CMC CH Regression - CMC Tools 1.1.2 / Cubase 7.0.2

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers
Post Reply
cpechet
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:59 pm
Contact:

CMC CH Regression - CMC Tools 1.1.2 / Cubase 7.0.2

Post by cpechet » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:35 am

Just updated to CMC Tools 1.1.2 under Cubase 7.0.2 and found what I believe to be a regression. Using the ‘Solo’ button on the CMC CH when a group track is active causes either the first or last group track to solo rather than the active group track.

Repro:

1. Select Non-grouped track using mouse
2. Click the CMC CH ‘Solo’ button
3. The solo is rendered correctly
4. Activate any group track using the mouse
5. Click ‘Solo’ on CMC CH
6. The selected group channel does not solo, the first or last group track solos

I can reproduce this scenario after a hard-boot.

I would say that 75% of my CMC CH usage involves the solo button and as of now the device is largely worthless. I am saddened and, frankly, angry that this regression failed to surface during QA.

I will cross-post this in Cubase 7/Collected Issues
Windows 10.5 1903 / Cubase 10 Avid artist Mix (4), Artist Control, Artist Transport, 1 x Lynx Aurora 8, 1 x Lynx Aurora 16, Neve/API/SSL pres/comps, Manley ELOP, Spiral Groove M1, JBL 4345

cpechet
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:59 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC CH Regression Under Cubase 7.0.2

Post by cpechet » Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:10 am

Resolution:

Reorder Group tracks in the project windows and the CMC CH appears to function as expected.
Windows 10.5 1903 / Cubase 10 Avid artist Mix (4), Artist Control, Artist Transport, 1 x Lynx Aurora 8, 1 x Lynx Aurora 16, Neve/API/SSL pres/comps, Manley ELOP, Spiral Groove M1, JBL 4345

Lundin
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:19 am
Contact:

Re: CMC CH Regression - CMC Tools 1.1.2 / Cubase 7.0.2

Post by Lundin » Wed Feb 20, 2013 11:25 pm

Hi.
Do you need verifying? I'm not really sure what you mean though as i read "grouptracks" instead of grouped tracks and also what you mean by re-ordering them.

Could you take a screenshot?

cpechet
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:59 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC CH Regression - CMC Tools 1.1.2 / Cubase 7.0.2

Post by cpechet » Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:04 am

Sure that would be great. I apologize if my post was unclear. Hopefully the screen shots will help. By ‘Group’ or ‘Grouped Tracks’ I mean ‘Group Tracks’.

What I mean by ‘reorder’ is re-arrange their order in the editor and (by extension) the Mix Console.

In shot 1, the Group Tracks are ordered as follows:

Drums
Lead Vox Group
BG Group
By the Sea Group
Acoustics

The problem arose while the Group Tracks were in this configuration. Solo’ing ‘Lead Vox Group’ would cause either ‘Drums’ or ‘Acoustics’ to solo rather than ‘Lead Vox Group’

When I re-arranged the Group Tracks (shot 2), the selected Group Track would solo correctly.

Hope this is clearer.

Thanks again

Casey
Shot1.gif
(41.78 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Shot2.gif
(42.42 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Windows 10.5 1903 / Cubase 10 Avid artist Mix (4), Artist Control, Artist Transport, 1 x Lynx Aurora 8, 1 x Lynx Aurora 16, Neve/API/SSL pres/comps, Manley ELOP, Spiral Groove M1, JBL 4345

Lundin
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:19 am
Contact:

Re: CMC CH Regression - CMC Tools 1.1.2 / Cubase 7.0.2

Post by Lundin » Thu Feb 21, 2013 11:24 am

Great! I'll check it out later today.

User avatar
Helge Vogt
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: CMC CH Regression Under Cubase 7.0.2

Post by Helge Vogt » Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:21 pm

Hi,
whether SMTG nor Yamaha was able to reproduce this issue.

Please make sure to select a group track. For example, if a group track is selected on CMC-CH, any fader in MixConsole should not move with operation of CMC-CH fader.

Or please send us more detailed information (screenshot, other way to reproduce the issue).

Cheers,
Helge
Helge Vogt - Team Lead Product Marketing Group
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

cpechet
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:59 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC CH Regression Under Cubase 7.0.2

Post by cpechet » Thu Feb 21, 2013 3:06 pm

Helge,

Thanks for your promt response, greatly appreciated. I posted screenshots and additional details in the CMC forum.

Thanks again

Casey
Windows 10.5 1903 / Cubase 10 Avid artist Mix (4), Artist Control, Artist Transport, 1 x Lynx Aurora 8, 1 x Lynx Aurora 16, Neve/API/SSL pres/comps, Manley ELOP, Spiral Groove M1, JBL 4345

cpechet
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:59 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC CH Regression - CMC Tools 1.1.2 / Cubase 7.0.2

Post by cpechet » Thu Feb 21, 2013 3:09 pm

Wonderful, thanks!

Casey
Windows 10.5 1903 / Cubase 10 Avid artist Mix (4), Artist Control, Artist Transport, 1 x Lynx Aurora 8, 1 x Lynx Aurora 16, Neve/API/SSL pres/comps, Manley ELOP, Spiral Groove M1, JBL 4345

Lundin
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:19 am
Contact:

Re: CMC CH Regression - CMC Tools 1.1.2 / Cubase 7.0.2

Post by Lundin » Sun Feb 24, 2013 7:12 pm

Hello Again.

I have tried to read your first post and understand what exactly is going to happen because i can't repro the problem.

1. You write "Select Non-grouped track" : Means you highlight one of the grouptracks with the mouse that hasn't been selected then press solo on the CH ( on and then off i suspect?) then select another (random) track with the mouse and press solo which then shouldn't be possible?

I have tried to select different channels with the mouse and then pressed "solo" on both the CH and all my FD's but they solo as they should.

Can you repro this if you start a new project in C 7.0.2?

Post again.. sorry for the delay here

/Magnus

cpechet
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:59 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC CH Regression - CMC Tools 1.1.2 / Cubase 7.0.2

Post by cpechet » Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:18 pm

Hi,

Thanks for running through the repro scenario, greatly appreciated. Unfortunately I did not save a copy of the project in its disturbed state and, since I saved it (after having re-arranged the group tracks), I cannot reproduce the problem which is decidedly poor practice on my part.

I gather that neither you nor Steinberg can reproduce this problem therefore I imagine it must have something to do with having created the project in 7.0.0, updating it 7.0.1 and then 7.0.2.

In any event, if I am the only one reporting the problem it must be on my side somewhere.

Thanks for the assistance and willingness to assist!

Casey
Windows 10.5 1903 / Cubase 10 Avid artist Mix (4), Artist Control, Artist Transport, 1 x Lynx Aurora 8, 1 x Lynx Aurora 16, Neve/API/SSL pres/comps, Manley ELOP, Spiral Groove M1, JBL 4345

Lundin
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:19 am
Contact:

Re: CMC CH Regression - CMC Tools 1.1.2 / Cubase 7.0.2

Post by Lundin » Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:23 pm

Hi, No problem at all..

i'm actually glad i couldn't repro the problem that would otherwise have added another "mental" thing to the list of already annoying things :).

cpechet
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:59 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC CH Regression - CMC Tools 1.1.2 / Cubase 7.0.2

Post by cpechet » Tue Feb 26, 2013 12:57 am

Understood... I too find v7 a bit of a thriller... I can never tell how a session will end ;)

Thanks again!!

Casey
Windows 10.5 1903 / Cubase 10 Avid artist Mix (4), Artist Control, Artist Transport, 1 x Lynx Aurora 8, 1 x Lynx Aurora 16, Neve/API/SSL pres/comps, Manley ELOP, Spiral Groove M1, JBL 4345

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CMC Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests