How to transfer Key Commands from C5 to C6?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
AndrewW
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:48 am
Contact:

How to transfer Key Commands from C5 to C6?

Post by AndrewW » Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:00 am

Hi,
I did a fresh install of MacOS on which I installed Cubase 6. On my other hard drive, with MacOS 10.58,I have Cubase 5 installed. I would like to know how do I transfer the Key Commends from Cubase 5 to Cubase 6.
I did save the Key Commands from Cubase 5 and it appears in the list of Key Commands setups in Cubase 5, however I cannot find that file anywhere.
Anybody?

Thanks

User avatar
Anthonie
Junior Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:40 am
Location: Groningen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to transfer Key Commands from C5 to C6?

Post by Anthonie » Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:36 am

Well I'm on pc but I can locate the file "Key Commands.xml" and copy it to Cubase 6 application folder.
See page 540 of the Cubase 6 pdf manual: where are my settings stored ? for Mac
Cubase Pro 10.5 | Windows 8.1 64 bits | 16 GB RAM | i5 3.3 GHz processor| SSD 500 GB 2x| Steinberg MR816x | Steinberg Midex 8 | Motu Midi Express 128 | Fostex DCM100 midi controlled mixer | much hardware synths and vst plugins

AndrewW
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:48 am
Contact:

Re: How to transfer Key Commands from C5 to C6?

Post by AndrewW » Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:17 am

Well, I can locate the Cubase XML Files like - Cubase Classic key commands.xml, Cubase 5 KeyCommands.xml etc. However I cannot locate the Key Commands file which I made with a specific name.

yumorimoto
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:05 am
Contact:

Re: How to transfer Key Commands from C5 to C6?

Post by yumorimoto » Wed Feb 23, 2011 4:11 am

try
~/Library/Preferences/Cubase 5/Presets/KeyCommands/

AndrewW
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:48 am
Contact:

Re: How to transfer Key Commands from C5 to C6?

Post by AndrewW » Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:05 am

Yeah, I looked there.
Looks like Custom Preset will not work for me, however if I save my Key Commands preset as one of the Built in ones - then I'll be able to use my custom key commands from C5 in C6. :)
Thanks guys for your help!

User avatar
JLiRD808
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:40 pm
Contact:

Re: How to transfer Key Commands from C5 to C6?

Post by JLiRD808 » Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:45 am

I cant figure this out...

My C6 presets are BLANK and when I choose the "load" option it only wants to let me select .key files and not .xml.

And I don't have that Users/*my name/appdata/roaming/ folder ANYWHERE...and I've allowed hidden folders to be shown in W7 64


Any ideas?
https://soundcloud.com/jasonkasu/sets

C8.0.2 - W7 x64 - i5 3570k 4.2Ghz OC'd - 12gb DDR3 - UH-7000 - EMU 1212M - SM7B - GAP Pre 73 - HS80 - JBL LSR305 - HD-600 - Denon AH-D2000 - NI/IK/Waves Bundles

DocMa
Junior Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:28 pm
Contact:

Re: How to transfer Key Commands from C5 to C6?

Post by DocMa » Thu Nov 24, 2011 11:47 pm

I have. Do it as follows:

Open C5, save a template for your key commands, name it keycom5 for example.
Open C6, save the current keys under keycom6.
Search the explorer for "keycom5" and for "keycom6".
The search shows you the folder of these both files.
Copy "keycom5" in the folder where "keycom6" is.
Go to C6 and you can choose from the list: There you will find keycom5.
Save it under a new name and you're done.

Cheers, Matze!
Desktop: C9.01, Win7 64bit, RME Fireface UFX, UAD2-Quad, i7 Ivy-Bridge, 16GB RAM, SSD, NI Komplete 5+6, BFD2, Waves Gold, BFD, Addictive Drums, Fabfilter Pro-Q, WaveLab Elements
Desktop: C8.52 32bit, Win7 64bit, Focusrite Scarlett, Intel DP35DP, Core 2 Duo E6750, Intel SSD, 2x WD Raptor, 4GB Patriot RAM
Macbook: C9LE, MacBookPro (2015), 8GB RAM, OSX El Capitano, MOTU 828MKII
http://www.docmaklang.de

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ChazC, mpower and 2 guests