Make Chord without affecting the original midi notes.

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
ifury
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 5:41 pm
Contact:

Make Chord without affecting the original midi notes.

Post by ifury » Thu Mar 07, 2013 3:40 pm

Hello there,

just want to know if it's possible to make chords from an existing midi track without affecting the original notes of the track.

As soon as i make chords from the track, the notes are automatically changing to the chords created.

I want to be able to change some chords by myself from the original track notes AFTER the make chord track is created.

Thank you

totalmisaer
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Make Chord without affecting the original midi notes.

Post by totalmisaer » Sun Mar 17, 2013 9:39 pm

I want to know this as well.

Is it possible? I just started experimenting with the chord track.

Also, can I make a specific MIDI block to not be affected by the chord track even if the chord track is active on the specified channel?
Cubase 7, Windows 8.1 x64, Intel i7 3930K, 32 GB RAM, RME Multiface II + Octopre, omagawd!

ifury
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 5:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Make Chord without affecting the original midi notes.

Post by ifury » Mon Mar 18, 2013 2:09 pm

"Also, can I make a specific MIDI block to not be affected by the chord track even if the chord track is active on the specified channel?"

If it's what i guess you mean: try to make an empty chord with the pencil tool , so the chord will not be activated. It must be a X when you do it.

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2266
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Make Chord without affecting the original midi notes.

Post by marQs » Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:02 pm

Copy your original track and set it to not follow the chord track?
Cubase 10.5 | WL 10 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

ifury
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 5:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Make Chord without affecting the original midi notes.

Post by ifury » Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:01 am

It's a good idea to duplicate the original one but the fact is that you have to work with two tracks at the same time and delete midi events from each. It's not so bad but it can be very good if we have the option to let some parts of the track be affected or not by the chord track.

By the way, thank you for this solution, it was so easy and i didn't guess it ! :)

Sonic Breakbeat
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 10:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Make Chord without affecting the original midi notes.

Post by Sonic Breakbeat » Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:55 am

You could just make a MIDI track routed to your instrument track and leave the chord track routed to it as well. May or may not work, but it should.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9370
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Make Chord without affecting the original midi notes.

Post by -steve- » Thu Mar 21, 2013 8:08 am

Does anyone read the manual, or has it gone out of style? I sure don't want people to think I'm not 'with it".

See page 553, Mapping to the Chord Track
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests