atari floppy to pc

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
Post Reply
eddiemacarthur
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:19 pm
Contact:

atari floppy to pc

Post by eddiemacarthur »

hi all. anybody have experience of getting very old Cubase Atari songs off floppy onto pc? I know I can convert old songs into new Cubase 7 using Cubase sx3 as a bridge, but it's getting the pc to read Atari floppies that is the issue. have done a bit of reading on it but looks complex. any relatively simple solutions or recommendations for software to do it? thanks, Ed p.s. told client he could buy a used Atari and record the multittrack midi into Cubase in realtime but we'd rather avoid that
PC, windows 7 & 8.1 64 bit. Cubase 7.07, 7.5, 8 Pro. MOTU 2408 x 3 Audio I/O
www.stealthrecordingstudio.com

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: atari floppy to pc

Post by BriHar »

Even if you had a reader, you'll be awfully lucky if those floppies are still readable at all!
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 10.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI 10.5 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

eddiemacarthur
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: atari floppy to pc

Post by eddiemacarthur »

thanks. from what I can see they have been kept in good condition...
PC, windows 7 & 8.1 64 bit. Cubase 7.07, 7.5, 8 Pro. MOTU 2408 x 3 Audio I/O
www.stealthrecordingstudio.com

arimus
Junior Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: atari floppy to pc

Post by arimus »


User avatar
Jarno
Senior Member
Posts: 1456
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Contact:

Re: atari floppy to pc

Post by Jarno »

Cubase 8 Pro/7/4/SX1/VST3.7 | Waves Gold | Melodyne | PC i7-4770/8G/2xSSD/Win7 64 | MacMini | Frontier Tranzport
Tascam DM-4800 | Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16 | dbx231 | Genelec 1032A | KEF C15 | Auratone 5S | Samson S-phone
Yamaha REV500/SPX990 | Alesis Midiverb4 | Roland SDE-330 | Pearl Echo Orbit | Aphex 109 x2 | TL-Audio C5021
Alesis 3630 | AudioLogic MT66 | Joemeek VC1Q | dbx386 | Focusrite VoiceMaster | Line6 PodXt/BassPodXt | Boss GT-3
Roland TD8/TD5/JV2080/SC55 | UseAudio Plugiator | E-mu ProteusXR | Akai S-900/AX73 | M-Audio Keystation
Martin/Taylor/Ortega/ESP/Fender/Line6 guitars/basses | Pearl/Olympic by Premier drumkits | Custom Roland V-drum kit
AKG D112/CK77 | Calrec CM1050C | Earthworks QTC30 | EV RE20/Spherex920 | Neumann M147 | Pearl CR57
Peavey PVM45 | RØDE NT2/NT55 | Sennheiser MD441/MD421/e606 | Shure SM7/SM57/SM58/BETA57/BETA58 ...
... Saeco Odea Giro Espresso machine | BMW Z3 roadster | American Pit Bull Terrier

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: atari floppy to pc

Post by MrSoundman »

It was possible to format 720k floppies on a PC and use them on the ST, if that was the case then if you have a DOS PC or any version of Windows prior to Windows Vista you can just read the files directly.

If the floppies you have were originally formatted on the ST, then you're going to have to do what Jarno suggests above. N.B. it must be an original internal floppy (with the flat cable), a USB drive will not work, nor will most laptop drives (which are internally USB).
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

eddiemacarthur
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: atari floppy to pc

Post by eddiemacarthur »

thanks lads. will pass this onto client. he managed to find a cd copy of some of the files and I converted those ones successfully by adding the file extension .all and .arr to the files then importing to sx3. ed
PC, windows 7 & 8.1 64 bit. Cubase 7.07, 7.5, 8 Pro. MOTU 2408 x 3 Audio I/O
www.stealthrecordingstudio.com

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: atari floppy to pc

Post by MrSoundman »

Just one last note .... Microsoft removed support for 720k floppies in recent editions of Windows, but if you have access to an XP installation (even a laptop) it may be able to read the floppies directly. Oh, and, 3 1/2" floppies don't seem to have deteriorated much with age .... I have some from the 80's that I can still read with no errors (I just checked a few!)
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

balzau
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:53 am
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: atari floppy to pc

Post by balzau »


Evil Miguel
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 2:34 am
Contact:

Re: atari floppy to pc

Post by Evil Miguel »

Here is how I do it, I take a regular blank Verbatim DataLife MF 2HD floppy (other brands tend not to work) and I cover the HD hole on the underside so it is read as being a Double Density disk rather than High Density disk, I then format it on my Windows machine using the command prompt FORMAT A:/T:80/N:9 the disk can now be read by both the Windows machine and the Atari ST thus allowing me to transfer files from one machine to the other.

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: atari floppy to pc

Post by MrSoundman »

Evil Miguel wrote:I take a regular blank Verbatim DataLife MF 2HD floppy (other brands tend not to work) and I cover the HD hole
Yes, this sometimes works but it's risky ... on the other hand, it's almost impossible to find DD blanks disks, but you may find you have a few in the attic that came on magazine covers back in the day! In that case, you have to tape over the write-protect hole instead in order to be able to format them.

I think the OP's problem though was that the original disks were in Atari 720k format which cannot be read by DOS/Windows.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

Evil Miguel
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 2:34 am
Contact:

Re: atari floppy to pc

Post by Evil Miguel »

Yeah, I agree the OP has a different issue without having access to an actual Atari, just thought I would share for those who care.

The Virbatim DD disks are 310 magnetic particles per inch with a coresivity of 620 oersteds....whereas the Virbatim HD disks are 670 magnetic particles per inch with a coresivity of 720 oersteds.....so yeah they are not exactly the same, but it's not really a big deal if you back up your disks on a regular basis.

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests