much safer in a live performance setting), I suggest you look at this:

http://www.truepianos.com/
formerly known as prism

mbr
Member
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by mbr » Sun Nov 23, 2014 9:31 pm

Ivory II
Cubase 9.5 Recordings done @ 96 kHz / 64 Bit )

Win 7 64-bit SP1 ; i7 Intel @3.50 Hz ; 32 Gigs RAM
256 GB SSD OS ; 1 TB SSD for Recording ; 1 TB SSD for Sample Streaming

Soundcard - O1V96i
Yamaha Steinberg USB Driver V1.9.11 Firmware V1.02 Editor V1.0

UAD-2 (OCTO) ; CMC ( FD, CH, PD, TP, AI & QC )
Many hardware synths and sample libraries ; Millennia ; Midisport 8/8 ; BIG BEN Apogee

Forum member (old forums) since 2003

"The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong"

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3033
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by peakae » Tue Nov 25, 2014 11:49 am

+ 1 on the S90es
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
foolomon
Senior Member
Posts: 1695
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by foolomon » Tue Nov 25, 2014 2:04 pm

Apparently, Steinberg is selling The Grand 5 for $149. I just got an email about it.
_________________

"Just call me Larry."

Lenovo T450 laptop (Windows 7 64-bit + 16GB RAM + 500GB SSD)
AMD-Phenom II based system (Windows 7 64-bit + 8GB DDR3 RAM)
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 interface

Other hardware: Too much to mention here
Software: Cubase 8.5 Pro; Komplete 9; Melodyne Editor; FabFilter Pro Suite; various VSTs from Blue Cat Audio, Native Instruments (beyond what's in Komplete), Slate, Softube, Sound Toys and Variety of Sound

Stop by and visit!

User avatar
swamptone
Member
Posts: 758
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:19 pm
Location: Upstate New York
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by swamptone » Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:10 pm

foolomon wrote:Apparently, Steinberg is selling The Grand 5 for $149. I just got an email about it.

Grand 5!!! Lucky you! That must be an exclusive offer!

I got a similar offer, but it's for the Grand 3 (download version) for only $149. ;)
formerly known as prism

User avatar
foolomon
Senior Member
Posts: 1695
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by foolomon » Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:19 pm

I hate you. :lol:
_________________

"Just call me Larry."

Lenovo T450 laptop (Windows 7 64-bit + 16GB RAM + 500GB SSD)
AMD-Phenom II based system (Windows 7 64-bit + 8GB DDR3 RAM)
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 interface

Other hardware: Too much to mention here
Software: Cubase 8.5 Pro; Komplete 9; Melodyne Editor; FabFilter Pro Suite; various VSTs from Blue Cat Audio, Native Instruments (beyond what's in Komplete), Slate, Softube, Sound Toys and Variety of Sound

Stop by and visit!

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by curteye » Tue Nov 25, 2014 11:25 pm

foolomon wrote:I hate you. :lol:

ROTFLMAO!!!!!!

luv this place.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by BriHar » Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:40 pm

curteye wrote:
ROTFLMAO!!!!!!

luv this place.
{'-'}
This kind of comment always reminds me of The Burbs
"Luv this neighbourhood"
:lol:
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by alexis » Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:55 pm

Anyone here play the Grand 3? I see it was released in 2009 ... I wonder if that puts it at some disadvantage to some of the other options around?
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by BriHar » Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:09 pm

Sounds like a new version around the corner ;)
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by alexis » Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:30 pm

Pluses/Minuses of The Grand 3 *as it stands now* , compared with Alicia's Keys, Ivory, Piano in Blue, etc.?
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
Muziksculp
Member
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:08 am
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by Muziksculp » Sat Nov 29, 2014 9:16 pm

Hi,

I am trying to decide if The Grand 3 is worth buying at the discount price. But not much feedback from current users.

If there is a new version around the corner, I might wait.

Any Grand 3 users enjoying it, and would highly recommend it ?

Thanks,
Muziksculp
Cubase Pro 9 , Groove Agent 4, Halion 6, Halion Sonic 3, Padshop Pro, RND Portico EQ & Compressor, Wavelab Pro 9, The Grand 3, Antelope Audio Goliath, Antelope Audio Pure2., Windows 8.1 Pro

User avatar
Incarnadine
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 4:01 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by Incarnadine » Wed May 06, 2015 10:50 pm

Hi Muziksculp, I have not had any experience with the Grand 3 but I do highly recommend purchasing a piano VST rather than using what comes with any version of Cubase.

Thanks to all for your suggestions. In the end I went with Native Instrument's The Giant - http://www.native-instruments.com/en/pr ... the-giant/

Weirdly I think it has gone up in price since I purchased it. Anyhow I am very pleased with it because it sounds like I am playing a very decent piano :)

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: Piano

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Thu May 07, 2015 11:30 am

Hi Incarnadline/Musiksculp,

Again, as someone else mentioned above, it depends what type of MUSIC you are playing. But I have The GRAND 3 and also the smaller version (think its just called The Grand). If it were possible up UPDATE from v3 to v5 then I would probably pay for this. btw - I never got a notification of such a release Fooloman?

I think there is a FREE 28 x days TRIAL (as there is with most Steinberg products) so you should try it out.

Here is a quickie I did with THE GRAND:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZDkPiZrAkqo

Not sure if CHICK himself would like this!? lol :)

Otherwise, I just used my NORD STAGE CLASSIC keyboard on gigs for PIANO's.

Best,

Paul
Last edited by monsterjazzlicks on Thu May 07, 2015 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
Fender Rhodes Suitcase, Fender Rhodes Stage, Hohner E7 Clavinet, Mini Moog Model D, Multi Moog, Yamaha DX7 (Mk1) & DX21, Korg Poly 61, Roland Juno 6.

Mackie SRM 350 (pair), Fender DeVille, Yamaha HS7 (pair), BeyerDynamic DT880 Headphones, Pro (250 Ohm).

Sibelius 7, Cubase Artist 8, HALion Sonic SE , HALion Sonic 2, HALion 5, Grand SE, Grand 3, Groove Agent 3, Arturia V_Collection, EZ2 Drummer, Steinberg CI2+ Interface, Lexicon MX300, Midi Sport 2x2.

Dell Inspiron 3737, Windows 10 Professional, 1.70gHz, 16GB RAM, 64-bit, Intel Core i3.

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests