OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
User avatar
HarrySound
Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:17 pm
Contact:

OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by HarrySound »

Has anyone got any heads up on how Cubase is doing under OS X 10.9?

I feel it's coming in the pipeline ,probably this month and will most likely update right away but the only thing that will stop me is Cubase 7 problems.

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4756
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by curteye »

Aloha H,

I hate to keep harping on this and have posted several times but

since the release of 10.7 (Lion) to 10.8 (M. Lion) and now 10.9 (Marvericks);
(and from everything I have read/heard),
there have been NO improvements/enhancements/developments etc
to the Mac OS 'Core MIDI' or 'Core Audio' functions at all.

There has been a 'dead stop' in the development of
these two areas of the Mac operating system for several years.

Now that the new 'Logic' DAW has shipped and with the new (made in America) Mac Pros
soon coming 'on-line' perhaps we will see some forward movement in this area.

Fingers crossed.
and will most likely update right away
DANGER WILL ROBINSON!!! DANGER! DANGER!

Consider a brief waiting period of a day or so.

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

FilmNMusicMan
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 2:47 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by FilmNMusicMan »

Seriously I swear OSX moves through updates like nobodies business, I always wait a month after the newest version is updated so Steinberg can approve the update. Then after that I never update again till the next one. So it's always 10.7-10.8-10.9 nothing inbetween.
COMP: iMac Quad Core i5 2.5Ghz 8Gb Ram OSX 10.8
SOFT: Cubase 7.5.2/Reason 7.1
RACK: MR816csx/Presonus Eureka/PRE73+EQ73/Valley People Dynamite/Ashly CL52E & PQX571/DBX 166A/VLA PRO
SYNTH: Moog Little Phatty/DSI Tetra/DSI Evolver/Sequential Circuits MultiTrak/Korg MS2000B

User avatar
HarrySound
Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by HarrySound »

Thanks guys.
Curteye - i've seen you post that before yes and while I understand your disappointment I think the Macs handling of audio is spot on at the moment.I'm sure someone will disagree though :)

Likewise

FilmNM - Having switched from a Windows platform in spring i've never had an OS that required such little updating.
If you think the Mac updates are bad (big ones every year adding features and a few in-between ,right? ) then how about you go use windows for a while and see how you live in luxury :lol:

User avatar
Joshua Matlock
Member
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:33 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by Joshua Matlock »

As you may know, Apple's Mac OS X 10.9 has just been released. Currently we are testing all Steinberg products for OS X 10.9 compatibility. The testing is still going on, so we cannot provide you with the final results.

However, what is known so far is that all Steinberg software products (except for Cubase LE / AI / Elements 7.0.6) are affected by an issue with the CoreAudio2ASIO component when using audio hardware in class-compliant mode which may lead to dangerous digital noise. Some Steinberg hardware products need to be updated as well to ensure full compatibility with the new OS X version. We therefore recommend you not to upgrade to OS X 10.9 yet.*

We are already working on updates for affected products in order to make them available as soon as possible. We will keep you up to date. Please continue to visit http://www.steinberg.net for news and updates.

*In case you are using Cubase 7 and want to update to OS X 10.9 anyway, please make sure to deactivate the "Display have separate Spaces" option in the Mission Control Preferences.
Joshua Matlock
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

jpgtr
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:06 pm

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by jpgtr »

Joshua Matlock wrote:However, what is known so far is that all Steinberg software products (except for Cubase LE / AI / Elements 7.0.6) are affected by an issue with the CoreAudio2ASIO component when using audio hardware in class-compliant mode which may lead to dangerous digital noise.
I wonder if it is related to a serious bug I reported a while back, but has since disappeared from the 'issues' forum.

1 out of 4(?) times, I get a dangerous blast of white noise just by disabling the Control Room via the VST Connections/Studio window. (repeat: the VST Connections/Studio window, NOT by using the switch in the Mixer Control Room panel.) I don't use Control Room because of this...

