Create Track with Double-clicking

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
casemundy
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:20 pm
Contact:

Create Track with Double-clicking

Post by casemundy »

Simple question. How do you change what type of track is created when double clicking the track name area?
Peace,

Case

2011 iMac, 3.4 GHz Quad Core i7, 20 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 RAM

2011 Macbook Air, 2.0 GHz Dual Core i7, 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 RAM


Cubase 8.0.2, Wavelab 8.5.1, Hypnotic Dance, Halion Symphonic Orchestra

Pro Tools 12 (Native)

Waves Gold v9, Waves Studio Classics v9, Waves Vocal Rider v9, Soundtoys Native Bundle, Soundtoys Devil Loc, Soundtoys Little Radiator, Soundtoys Little Microshift, Izotope RX3, Izotope Ozone 5, Autotune 7 Live, Autotune 7 64 bit, AVOX 4, Melodyne Editor, UAD (Neve 1073, bx_tuner, LA-2A, Shadow Hills Mastering Compressor, Lexicon 224, Studer A800, Fatso Jr, Little Labs IBP, Moog Filter, Transient Designer, Roland CE-1, 1176, Pultec, CS-1)

Reason 8, Propellerhead Pulsar Rack Extension, Viking Rack Extension, Repeat Looper Rack Extension, AudioMatic Retero Transformer

casemundy
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Create Track with Double-clicking

Post by casemundy »

I realize you it will create whatever track type you have selected but if none is selected, it creates a MIDI track. I was wondering if there is any way to change this default.
Peace,

Case

2011 iMac, 3.4 GHz Quad Core i7, 20 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 RAM

2011 Macbook Air, 2.0 GHz Dual Core i7, 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 RAM


Cubase 8.0.2, Wavelab 8.5.1, Hypnotic Dance, Halion Symphonic Orchestra

Pro Tools 12 (Native)

Waves Gold v9, Waves Studio Classics v9, Waves Vocal Rider v9, Soundtoys Native Bundle, Soundtoys Devil Loc, Soundtoys Little Radiator, Soundtoys Little Microshift, Izotope RX3, Izotope Ozone 5, Autotune 7 Live, Autotune 7 64 bit, AVOX 4, Melodyne Editor, UAD (Neve 1073, bx_tuner, LA-2A, Shadow Hills Mastering Compressor, Lexicon 224, Studer A800, Fatso Jr, Little Labs IBP, Moog Filter, Transient Designer, Roland CE-1, 1176, Pultec, CS-1)

Reason 8, Propellerhead Pulsar Rack Extension, Viking Rack Extension, Repeat Looper Rack Extension, AudioMatic Retero Transformer

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Create Track with Double-clicking

Post by JMCecil »

I'm pretty sure the behavior is that it creates the last type of track created. And, you can't define a default.

So, if you create an audio track. The next time you double click, you will create an audio track.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Guest

Re: Create Track with Double-clicking

Post by Guest »

+1 for a pref

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: Create Track with Double-clicking

Post by Conman »

I'm sure it doesn't suit all scenarios but I always create a template of 8 or 16 midi tracks plus 4 or 8 Audio as a basic and a few different combos for different purposes as I usually have a good idea where a project is going.
If you find that a good suggestion then I'd advise building your own from scratch rather than basing it on a preset which may have instruments or FX with patches that can be unassigned (depending on what VSTis or FX the user has loaded) throwing up dialog boxes that would annoy some.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Create Track with Double-clicking

Post by JMCecil »

Here's hoping they add multi-track track templates WITH ROUTINGS soon. That way you don't have template the crap out of 40 different setups.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

casemundy
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Create Track with Double-clicking

Post by casemundy »

@jmcecil - yeah, i realized that after I read some more in the manual. however, it doesn't keep a memory of which track type you created when you close the project. oh well. i created a key command to create an audio track now so I'll just use that. thanks for the reply.
Peace,

Case

2011 iMac, 3.4 GHz Quad Core i7, 20 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 RAM

2011 Macbook Air, 2.0 GHz Dual Core i7, 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 RAM


Cubase 8.0.2, Wavelab 8.5.1, Hypnotic Dance, Halion Symphonic Orchestra

Pro Tools 12 (Native)

Waves Gold v9, Waves Studio Classics v9, Waves Vocal Rider v9, Soundtoys Native Bundle, Soundtoys Devil Loc, Soundtoys Little Radiator, Soundtoys Little Microshift, Izotope RX3, Izotope Ozone 5, Autotune 7 Live, Autotune 7 64 bit, AVOX 4, Melodyne Editor, UAD (Neve 1073, bx_tuner, LA-2A, Shadow Hills Mastering Compressor, Lexicon 224, Studer A800, Fatso Jr, Little Labs IBP, Moog Filter, Transient Designer, Roland CE-1, 1176, Pultec, CS-1)

Reason 8, Propellerhead Pulsar Rack Extension, Viking Rack Extension, Repeat Looper Rack Extension, AudioMatic Retero Transformer

CinStudios
Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:35 am
Contact:

Re: Create Track with Double-clicking

Post by CinStudios »

casemundy wrote:@jmcecil - yeah, i realized that after I read some more in the manual. however, it doesn't keep a memory of which track type you created when you close the project. oh well. i created a key command to create an audio track now so I'll just use that. thanks for the reply.
Key commands rule our DAW!

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests