Recording TD-4KP Roland Electronic Drum Set onto Cubase 7

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
richardpenn9
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 8:42 pm
Contact:

Recording TD-4KP Roland Electronic Drum Set onto Cubase 7

Post by richardpenn9 »

I have a slight problem...
I have an electronic drumset (the Roland TD-4KP, the portable set), and I would like to be able to record it through the UR22 U.S.B 2.0 Audio interface onto the edition of cubase 7 that comes free with it. I recorded the electronic set on Cubase 7 and what I wanted was for the recording to sound exactly the same as it did on the drum set. But on the software, it put the recording on a different kit they had provided on the software. I want it to sound exactly the same as it does on the drum set, because I want a particular sound.Please use simple language because I've been playing drum for nearly 8 years now, but I'm only 13. I need a response quite quickly because I need to record something for some demo tracks.
Thanks for any replies.

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Recording TD-4KP Roland Electronic Drum Set onto Cubase

Post by thinkingcap »

richardpenn9 wrote:I have a slight problem...
I have an electronic drumset (the Roland TD-4KP, the portable set), and I would like to be able to record it through the UR22 U.S.B 2.0 Audio interface onto the edition of cubase 7 that comes free with it. I recorded the electronic set on Cubase 7 and what I wanted was for the recording to sound exactly the same as it did on the drum set. But on the software, it put the recording on a different kit they had provided on the software. I want it to sound exactly the same as it does on the drum set, because I want a particular sound.Please use simple language because I've been playing drum for nearly 8 years now, but I'm only 13. I need a response quite quickly because I need to record something for some demo tracks.
Thanks for any replies.
Connect the audio out of the TD-4KP to the audio in of the UR22. In Cubase set up the audio connections as explained in the Manual - record to an audio track.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

richardpenn9
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 8:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Recording TD-4KP Roland Electronic Drum Set onto Cubase

Post by richardpenn9 »

cheers

richardpenn9
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 8:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Recording TD-4KP Roland Electronic Drum Set onto Cubase

Post by richardpenn9 »

I know this sounds stupid. It will work with midi though, right?

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Recording TD-4KP Roland Electronic Drum Set onto Cubase

Post by thinkingcap »

richardpenn9 wrote:I know this sounds stupid. It will work with midi though, right?
MIDI will record MIDI data, not audio. You said:
richardpenn9 wrote:and what I wanted was for the recording to sound exactly the same as it did on the drum set. But on the software, it put the recording on a different kit they had provided on the software.
You can of course record MIDI first, the edit the MIDI data, then playback the MIDI data back to the drumbrain, and from there record the drumbrain´s audio as explained above.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

richardpenn9
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 8:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Recording TD-4KP Roland Electronic Drum Set onto Cubase

Post by richardpenn9 »

So I have recorded the drums, but there's no sound and I really don't want to use the provided kits on the software. It's just dots in a track at the moment. So, how do I give the midi track sound, the sound of my electric kit, not the provided kits on the software.

Nate Wade
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Recording TD-4KP Roland Electronic Drum Set onto Cubase

Post by Nate Wade »

Midi out to the brain, audio from it to your interface to audio track in Cubase.

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Recording TD-4KP Roland Electronic Drum Set onto Cubase

Post by thinkingcap »

in the above thread thinkingcap already wrote:You can of course record MIDI first, the edit the MIDI data, then playback the MIDI data back to the drumbrain, and from there record the drumbrain´s audio as explained above.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

richardpenn9
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 8:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Recording TD-4KP Roland Electronic Drum Set onto Cubase

Post by richardpenn9 »

It's working! Thanks everyone!

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: glennyg and 3 guests