Cubase 7 Artist Score Editor Crash

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Freeloader
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:14 pm
Contact:

Cubase 7 Artist Score Editor Crash

Post by Freeloader » Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:34 pm

I'm trying to use Cubase to make some composition work for my music GCSE course, but I'm having a problem that's essentially breaking the score editor. I can open it fine, but I cannot add icons such as dynamics. When you click on one, the draw tool is supposed to pop up. This doesn't happen, I then click on the score editor anywhere and a crash window opens telling me to save my project and restart cubase. It also gives me a crash dump which I will link as I cannot attach it for some reason. Can anyone help please? I haven't seen anyone with this problem on the internet.

Specs:

Intel i5 2400 3.1ghz
8gb Ram
Cubase Artist 7 32/64Bit
Windows 7 Ultimate
RealtekHDAudio/ASio4AllV2

Crash Dump :

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B7qaV0Y ... hQd0E/edit

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Artist Score Editor Crash

Post by vic_france » Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:57 pm

The first thing I would try is to trash your Cubase Preferences, and let Cubase rebuild them from scratch (making sure that you also, temporarily, rename any older Cubase Preferences folders, so that it doesn't simply try to re-import them).
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Artist Score Editor Crash

Post by -steve- » Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:47 am

What vic_france said.

Also you can use the new safe mode startup to do this. Hold down "<Control> +<Shift> +<Alt>" while Cubase starts up.

https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/kn ... /2020.html

Freeloader
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Artist Score Editor Crash

Post by Freeloader » Sun Jan 20, 2013 12:45 pm

I opened it up in safe mode with preferences disabled and the exact some problem occured. Any more suggestions?

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Artist Score Editor Crash

Post by Strophoid » Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:27 pm

This might sound weird, but have you tried disabling the infoline?
There used to be a bug in Cubase Artist 6 which was pretty much as you described it. Would be silly if Steinberg reintroduced the same bug again though.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Freeloader
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Artist Score Editor Crash

Post by Freeloader » Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:05 pm

What's the infoline and how do I disable it?

Freeloader
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Artist Score Editor Crash

Post by Freeloader » Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:27 am

Worked out what it is, it's that really useful black bar with the transpose stuff on it. That's a work around I suppose, but would get annoying because I use the info line :(

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Artist Score Editor Crash

Post by Strophoid » Mon Jan 21, 2013 2:08 am

Does disabling it fix the crash though?
If yes, it should be an easy fix for Steinberg.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Freeloader
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 7 Artist Score Editor Crash

Post by Freeloader » Mon Jan 21, 2013 1:08 pm

Hmm, no it doesn't. However, when I disable the info line (I have to disable it every time I open the score editor because it doesn't stay disabled) instead of showing a text selector mouse icon it shows the regular mouse and doesn't crash when I click on the score. However, I still cannot insert dynamics. Any more suggestions?

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests