cubase 7.0.5 Generic Remote Editor improvements

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
User avatar
zinstudio
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:31 pm
Contact:

cubase 7.0.5 Generic Remote Editor improvements

Post by zinstudio »

hem hem...
yes sure there is improvement....https://www.steinberg.net/forum/posting ... post&f=181#

But where are new commands that lot of people using remote control are waiting like :

-listen
-cue sends

SLD Music
Junior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 7.0.5 Generic Remote Editor improvements

Post by SLD Music »

I know this isn't exactly related, but... I would dearly love it if I could use my CMC controllers like I do in Cubase 6.5.

1)Select the channel I want to manipulate using the "previous" and "next" channel buttons
2.) And then "LISTEN" to that channel using a function button.

Because of the difference between the way channels are selected and highlighted in the mixconsole in Cubase 7 versus the mixer in Cubase 6.5, and the limitations of Cubase 7 listen key commands, this is not possible in Cubase 7 as of yet without having to define a time-consuming macro that is in itself unreliable.

Ahhh.. we all have our hopes and dreams I guess. I now return you to your "generic remote editor" thread, already in progress...
iMac 27" Quad Core 8 GB RAM, OSX 10.7
Steinberg MR816, Motif XF8, Maschine, Cubase 6.5.3 / 7.03. Omnisphere, Stylus RMX, Komplete 8 Ultimate, Fabfilter Total Bundle, Sibelius

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 7.0.5 Generic Remote Editor improvements

Post by BriHar »

On my CMC-CH I simply programmed to F8 key to toggle listen I don't see the problem.

The ability to show each of the artist cues in a traditional mixer console paradigm Is something I've long wanted to see and really shouldn't be very difficult to implement. A horizontal row of horizontally oriented faders is actually a pretty stupid concept and frustrating when you realize they came so close to getting it right.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 10.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI 10.5 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

User avatar
zinstudio
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:31 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 7.0.5 Generic Remote Editor improvements

Post by zinstudio »

BriHar wrote:On my CMC-CH I simply programmed to F8 key to toggle listen I don't see the problem.

The ability to show each of the artist cues in a traditional mixer console paradigm Is something I've long wanted to see and really shouldn't be very difficult to implement. A horizontal row of horizontally oriented faders is actually a pretty stupid concept and frustrating when you realize they came so close to getting it right.

Hi

for listen button, i would like one as "mute command" wich you can send a "on" or "off" command
(not toogle) for different tracks you select in the remote at the same time.

actually i use classic send 6, 7, 8 and route them to 3 differents cues for headphones because control
send level is possible to midi control. I have on my remote 32 motorized fader and with differents buttons,
i can switch and look at all cues balances

SLD Music
Junior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 7.0.5 Generic Remote Editor improvements

Post by SLD Music »

BriHar wrote:On my CMC-CH I simply programmed to F8 key to toggle listen I don't see the problem.
The problem is that the "edit--> listen" command activates listen on the red-outlined selected channel of the mixer. It does not toggle listen on the selected (white highlighted) channel in the project window and mixer. In Cubase 6.5 these were the same things, but in 7 it's different. The CMC CH SELECT controls only control which channel is active in the project window, they don't control which channel is red-outlined in the mix-console.

Anyway, I'll elaborate on this in another thread. I don't want to hijack this one.
iMac 27" Quad Core 8 GB RAM, OSX 10.7
Steinberg MR816, Motif XF8, Maschine, Cubase 6.5.3 / 7.03. Omnisphere, Stylus RMX, Komplete 8 Ultimate, Fabfilter Total Bundle, Sibelius

User avatar
zinstudio
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:31 pm
Contact:

Re: cubase 7.0.5 Generic Remote Editor improvements

Post by zinstudio »

SLD Music wrote:
BriHar wrote:On my CMC-CH I simply programmed to F8 key to toggle listen I don't see the problem.
The problem is that the "edit--> listen" command activates listen on the red-outlined selected channel of the mixer. It does not toggle listen on the selected (white highlighted) channel in the project window and mixer. In Cubase 6.5 these were the same things, but in 7 it's different. The CMC CH SELECT controls only control which channel is active in the project window, they don't control which channel is red-outlined in the mix-console.
Agree

It's the same problem with key command "listen"

bigboi
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:12 am
Contact:

Re: cubase 7.0.5 Generic Remote Editor improvements

Post by bigboi »

There needs to be a very in depth tutorial on the generic editor.

jconstantine
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 am
Contact:

Re: cubase 7.0.5 Generic Remote Editor improvements

Post by jconstantine »

Very disappointed, no cc for the strip channel....
Windows 10 64 ,i7 7700k 4.2 Ghz,32 RAM DDR4,Asus Prime Z270-A ,Nvidia GForce GT710,SSD 250 GB,RME UFX+,RME AIO,Apollo 8,Macbook Air i5 2017,Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, GA4,Pro Tools 12.8, UAD 2, SSL Native, Waves Gold,hardware synths & samplers.
Kronos2, Avid Artist Mix,Yamaha 01v96i,NS10,Behritone,Genelec 8050a and VXT8

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: cubase 7.0.5 Generic Remote Editor improvements

Post by Patanjali »

The whole inflexibility of the Generic Remote (in concept as well as actuality) was why I gave up on the whole process for remote controlling Cubase using MIDI.

I was not brought up on hardware mixers, so I was not attached to their basically inflexible layout, upon which the Generic Remote is heavily reliant.

I now have touchscreens with the new mixers running fullscreen on them, with one in the studio with the foldback groups (for mixing from groups of channes) running into a Cue channel and Control Room on it. Much more flexible and more easily configurable.

For many, it may be time to let go of conventional hardware and opt for touchscreens all round. Hopefully the mixers will become more drag-and-drop plug-and play compliant.
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

G-string
Senior Member
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK

Re: cubase 7.0.5 Generic Remote Editor improvements

Post by G-string »

Patanjali wrote: it may be time to let go of conventional hardware and opt for touchscreens all round. Hopefully the mixers will become more drag-and-drop plug-and play compliant.

Im sorry but I have to pick up on this , "it maybe time to let go of conventional hardware " . Well being brought up with hardware and "Real" controls and not virtual ,I couldn't disagree with you more and I think 90% of the forum would laugh you out the door with that statement .
The romote has a lot of work that needs doing to it but this is the first stag of a rebuild and I have hi hopes as I personally love "REAL" control over what im doing .

"Let go of conventional hardware " :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b

User avatar
cubic13
Member
Posts: 649
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:46 pm
Location: near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Contact:

Re: cubase 7.0.5 Generic Remote Editor improvements

Post by cubic13 »

G-string wrote:Im sorry but I have to pick up on this , "it maybe time to let go of conventional hardware " . Well being brought up with hardware and "Real" controls and not virtual ,I couldn't disagree with you more and I think 90% of the forum would laugh you out the door with that statement .
The romote has a lot of work that needs doing to it but this is the first stag of a rebuild and I have hi hopes as I personally love "REAL" control over what im doing .

"Let go of conventional hardware " :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
+1, G-string...

I'm still wondering what is happening to some with the touchscreen fantasm. I wouldn't even imagine doing precise settings (editing in the key or sample editor, among others...) with such a gadget, this without talking of the fact that I would always have to stay as close as can be to the so-called screen...
DAW : AMD Ryzen 7 3700X | Asus Prime X470-Pro | 32 Gb DDR4-3200 | 2 x SSD (M.2 WD Black 500 Gb + Corsair Force 960 Gb) | Radeon RX550 (2 Gb) | Windows 10 Pro (64) | RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8200
Soft & plug-ins : Cubase Pro 10.0.60 + 10.5.20 | VSTis : Emulator X3, Alchemy, Sylenth 1, Lounge Lizard, True Pianos, VB3, BFD2...
Gear : Studiologic VMK-188+ | Akai MPD32 | Akai ME30P MIDI Patchbay | Korg 05R-W | Roland D110 | Yamaha TX802 | Pre-MIDI stuff.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests