UAD 64 install-Cubase Crashing (Solved)

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Swurveman
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:46 pm
Contact:

UAD 64 install-Cubase Crashing (Solved)

Post by Swurveman » Thu Nov 29, 2012 5:27 pm

SOLVED: I first uninstalled the 32 bit plugins. then, I uninstalled and then reinstalled the 64 bit plugins and now don't have the problem. Strange.

I installed the new UAD 64 bit plugins this morning after working sucessfully with the 32 bit ones. Now, Cubase 6 (64 bit) is crashing while I am working on synth sound design within Cubase with Native Instruments FM8. The message I get is from Windows and says "Cubase has stopped working. Windows is checking for a solution." Then it says "A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution if available". A am using Windows 7 64 bit, SP 1 as specified by UAD.

Never had a problem until today, which leads me to thinking it has to do with the UAD 64 bit install.

Any thoughts other than go back to UAD 32 bit? Anybody else having a problem?

Thanks.
Last edited by Swurveman on Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 10 Pro, Windows 10 , Intel Core i7 CPU, 950 @ 3.07 GHz, 16 GB RAM, , ATI RADEON 5450 Video Card 1GB - Dual DVI, 750GB SATA II 3.0Gb/s 64mb cache Hard Drive (OS), 2 x 1TB SATA II 3.0Gb/s 64mb cache Hard Drive (Media), Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R LGA1366 socket motherboard for Intel® Core™ i7 processor family. Lynx Aurora 16, RME HDSPe

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1492
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: UAD 64 install-Cubase Crashing

Post by mr.roos » Thu Nov 29, 2012 8:21 pm

Wow, congrats on the UAD 64 bit changeover. That's gotta feel good. :)

Here's my concern, are there still 32 bit versions of the UAD plugins on your machine that Cubase can find? Was there a complete overwrite of the old plugs? Eh, you can see where I'm going.

Um, never mind. Glad to see you got this working!
Cubase 10 Pro from SX3, WaveLab Pro 10, Groove Agent 5, iC Pro remote app, Win10 64-bit (1909 update installed - latest OS build always), Intel i7 8700 Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.2GHz, 32G DDR4 3200, Gigabyte Z390 Designare MB, Radeon RX570 Graphics card, Mackie 1640i (FireWire via TI chipset PCI-E card), 1K iRig Pads, M Audio KeyStation ES, and Roland FP-10.

Finne
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:08 pm
Contact:

Re: UAD 64 install-Cubase Crashing (Solved)

Post by Finne » Thu Nov 29, 2012 9:48 pm

I installed the UAD 64 Bit update today right "over" the existing 32 bit versions and did not have any problems so far during the working day. System: Win 7 64 Bit SP1, C6.0.7 64 Bit, UAD 6.4 64 Bit
MacBook Pro 15", OSX 10.8.3
Cubase 5/6/7, Logic Studio, Guitar Rig 3/4/5
Midas Venice, Crest Century GT,
Marshall JCM 800, JCM 2000 TSL
Gibson Les Paul Custom, Gibson SG, Fender Stratocaster

Swurveman
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: UAD 64 install-Cubase Crashing (Solved)

Post by Swurveman » Thu Nov 29, 2012 9:53 pm

Finne wrote:I installed the UAD 64 Bit update today right "over" the existing 32 bit versions and did not have any problems so far during the working day. System: Win 7 64 Bit SP1, C6.0.7 64 Bit, UAD 6.4 64 Bit
I didn't mention this in my "Solved" post, but I did uninstall the 32 bit UAD plugins before reinstalling the 64 bit ones. I don't know if that made the difference. Glad you were able to install the 64 bit ones over the existing 32 bit ones.
Cubase 10 Pro, Windows 10 , Intel Core i7 CPU, 950 @ 3.07 GHz, 16 GB RAM, , ATI RADEON 5450 Video Card 1GB - Dual DVI, 750GB SATA II 3.0Gb/s 64mb cache Hard Drive (OS), 2 x 1TB SATA II 3.0Gb/s 64mb cache Hard Drive (Media), Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R LGA1366 socket motherboard for Intel® Core™ i7 processor family. Lynx Aurora 16, RME HDSPe

Finne
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:08 pm
Contact:

Re: UAD 64 install-Cubase Crashing (Solved)

Post by Finne » Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:24 pm

I'll give it a try. Hope that there will be no problems. If so, I'm glad to know that a fresh install will help :-)
MacBook Pro 15", OSX 10.8.3
Cubase 5/6/7, Logic Studio, Guitar Rig 3/4/5
Midas Venice, Crest Century GT,
Marshall JCM 800, JCM 2000 TSL
Gibson Les Paul Custom, Gibson SG, Fender Stratocaster

mightymusic
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:21 pm
Contact:

Re: UAD 64 install-Cubase Crashing (Solved)

Post by mightymusic » Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:28 pm

Hi Swurveman...i have exactly the same problem that you described. I have done a complete UAD 640 reinstall following UAD guidelines and still have the same problem but only when trying to load the newer UAD plugins like Manley Passive and Harrison 32 etc.

Has anyone else had the problem or can anyone suggest a solution other than going back to 32bit UAD software?

Strange thing is all the UAD 640 plugins work fine in Samplitude Pro X which makes me wonder if its a Cubase 6.5.4 bug?
Asus Mb; Intel i5; 16gig ram; Cubase 6.5.4; UAD Quad, Duo & Solo; NI 8 Ultimate; Samplitude Pro X; Reason 6.5; Live 8; NI Maschine; Yamaha n12

Swurveman
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: UAD 64 install-Cubase Crashing (Solved)

Post by Swurveman » Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:14 pm

mightymusic wrote:Hi Swurveman...i have exactly the same problem that you described. I have done a complete UAD 640 reinstall following UAD guidelines and still have the same problem but only when trying to load the newer UAD plugins like Manley Passive and Harrison 32 etc.

Has anyone else had the problem or can anyone suggest a solution other than going back to 32bit UAD software?

Strange thing is all the UAD 640 plugins work fine in Samplitude Pro X which makes me wonder if its a Cubase 6.5.4 bug?
Did you uninstall the 32 bit ones?

The strange thing was I wasn't even using UAD plugins in the Cubase project I was working on that kept getting closed by Windows. It was as if simply the new UAD installation gummed up the works for Cubase. I don't know if my deleting the 32 bit ones first was the solution to the problem, or if the uninstall and reinstall of the UAD 64 bit plugins was the solution. All I know is Cubase didn't crash any more.

Good luck.
Cubase 10 Pro, Windows 10 , Intel Core i7 CPU, 950 @ 3.07 GHz, 16 GB RAM, , ATI RADEON 5450 Video Card 1GB - Dual DVI, 750GB SATA II 3.0Gb/s 64mb cache Hard Drive (OS), 2 x 1TB SATA II 3.0Gb/s 64mb cache Hard Drive (Media), Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R LGA1366 socket motherboard for Intel® Core™ i7 processor family. Lynx Aurora 16, RME HDSPe

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests