Strange MIDI input problem

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
User avatar
danika
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:41 am
Contact:

Strange MIDI input problem

Post by danika »

C7.5.2. There is no midi input for the notes Bb3-C4. These notes can be played on the key editor keyboard, but when played from an external keyboard, the midi activity indicator shows no input. I've tried two different keyboards with the same result. I can perform this experiment in Logic Pro and the notes will play.
Cubase Pro Mac 10.5.10

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Strange MIDI input problem

Post by jamusic »

Are you using an 88 note keyboard, a 76 or 61 key one?

Reason is, on my 61 key, there are octave buttons that will influence what notes will be sent depending on where the keys are pressed on it - and where those octave buttons settings currently are.
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


User avatar
danika
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:41 am
Contact:

Re: Strange MIDI input problem

Post by danika »

jamusic wrote:Are you using an 88 note keyboard, a 76 or 61 key one?

Reason is, on my 61 key, there are octave buttons that will influence what notes will be sent depending on where the keys are pressed on it - and where those octave buttons settings currently are.
Thanks but I don't think anything like this could be the problem. The note keys on my M-Audio 25 can be set to functions other than midi notes. However, the other keyboard I used, an old Roland JV-30 synth, doesn't use keys to send messages. Also if the keyboard were the issue the same problem should occur when I use Logic.
Cubase Pro Mac 10.5.10

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9671
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange MIDI input problem

Post by -steve- »

Have you done the basic troubleshooting steps of checking this in an empty project with initialized prefs?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
danika
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:41 am
Contact:

Re: Strange MIDI input problem

Post by danika »

SteveInChicago wrote:Have you done the basic troubleshooting steps of checking this in an empty project with initialized prefs?
Yes.

I've also now done this test with C6.5 and C7 and cannot recreate the problem. This would seem to point to the C7.5 preferences, but I did reset them to the default preferences (which I have not changed), and doing this did not correct the problem.
Cubase Pro Mac 10.5.10

User avatar
danika
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:41 am
Contact:

Re: Strange MIDI input problem

Post by danika »

One of the factoid about this problem: The transport bar is showing midi input for these three notes, but the track meter is not.
Cubase Pro Mac 10.5.10

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 705
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Strange MIDI input problem

Post by Weasel »

Danika:
Image
Just a guess.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48GB RAM • OSX 10.14.6 • Cubase 10.5.20 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MOTU MIDI Express 128's

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

User avatar
danika
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:41 am
Contact:

Re: Strange MIDI input problem

Post by danika »

Weasel wrote:Danika:
Image
Just a guess.
Good guess, but no, the input transformer was not activated.
Cubase Pro Mac 10.5.10

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9671
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange MIDI input problem

Post by -steve- »

danika wrote:This would seem to point to the C7.5 preferences, but I did reset them to the default preferences (which I have not changed), and doing this did not correct the problem.
Possibly an Expression Map active on the track then?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
danika
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:41 am
Contact:

Re: Strange MIDI input problem

Post by danika »

SteveInChicago wrote:
danika wrote:This would seem to point to the C7.5 preferences, but I did reset them to the default preferences (which I have not changed), and doing this did not correct the problem.
Possibly an Expression Map active on the track then?
Also a good guess, but I've already checked for an active expression map.
Cubase Pro Mac 10.5.10

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9671
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange MIDI input problem

Post by -steve- »

You gotta be kidding. Well, why don't you simply list the stuff you have eliminated already, so we can stop playing games.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
danika
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:41 am
Contact:

Re: Strange MIDI input problem

Post by danika »

SteveInChicago wrote:You gotta be kidding. Well, why don't you simply list the stuff you have eliminated already, so we can stop playing games.
Actually, the only things that I have thought of are the ones that have been mentioned here, namely:

Preferences
Logical Transformer
Expression Maps

And to summarize what I've said before, the problem does not occur in:

C6.5
C7
Logic Pro X

The problem does occur in C7.5 in a new project with the preferences set to default.
Cubase Pro Mac 10.5.10

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange MIDI input problem

Post by vic_france »

Are those notes active for the VST Quick Controls, in your Devices Setup? Unlike for Track Quick Controls, any MIDI input that is used there takes precedence over the "regular" MIDI inputs.
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 705
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Strange MIDI input problem

Post by Weasel »

Are those notes active for the VST Quick Controls, in your Devices Setup?
Ooooh. Good one, Vic. I'll bet a buck that's it.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48GB RAM • OSX 10.14.6 • Cubase 10.5.20 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MOTU MIDI Express 128's

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9671
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange MIDI input problem

Post by -steve- »

Weasel wrote:Ooooh. Good one, Vic.
I was about to say the same thing...

(I have definitely become more grumpy lately. I'll try to be nicer :oops: )
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
danika
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:41 am
Contact:

Re: Strange MIDI input problem

Post by danika »

vic_france wrote:Are those notes active for the VST Quick Controls, in your Devices Setup? Unlike for Track Quick Controls, any MIDI input that is used there takes precedence over the "regular" MIDI inputs.
The quick controls were the problem. I needed a piano to test a melody so I used one from Halion Sonic. Somehow the quick controls for the piano got assigned. I certainly didn't do it consciously. I don't know how.

Thanks, vic, for you help. Now that I know you're in the new forum I figure I can also get intelligent answers to some of the score editor questions I seem to run into.
Cubase Pro Mac 10.5.10

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests