Cutting and moving

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Balloo
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:15 pm
Contact:

Cutting and moving

Post by Balloo »

Hi
I spend most of my time on cubase cutting recorded tracks of spoken word. Of course I record several track (each one is a topic) and then go back and start cutting out mistakes and pauses etc. on individual tracks. So I am not using Cubase as a Multi-tracker really.
Quite often I want to move everything on the track that I am working on using "Select all from cursor to end" in order to pull what ever is beyond the cursor back to where I am now working.
If I do this though, it marks ALL tracks and pulls "other" maybe finished tracks with it. This ruins the positioning of finished tracks. I used to mark finished tracks and convert them into one part, but I´ve got out of the habit of doing that because sometimes things didn´t quite work out the way I´d planned.

Is it possible to "Select from cursor to end only on the track I am working on"

I thought muting the other tracks would help, but it doesn´t.

And it may be a simple mistake, but Cubase has become so huge I could spend weeks looking for the solution. Please help.

THX
Last edited by Balloo on Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Balloo
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting and moving

Post by Balloo »

OK. Well a few people have looked at my problem, but noone has helped yet. Have I simply missed a shortcut or something?
All I want to do is " Select from cursor to end, ONLY on selected track"
Does that work at all?

Thx for any tips

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cutting and moving

Post by Strophoid »

Not sure if such a function exists, but if it doesn't you can create it using the project logical editor.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Balloo
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting and moving

Post by Balloo »

Thanks Strophoid,
unfortunately I am only using Artist, which excludes me from the usage of such a Project logical editor.

I´ve been thinking about the way I work with Cubase and the way Cubase is designed to work. It would seem that I´m probably a bit off the line really. Can´t imagine anyone else using cubase for just 1 track at a time. That´s not the only usage I have of it of course, but quite a large one. I think it would be great if such a function could be put in, or maybe just a shortcut. I tried "edit/select all from cursor to end" while holding down diverse shortcut buttons, but unfortunately it had no affect.

Didn´t some things on earlier versions only have an affect on non muted tracks?

Anyone else care to join in?

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5286
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting and moving

Post by Split »

What happens if you lock the tracks you don't want moved?
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

registered
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 9:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting and moving

Post by registered »

Quote:
"unfortunately I am only using Artist, which excludes me from the usage of such a Project logical editor."

Does Artist allow you to make macros? It seems like this function should be fairly easy to cook up.
Earle Mankey
Win 10, i7 Gigabyte Z170x Gaming 7 (Thunderbolt), 24channels: UAD ApolloX (2) plus MOTU lightpipe, Cubase 10.5
MCI 24 track, AMEK Angela console

Balloo
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting and moving

Post by Balloo »

Hi Split.

Thanks, that could be a reasonable thing to do. Must try it out. That´s a function that I´ve never used yet.

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5286
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting and moving

Post by Split »

Balloo wrote:Hi Split.

Thanks, that could be a reasonable thing to do. Must try it out. That´s a function that I´ve never used yet.
I'm not saying it'll work, just throwing ideas about.
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

Balloo
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Cutting and moving

Post by Balloo »

Well it does work in as much that nothing on the locked track moves. But it´s still something "extra" that has to be done in what is actually a reasonably slim workline. But if I remember to lock "finished" tracks that would be all I´d have to do.
Thanks for the tip.

I´d still love a "Select from cursor to end ONLY on this track" function ;-)

dbombay1
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:03 am
Contact:

Re: Cutting and moving

Post by dbombay1 »

Hold down Shift. double click the first clip you want to move, all clips to the right on that track should now be selected. Move selected clips.
D.A.
www.morris-young.com
Operating System: Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Processor: 2.80GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7-860
Motherboard: Gigabyte P55 Microboard
Memory: 8GB DDR3-1333 Dual Channel (4 x 2GB)
Graphics: DVI+VGA Fanless Graphics Card 512MB (HD4350)
RME Fireface 800 Lexicon MX400, Yamaha MO8, Yamaha SY77, Roland Synth Plus 60, Wurlitzer A200, Halion3.1, Addictive Drums, Stylus RMX, Omnisphere, EWQL Silver Orch, Reason 4, NIB4, BCF2000, Focusrite VM Pro, Micro Moog, Mandolin, Banjo, Fender Strat, Gibson SG, Hi Strung Strat

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests