Question about midi quantize

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
9Lives

Question about midi quantize

Post by 9Lives »

Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to the mixing world. I'm a metal guitarist 15 years in the making. I dove into the recording briefly when I was younger back in the tascam 4 track recorder days. About 6 months ago I started researching daws. Fell in love with cubase, purchased elements 7 and recently decided to fully commit. I purchased full 7.5 upgrade and the waves gold bundle along with several other plugins to get me going. I also use ez drummer 2 a good bit for drums. I record all guitars and bass and some vocals.

I've been devoting a lot of time to learning the ins and outs of cubase. I love 7.5. They're are so many features I can barely wrap my head around it. I recently FINALLY started grasping quantizing midi patterns and getting them close to what's in my head. I have a question about this, hopefully some one can lend me a hand.

I play 8 string guitars. Lots of super heavy killswitch engage, korn style riffs with some dubstep flavor a here and there. I'm having trouble quantizing kick drum triplets to sync with my guitar chugs. You know. Da da da..... Da da da... Da ... Da da da... Djent style playing. The track I'm working on now is 160 bpm. I have it set to 4/4 but some riffs are 6/4. Should I be quantizing to 1/4 triplet grid? Or somthing like 1/32? The closest I can get is to manually draw in the triplets and it's very hard to get it lined up. My distorted guitars do not make clear hitpoints. I have tried making them with bass (works ok...) I do like to quantize to the bass line on "half time" chorus. But I need that tight syncopated verse with the kick drum. There's GOT to be a way to do this easier than what I'm doing.