(Pretty common set-up here: Mac Pro with MOTU interface running Mountain Lion. Nothing out of the ordinary)
2012 Mac Pro 10.13.6, 24 GB RAM, Nuendo 10.1 UAD-2 Duo

User avatar
hjwinge
Member
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by hjwinge »

hi all,

installed mavericks on mac pro mid 2012, cubase 7.06 seems to be working as before, with just basic testing, native instrument, superior drummer, and waves plugins seems all to be ok. Also no probs with saffire pro 40.
Main studio: Cubase pro 10.0.3, Wavelab 9.5, mac pro middle 2012, saffire pro 40, waves 9, 10 and 11, t-racks, plugin alliance, superior drummer and komplete, and much more. Mackie D8B with probox DAW controller (MCU protocoll and Generic remote)

Classroom 1: imac with Cubase elements 10, saffire pro 40, behringer x32 as DAW controller MCU or MIDI/generic remote
Classroom 2: mac pro 2011, Cubase elements 10.5, protools 11, scarlet 18i20, 3d gen

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by orchetect »

hjwinge wrote:hi all,

installed mavericks on mac pro mid 2012, cubase 7.06 seems to be working as before, with just basic testing, native instrument, superior drummer, and waves plugins seems all to be ok. Also no probs with saffire pro 40.
The feedback is appreciated. I will be holding off and sticking to 10.8.5 for a number of weeks until a few things are ironed out. Can't jump in while in the middle of big projects.

I do know on one of my non-critical Macs I did the 10.9 upgrade and almost everything I've thrown at it has worked alright (Logic X, Pro Tools 10 & 11, SoundMiner, etc.) but have not tested Cubase.
Steffan Andrews | Composer | Developer | website | imdb | gear list
System 1: 2019 Mac Pro - macOS 10.15.5 - 16-core - 192GB RAM - 8TB SSD - 580X
System 2: 2013 Mac Pro - macOS 10.14.6 - 3.5GHz 6-core - 64GB RAM - 4TB SSD - FirePro D500
DAWs: Cubase 10.5.20 | Dorico Pro 3.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5

jpgtr
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:06 pm

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by jpgtr »

hjwinge wrote:installed mavericks on mac pro mid 2012, cubase 7.06 seems to be working as before, with just basic testing
However, what is known so far is that all Steinberg software products (except for Cubase LE / AI / Elements 7.0.6) are affected by an issue with the CoreAudio2ASIO component when using audio hardware in class-compliant mode which may lead to dangerous digital noise.

Having experienced this noise blast several time while playing around with Control Room in C7, this warning should not be taken lightly. Instant hearing loss and potential speaker damage. Don't say you weren't warned.

:!:
2012 Mac Pro 10.13.6, 24 GB RAM, Nuendo 10.1 UAD-2 Duo

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by orchetect »

jpgtr wrote:Instant hearing loss and potential speaker damage.
They've finally done it... Cubase has been weaponized. :o
Steffan Andrews | Composer | Developer | website | imdb | gear list
System 1: 2019 Mac Pro - macOS 10.15.5 - 16-core - 192GB RAM - 8TB SSD - 580X
System 2: 2013 Mac Pro - macOS 10.14.6 - 3.5GHz 6-core - 64GB RAM - 4TB SSD - FirePro D500
DAWs: Cubase 10.5.20 | Dorico Pro 3.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4756
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by curteye »

Aloha guys and thanks for these reports.

Can't update just yet because of a couple of on-going projects.
Looking forward tho'
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

FilmNMusicMan
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 2:47 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by FilmNMusicMan »

orchetect wrote:
jpgtr wrote:Instant hearing loss and potential speaker damage.
They've finally done it... Cubase has been weaponized. :o
This along with Cubase's new NSA plugin in 7.5 will be awesome.

on a side note Steffan, I work on many of the shows you compose for from Hasbro. On the audio and video side...Small world man!

Good work BTW!
COMP: iMac Quad Core i5 2.5Ghz 8Gb Ram OSX 10.8
SOFT: Cubase 7.5.2/Reason 7.1
RACK: MR816csx/Presonus Eureka/PRE73+EQ73/Valley People Dynamite/Ashly CL52E & PQX571/DBX 166A/VLA PRO
SYNTH: Moog Little Phatty/DSI Tetra/DSI Evolver/Sequential Circuits MultiTrak/Korg MS2000B

User avatar
playz123
Junior Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:09 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by playz123 »

From Steinberg: "*In case you are using Cubase 7 and want to update to OS X 10.9 anyway, please make sure to deactivate the "Display have separate Spaces" option in the Mission Control Preferences."

I'm still on 10.8.5, but when I look at my Mission Control Prefs there is no "Display have separate Spaces" option. Perhaps the options are different in Mavericks??
Attachments
Screen Shot 2013-10-28 at 8.20.43 AM.png
(94.48 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase 10.5.12, Cubase 9.5.50, WaveLab 9.1.0, 2014 Mac Pro, 3.5 GHz, 6 core, OS 10.14.6, 32 GB RAM, RME Multiface II with HDSPe interface, CC121.

Tical
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:59 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by Tical »

Joshua Matlock wrote: However, what is known so far is that all Steinberg software products (except for Cubase LE / AI / Elements 7.0.6) are affected by an issue with the CoreAudio2ASIO component when using audio hardware in class-compliant mode which may lead to dangerous digital noise.
Sorry for a possibly dumb question, but does this imply that using a "working" (e.g. not fully supported) version of Cubase under Mavericks with NO class-compliant audio hardware connected (e.g. the Mac's own internal audio interface) should be safe?

I'm using an antediluvian CB Studio 5.5 which is doing just fine right now, but obviously I don feel confident enough to just let it run.

Thanks in advance.
---
T.

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 863
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by Steve Helstrip »

playz123 wrote:From Steinberg: "*In case you are using Cubase 7 and want to update to OS X 10.9 anyway, please make sure to deactivate the "Display have separate Spaces" option in the Mission Control Preferences."

I'm still on 10.8.5, but when I look at my Mission Control Prefs there is no "Display have separate Spaces" option. Perhaps the options are different in Mavericks??
That's because it's new to 10.9 ;)
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

User avatar
playz123
Junior Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:09 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by playz123 »

Thanks, Steve. That's what I was guessing when I wrote "Perhaps the options are different in Mavericks??" :)
Cubase 10.5.12, Cubase 9.5.50, WaveLab 9.1.0, 2014 Mac Pro, 3.5 GHz, 6 core, OS 10.14.6, 32 GB RAM, RME Multiface II with HDSPe interface, CC121.

User avatar
HarrySound
Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by HarrySound »

Yeah its one of the bigger additions they made to O SX.
Better multi monitor support.

Personally I only use one screen and make use of the virtual desktops and a trackpad, one for the mixer and one for the project window.
I haven't and continue to not have any issues worth noting.
The control room bug sound disturbing though, I'll make sure I don't touch that!

User avatar
HarrySound
Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by HarrySound »

Had my first full on crash today.
Had a project open for around 8 hours today and suddenly I got a white screen and some text saying the Mac has crashed.
It rebooted.
Loaded up cubase but Cubase crashed every single time I tried to "open file..."
It would crash as soon as I opened my self made directory "Cubase Projects"
I tried it a few times, crash crash crash.
In the end I think I just found the project file and double clicked it and got in that way.

I had to turn on and off the UR28M as I think it crashed and wasn't being recognised.
Infact it was in the device list under Yamaha *something...*

The crash happened when I was switching the device driver over from UR28M to Built In Audio on my iMac.
I did have a deactivated and turned off DSP effect on one channel and thought that might have been the cause.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by -steve- »

HarrySound wrote:Had my first full on crash today.
Are you using 32bit Cubase? A white screen is a symptom of low memory.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4756
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by curteye »

HarrySound wrote:Had my first full on crash today.
Had a project open for around 8 hours today and suddenly I got a white screen and some text saying the Mac has crashed.
It rebooted.
Loaded up cubase but Cubase crashed every single time I tried to "open file..."
It would crash as soon as I opened my self made directory "Cubase Projects"
I tried it a few times, crash crash crash.
In the end I think I just found the project file and double clicked it and got in that way.
I had to turn on and off the UR28M as I think it crashed and wasn't being recognised.
Infact it was in the device list under Yamaha *something...*
The crash happened when I was switching the device driver over from UR28M to Built In Audio on my iMac.
I did have a deactivated and turned off DSP effect on one channel and thought that might have been the cause.
Aloha H,
and mahalo for the report.

We need to know the 'good and the bad' when major new stuff arrives.
That way we can figure the probs and keep moving forward.

Thanks again for the info.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by orchetect »

Thought I'd chime in that I've been running Cubase 7.0.6 64-bit on a guinea pig Mac Mini upgraded to Mavericks. Cubase seemed to run without a hitch the first day or two. But after some days have passed and a few reboots later, I am getting Cubase crashing on launch. However the second time you launch it, it seems to run OK but you will get the "Searching for Video Service" window. If you cancel out of it, sequences seem to run fine but I don't run video in my sequences so I don't know what impact it would have otherwise.

I'm using an Apogee Ensemble with updated Mavericks drivers, and I think these crashes have been been possibly related to the drivers.
Steffan Andrews | Composer | Developer | website | imdb | gear list
System 1: 2019 Mac Pro - macOS 10.15.5 - 16-core - 192GB RAM - 8TB SSD - 580X
System 2: 2013 Mac Pro - macOS 10.14.6 - 3.5GHz 6-core - 64GB RAM - 4TB SSD - FirePro D500
DAWs: Cubase 10.5.20 | Dorico Pro 3.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5

benitom25
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:24 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by benitom25 »

@ orchetec:

I just updated to Mavericks on a separated partition so I could test it. I have a similar setup like you (so Cubase 7 .0.6 64 bit & Apogee Ensemble with latest driver). I do experience poor audio quality when I play an audio file from the finder. The sound is very thin as the bass seems to be completely gone. I did not have the time to install Cubase and all plugins as I just updated to Mavericks, but I want to know if you experience the same issue when playing an audio file from the finder (select a file and press the spacebar). If so, does the same issue occur in Cubase?

Thanks for your answer!

parnasso
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by parnasso »

@ benitom25:

The behaviour you describe when playing an audio file from the finder seems to be a bug in Mavericks. In the Metric Halo mailing list (the company that makes the MIO audio interfaces) one of the developers wrote the following:
In addition, on Mac OS X 10.9 (Mavericks), Metric Halo is aware of the following issues:

The Finder and QuickTime Player in Mac OS 10.9 play mono files as silence when playing to a MIO. You can work around this by using other apps to play this kind of content. We believe that this is a bug in Mac OS X and have reported it to Apple.

QuickTime Player and Safari in Mac OS 10.9 play stereo files and HTML5 audio with sputtering dropouts when playing to a MIO. You can work around this by using other apps to play this kind of content (e.g. Chrome or FireFox). We believe that this is a bug in Mac OS X and have reported it to Apple.

As these issues currently appear to be bugs in Mac OS X, we do not know when they will be resolved.
Let's hope that Apple will fix these bugs.
Cubase Pro 9.5.21, macOS 10.13.4, MacBook Pro mid 2015, Metric Halo ULN-2, MOTU Micro Lite

benitom25
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:24 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by benitom25 »

@ parnasso:

Thnx for the info! So it seems like this bug won't affect Cubase. I will install Cubase and my plug-ins this weekend and see what happens! And indeed, hope Apple Will fix this very soon.

Cheers,

Benito

User avatar
Neurosis
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: OS X 10.9 Mavericks and Cubase 7

Post by Neurosis »

I am getting tired of waiting four this update to make Cubase compatible. Surly the team at Steinberg must have been given a heads up by Apple?
How much longer do we have to wait?
Over N Out

Cubase Pro 10
Apple iMac - 3.1ghz i7 - 16gb ram
Cubase Pro 10, WaveLab 9.5, Focusrite Clarett 2, KRK Rokit RP8 G4, SSD5, Overloud TH-U, Addictive Keys, Padshop Pro, SE Electronics Microphone,Waves plugins, M-Audio Oxygen keys, Marshall DSL100 head & 1960A cab, Ibanez & Schecter Guitars & Fender Bass

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests