Cubase 6.5 sucks!

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Composer2005
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:54 pm
Contact:

Cubase 6.5 sucks!

Post by Composer2005 » Sat Jan 05, 2013 6:56 am

Having spent thousands on a new beut Windows 7 Ultimate OS, 64 bit Dual Core system with 16 MB; Ram I am getting ' No enough Memory '.

Yes incorrectly spelt ' No ' enough Memory (they can't even spell Not correctly)

I have my Old XP Pro system also active & registered and I copied the older files into the New beut 64 bit system and even on relatively ' small files ' (Piano, & Cello only) I am getting ' No Enough Memory to Load the Soundfont? '.

I have downloaded the latest version of Cubase!

This just isn't good enough!
Composer2005

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 sucks!

Post by Elektrobolt » Sat Jan 05, 2013 7:37 am

What are you trying to load into what?
No Enough Memory to Load the Soundfont?
It would seem you are loading something into a plugin, which one?

Are you running the 64-bit version of Cubase?

You can express pain all you want, but if you want some ideas or help, you need to provide more information.
Composer2005 wrote:This just isn't good enough!
That's correct, need more input!
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

Composer2005
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 sucks!

Post by Composer2005 » Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:59 am

Elektrobolt wrote: What are you trying to load into what?
I am trying to Open my Old XP SX3 files that mainly used EWQLSO Platinum & Platinum Pro Sound Files in Cubase 6 latest Updated 64 bit machine
No Enough Memory to Load the Soundfont?
Elektrobolt wrote:
It would seem you are loading something into a plugin, which one?
That would be Halion 4 I presume?
Elektrobolt wrote:
Are you running the 64-bit version of Cubase?
Yes!

IF you can help that would be great!
Composer2005

Guest

Re: Cubase 6.5 sucks!

Post by Guest » Sat Jan 05, 2013 2:11 pm

Composer2005 wrote:
Elektrobolt wrote:
It would seem you are loading something into a plugin, which one?
That would be Halion 4 I presume?
Do you presume or know?
Did you create those projects with Halion 4?

Aren't you happen to use the SFZ+ player?
If yes, set it to PR32 mode (or PR16 and DFD)

For the record, this isn't a Cubase 6.5 problem.

User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 sucks!

Post by Scab Pickens » Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:59 pm

Bredo wrote:No it doesn't. Suck that is.

http://www.macprovideo.com/hub/audio-so ... -daw-sucks
Good article. Thanks for sharing.

However, I would have to agree that ... "Cubase 6.5 sucks!"

It sucks up all my free time because I love using it so much! Actually, Cubase 7 has recently started to suck in the same way. I would say currently that Cubase 7 sucks approximately 10% as much as Cubase 6.5.

:D
Win 10 Home | Cubase Pro 9.5 | WaveLab Elements 8 | i7-950 12GB | Focusrite Pro 40

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 sucks!

Post by curteye » Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:59 am

Scab Pickens wrote:However, I would have to agree that ... "Cubase 6.5 sucks!"
It sucks up all my free time because I love using it so much!
+1
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

Composer2005
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 sucks!

Post by Composer2005 » Sun Jan 06, 2013 2:11 am

niles wrote:
Composer2005 wrote:
Elektrobolt wrote:
It would seem you are loading something into a plugin, which one?
That would be Halion 4 I presume?
Do you presume or know?
Did you create those projects with Halion 4?

Aren't you happen to use the SFZ+ player?
If yes, set it to PR32 mode (or PR16 and DFD)

For the record, this isn't a Cubase 6.5 problem.
I have the SFZ player installed however I haven't used it yet for anything, just used the Halion 4 sounds!
Composer2005

Composer2005
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 sucks!

Post by Composer2005 » Sun Jan 06, 2013 8:14 am

Are the Cubase & Halion Installation Disks meant to contain Help Files / Manuals?

IF NOT, are they available Free to Download, if so a Link please?

I am trying to move Polyphonic voice 2 to 1?

Thanks
Composer2005

Guest

Re: Cubase 6.5 sucks!

Post by Guest » Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:08 pm

Composer2005 wrote:I have the SFZ player installed however I haven't used it yet for anything, just used the Halion 4 sounds!
The error you receive (No Enough Memory to Load the Soundfont) isn't a Halion 4 error, it's directly related to the use of SFZ and SFZ+ on systems with 2GB+ memory.
When one imports Soundfonts in Halion 4, they will be converted and aren't Soundfonts anymore.
Composer2005 wrote:Are the Cubase & Halion Installation Disks meant to contain Help Files / Manuals?
Cubase -> Help -> Documentation -> Operation Manual
Or %PROGRAMFILES%\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Documentation\Operation_Manual.pdf

Halion 4 -> Steinberg Logo -> Help
Or %COMMONPROGRAMFILES%\VST3\Steinberg\HALion 4\Documentation\Operation_Manual.pdf
Composer2005 wrote: I am trying to move Polyphonic voice 2 to 1?
Halion 4 -> Program -> Edit -> Sound -> Voice management.

Composer2005
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 sucks!

Post by Composer2005 » Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:18 am

Composer2005 wrote:I have the SFZ player installed however I haven't used it yet for anything, just used the Halion 4 sounds!
niles wrote: The error you receive (No Enough Memory to Load the Soundfont) isn't a Halion 4 error, it's directly related to the use of SFZ and SFZ+ on systems with 2GB+ memory.

When one imports Soundfonts in Halion 4, they will be converted and aren't Soundfonts anymore.
Thanks for the assistance, however I haven't Loaded any SFZ Sound Fonts in to anything yet!

Composer2005 wrote:Are the Cubase & Halion Installation Disks meant to contain Help Files / Manuals?
niles wrote: Cubase -> Help -> Documentation -> Operation Manual
Or %PROGRAMFILES%\Steinberg\Cubase 6\Documentation\Operation_Manual.pdf

Halion 4 -> Steinberg Logo -> Help
Or %COMMONPROGRAMFILES%\VST3\Steinberg\HALion 4\Documentation\Operation_Manual.pdf
It says my Manuals can not be found?

I would have expected them to have been Installed via my Original Install disks?

I have however now Downloaded them from the Link you kindly gave!


I am trying to move Polyphonic voice 2 to 1?
niles wrote: Halion 4 -> Program -> Edit -> Sound -> Voice management.
I am working in the Cubase Notation area trying to swap voices in the Notation, NOT Halion?

Thanks again!
Composer2005

User avatar
andyath
Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:41 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 sucks!

Post by andyath » Mon Jan 07, 2013 2:26 am

Composer2005 wrote: It says my Manuals can not be found?

I would have expected them to have been Installed via my Original Install disks?

I have however now Downloaded them from the Link you kindly gave!

Thanks again!
Do you have adobe reader installed?

Ps Cubase Rocks ;)
Pc with cubase on it few mics and a bit more stuff



Composer2005
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 sucks!

Post by Composer2005 » Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:14 am

andyath wrote:
Composer2005 wrote: It says my Manuals can not be found?

I would have expected them to have been Installed via my Original Install disks?

I have however now Downloaded them from the Link you kindly gave!

Thanks again!
Do you have adobe reader installed?

Ps Cubase Rocks ;)
Adobe Reader installed I don't think so?

Does that need to be installed for the Cubase Help Link to work?

In other words were they Installed but can't be read because Acrobat Reader isn't installed also?

Thanks
Composer2005

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 sucks!

Post by Split » Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:25 am

The Cubase manuals are PDF files so to read them you need a PDF reader installed!
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 sucks!

Post by Strophoid » Mon Jan 07, 2013 2:15 pm

I recommend FoxIt reader over Acrobat reader, much lighter application.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests