Annoying latency

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Bystmeier
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 2:14 pm
Contact:

Annoying latency

Post by Bystmeier »

I've been using Cubase since bygone and am quite used to problems and solving. But after switching to C 7.5 the audio input is totally *knuf* up. No matter how I set the input latency, when singing I get a half second's delay in the headphones. I have tried different sound cards, and it's all the same.

I assume I have done something stupid without knowing but still. If anyone recognizes this phenomenon, if there is any easy (or complicated) solution och at least a suggestion, I would appreciate it.

thanks

Macbook pro, C 7.5 CI 2+

Keith99
Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying latency

Post by Keith99 »

Did you turn on direct monitoring in the device setup

paulb
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:10 pm
Location: Bisley, Stroud, UK
Contact:

Re: Annoying latency

Post by paulb »

Maybe you've turned off/disabled direct monitoring on your sound-card's mixer?

And/or you've clicked on the Monitor icon on your vocal channel in the mixer or arrange page. (looks like a little loudspeaker, usually next to the record button on the channel inspector) If it's orange, that'll be what's causing it, as your recorded audio is going through your CPU, along with all your VST effects.

It's likely that your solution is just one click away.....
Windows 10 Pro, Intel i7,16Gb RAM, SSDs, Focusrite Saffire56 and Scarlett 18i20, Celemony Melodyne

User avatar
ffg
Member
Posts: 622
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying latency

Post by ffg »

No Direct monitoring as such on Mac unless you use Steinberg sound cards.

Most of us use the sound card's zero latency mixing (Totalmix for RME, Cuemix for MOTU) or hardware monitoring. I haven't monitored through Cubase for years because I can't tolerate any latency, and I actually prefer doing it that way now. It means I can still hear the singer/talent during playback.

If you MUST monitor through Cubase, reduce the audio buffer as far as it will go without glitching (usually 64 or 128 samples unless running a lot of VSTis) and activate Constrain Delay Compensation.
best wishes

David

I'm going to to let the situation mature...

Nuendo 8.3
Cubase 9.5
MacPro 3.3 6-core OSX 10.12
Macbook Pro OSX 10.14
RME Fireface 802
RME Fireface 800

Bystmeier
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying latency

Post by Bystmeier »

ok, still confused. I prefer the steinberg sound card, as it's somewhat more convenient in other ways. And as I mentioned, I haven't had this problem before, so something is the matter.. and no time to work this through right now, still, time will tell, in some way I will find something to do about it

d-_-b
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 6:20 pm

Re: Annoying latency

Post by d-_-b »

have you got any insert on your headphone channel in the control room ?
Win 7-64 bit | Rme| Cubase Latest version 64 bit | CMC's | Halion 5

Bystmeier
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying latency

Post by Bystmeier »

I'm a loser baby - why don't you etc...

With the steinberg sound card CI2+ the latency is about half a sec... with another sound card it's somewhat less, the other sc has direct monitoring but still it's bad.

With or without control room - no difference... Can't even find any headphone channel in the control room. You see, I'm out.

G-string
Senior Member
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK

Re: Annoying latency

Post by G-string »

well I use a ci2+ with the laptop and it's very good on latency , have you set the asio driver to 128 in the device manager ?
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b

Bystmeier
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying latency

Post by Bystmeier »

G-string wrote:well I use a ci2+ with the laptop and it's very good on latency , have you set the asio driver to 128 in the device manager ?

Is 128 mandatory for the device??

Thanks anyway - being a grumpy old man with no brain, almost like winnie the pooh... things tend to turn out fine in the end but this... wow

G-string
Senior Member
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK

Re: Annoying latency

Post by G-string »

no it's not but if you go to low then you will introduce clicks and pops . and there is a complete forum section dedicated to the Ci range
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b

Bystmeier
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying latency

Post by Bystmeier »

OK, I'll go to the Ci part. But, actually, I have used the same equipment during a long time and this problem is new. Most likely I have clicked somewhere I shouldn't have clicked, and opened something I shouldn't have opened, and done the click and the opening without being aware of what I was doing. So I don't know.
But the clicks and pops are manageable, but the latency isn't.

Still thanks for patient and respectful support.

G-string
Senior Member
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK

Re: Annoying latency

Post by G-string »

with the setting on 12 you should get about 8ms latency at the worse so it should be completely useable ;-)

good luck
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b

User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
Posts: 675
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying latency

Post by plectrumboy »

There have been documented problems with latency values connected with various plugins, I'm thinking particularly of the compression and mastering plugins. Have you got these running?

Steve.
Scan 3XS desktop i7 5820 @ 4.0 Ghz on Asus x99 Pro 32Gb running Windows 10 pro with Thunderbolt card; MacBook Pro 2018 32gb, 2x UR824, UAD Apollo Twin Mk II Quad; Icon Qcon Pro X + 1x Pro XS, Cubase 10.5 (most recent), Jamstix 4, The Grand 3, HSO, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns Pro, Mark 1, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, Kontakt, VST Connect Pro.

Bystmeier
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying latency

Post by Bystmeier »

plectrumboy wrote:There have been documented problems with latency values connected with various plugins, I'm thinking particularly of the compression and mastering plugins. Have you got these running?

Steve.

Wow, and I have been recording with and without compression, and I actually very seldom use the dither, and never when recording. Maybe I found a solution, in the vst-connections module, I never use the Studio tab but here the CR was "ON". When disabling it things turned to the normal, I think. But when do I really need the CR anyways. And why latency when it's turned on?

The mysteries move to other locations.

G-string
Senior Member
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK

Re: Annoying latency

Post by G-string »

d-_-b wrote:have you got any insert on your headphone channel in the control room ?
bingo !
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b

User avatar
DaveAbbott
Member
Posts: 673
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:51 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Annoying latency

Post by DaveAbbott »

Hi All

One more thought, have you checked that you are using the right ASIO driver, sometimes it changes itself to the Windows Generic ASIO in the Device Setup dialog, I know probably not but worth a mention.

Best Regards

Dave
Dave Abbott
Entertainer | Musician | Producer
cricket@iafrica.com

Computer i7 3 Ghz CPU, Intel Mobo, DX58SO, 12Gig DDR1600 RAM, System Drive 64 Gig SSD + 480 Gig SSD sample drive + 3 x 1TB recording and sample drives.
Software: Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, Cubase 10 Pro, Wavelab 9.5, NI Komplete Ultimate, UAD, Waves, and various other plugs
Interface: Steinberg UR824 with Focusrite ISA One, Focusrite Octopre, Cubase Elements 8.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on spare machine. Cubase Elements 9.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on Stage Laptop (Dell 6430 i7 with 8gig RAM)
Korg Taktile 49 Controller Steinberg CC121 Controller

Rule 1: Have Fun! Rule 2: It's Not Serious! Rule 3: When in doubt refer to Rule 1!!

Bystmeier
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Annoying latency

Post by Bystmeier »

Thanks for thoughts and advice. It's solved. Sad to say, I don't know exactly why but I think it was the blasted control room, can't understand why it should have disturbed but when disabling it, the latency returned to something controllable instead of being the half second, no matter what.
DaveAbbott wrote:Hi All

One more thought, have you checked that you are using the right ASIO driver, sometimes it changes itself to the Windows Generic ASIO in the Device Setup dialog, I know probably not but worth a mention.

Best Regards

Dave
Dave, such a spontaneous switch, no. But that seems like a horror, so most likely it will turn upp the other day, now that I know of the possibility. :lol:

Bye for this time.. Daniel

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest