Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Kirk
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:33 pm
Contact:

Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by Kirk » Sat Mar 05, 2011 6:06 pm

I've had Cubase since Cubase VST. Every time I've upgraded the newer version has opened the older projects, then saved them in the newer version.

Not so this time.

I cannot open any of my C5 projects in C6.
Now:
MacBook Pro - PCs not cutting it
(Someday I'll grow up and be a MacPro)
RME Fireface UFX (loving it!!)

B4:
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1
Intel i7-2600 quad core CPU @3.40 GHz
16 gigs RAM
ASUS P8P67 Motherboard
(consistent latency spikes - audio glitches)

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by Grim » Sat Mar 05, 2011 7:24 pm

C5 projects are opening fine in C6 .....can you describe what exactly is happening & say on which o/s.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

Kirk
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by Kirk » Mon Mar 07, 2011 12:11 am

The only thing the error message says is:

Cannot open project file "XXX.cpr"

I can start and save a new project OK. Just can't open a C5
Now:
MacBook Pro - PCs not cutting it
(Someday I'll grow up and be a MacPro)
RME Fireface UFX (loving it!!)

B4:
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1
Intel i7-2600 quad core CPU @3.40 GHz
16 gigs RAM
ASUS P8P67 Motherboard
(consistent latency spikes - audio glitches)

Kirk
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by Kirk » Mon Mar 07, 2011 12:13 am

Windows XP Pro V.2002 SP3
AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual Core Processor 6400+
3.2 GHz
4 GB RAM
Now:
MacBook Pro - PCs not cutting it
(Someday I'll grow up and be a MacPro)
RME Fireface UFX (loving it!!)

B4:
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1
Intel i7-2600 quad core CPU @3.40 GHz
16 gigs RAM
ASUS P8P67 Motherboard
(consistent latency spikes - audio glitches)

SLL
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by SLL » Mon Mar 07, 2011 12:44 am

Blind guess...
Make sure that you doesn't have a flooded computer with spam and viruses. This can alter windows security and tons of other things on your setup. Run some scans with a good anti-spam/virus tool, if you haven't already done that.

I can also open all my old C5 projects in C6, no problems. So it's definitely a problems with you setup. Also check folder properties, that you have full change and read rights for your projects.

SLL

Kirk
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by Kirk » Mon Mar 07, 2011 1:57 am

Actually, the projects will open as long as I open them from within Cubase.

But, if I double click on the project icon, NOTHING opens, not even C6 files.

If Cubase is not running, and I double click on one of my project icons, Cubase 6 loads up and then I get the error message.

If Cubase 6 is already running and I double click on one of the project icons, I get the error message.

The only way to open a project is to first run Cubase, then go to the File>Open command and do it that way.

Any ideas?
Now:
MacBook Pro - PCs not cutting it
(Someday I'll grow up and be a MacPro)
RME Fireface UFX (loving it!!)

B4:
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1
Intel i7-2600 quad core CPU @3.40 GHz
16 gigs RAM
ASUS P8P67 Motherboard
(consistent latency spikes - audio glitches)

Pschelfh
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by Pschelfh » Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:21 am

Worth a try :

Right click on the file, select 'Open with...' and select 'Programs' to open a list. Select Cubase6 from the list and check 'Always open this type with this program'.

Peter.

Konundrum
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by Konundrum » Mon Mar 07, 2011 11:40 am

Pschelfh wrote:Worth a try :

Right click on the file, select 'Open with...' and select 'Programs' to open a list. Select Cubase6 from the list and check 'Always open this type with this program'.

Peter.
+1

if this doesn't work then surely opening your projects from within cubase then saving them one by one wouldn't take that long?

once saved in 6 they should open as normal..

Kirk
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by Kirk » Mon Mar 07, 2011 2:12 pm

Doesn't work. This must need an update from Cubase to fix.
Now:
MacBook Pro - PCs not cutting it
(Someday I'll grow up and be a MacPro)
RME Fireface UFX (loving it!!)

B4:
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1
Intel i7-2600 quad core CPU @3.40 GHz
16 gigs RAM
ASUS P8P67 Motherboard
(consistent latency spikes - audio glitches)

Kirk
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by Kirk » Mon Mar 07, 2011 2:17 pm

I can drag the project icons into Cubase and they open. At least this will keep me from having to browse each time. But they won't open if I double click the icons.
Now:
MacBook Pro - PCs not cutting it
(Someday I'll grow up and be a MacPro)
RME Fireface UFX (loving it!!)

B4:
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1
Intel i7-2600 quad core CPU @3.40 GHz
16 gigs RAM
ASUS P8P67 Motherboard
(consistent latency spikes - audio glitches)

Konundrum
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by Konundrum » Mon Mar 07, 2011 3:04 pm

Kirk wrote:Doesn't work. This must need an update from Cubase to fix.
no.

works fine here (W7 64 bit, C6 32bit), sounds like you've got something set up wrong..

too many people using the "bug" word on here, most of the time it seems to be human error. not saying you specifically just in general.

Konundrum
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by Konundrum » Mon Mar 07, 2011 3:05 pm

Pschelfh wrote:Worth a try :

Right click on the file, select 'Open with...' and select 'Programs' to open a list. Select Cubase6 from the list and check 'Always open this type with this program'.

Peter.
have you tried this?

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by Grim » Mon Mar 07, 2011 11:44 pm

Try this:

Go to folder options/file types & locate .cpr & check that cubase6 is set there....even if it is already selected, change it to something else (unrelated....like notepad) & then change it back again....make sure to OK the process to apply iot fully.
Doesn't work. This must need an update from Cubase to fix.
WinXP is unsupported, so if you can't fix it yourself don't expect Steinberg will.
I think it's a Windows issue though....have had it myself some years back & though I can't remember exactly what fixed it I'm pretty sure it was something simple like associations.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

Johnny Uccello
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by Johnny Uccello » Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:49 pm

Hello!

This happened because probably you have used a cracked version of c5. Isn't it?

The crackers offen put *flower* inside.

Even if you have bought C6 and you have successfully installed it, the problem is still there. Right?

Even if youy deceide to reinstall the cracked version, the problem remains...

Some viruses changed some internal option.Boh...


Cheers, Johnny

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by thinkingcap » Wed Mar 21, 2012 12:06 am

Kirk wrote:Doesn't work. This must need an update from Cubase to fix.
Kirk wrote:Windows XP Pro V.2002 SP3
AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual Core Processor 6400+
3.2 GHz
4 GB RAM
looks to me, you´re not even using a supported OS..?
This seems to have been quite regular thing with XP. I had that myself with C5 on XP.
Johnny Uccello wrote:This happened because probably you have used a cracked version of c5. Isn't it?
No...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

Johnny Uccello
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by Johnny Uccello » Wed Mar 21, 2012 10:27 am

Strange! Same thing here...

Bye, J

andyjh
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by andyjh » Wed Mar 21, 2012 11:09 am

Johnny Uccello wrote:Hello!

This happened because probably you have used a cracked version of c5. Isn't it?

The crackers offen put *flower* inside.

Cheers, Johnny
Your knowledge of cracked software, is rather disturbing, and so is your accusation that someone else is using cracked software, just because you do, doesn't mean it's right or anyone else on this forum does. Your knowledge of pirate software seems to exceed your knowledge of genuine software.

On Windows XP, Cubase 6 will not open a file by double clicking a file name, neither a C5 or C6 file. You do need to open Cubase first and load a song from there, then all is OK. It is all OK on Windows 7.

Cubase 6 works perfectly on Windows XP, other than this file association issue, it cannot be considered a bug, as Steinberg have officially disowned Windows XP, and it is all OK on Windows 7.
Master: Windows 10 64-bit / i7 7820X / 32GB RAM / Dual Monitors / Steinberg UR824 / MOTU Midi Express 128
Slave: Windows 7 64-bit / i7 / 16Gb RAM / Dual monitors / Emu 1820m. Networked via VE Pro
Cubase Pro 10, Absolute 3 (Halion 6), Wavelab Pro 9.0, Dorico Pro 2.1.1
Equipment list: - more than I need : Plug in list:- definitely more than I need

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Cubase 6 not opening Cubase 5 projects

Post by thinkingcap » Wed Mar 21, 2012 11:38 am

andyjh wrote:On Windows XP, Cubase 6 will not open a file by double clicking a file name, neither a C5 or C6 file. You do need to open Cubase first and load a song from there,
I think there was a fix posted somewhere here or in the old forums, by simply correcting or creating a registry entry. I did not have the problem with Essential 5 opening projects on doubleclick on the same XP machine.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests