C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
isokolow
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:59 pm
Contact:

C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by isokolow »

Hello..

Got my update from C5 to C6 yesteday.

Works fine as far as I can see, except when I exit from C6 (either immediately or after having opened a project
and played with it). When I close C6, Win 7 crashed with a blue screen complaining about something I don't have
really enough time to read as the computer reboots almost imemdiately. Something related to buffers... I don't
know..

Anyone facing that issue (a big one for me).

I will have more time to dig into this over the week end.

Thanks.
PC(i7-920,11Gb ram,win7 64bit), Cubase 6.5 64 bit, Edirol FA-101 firewire, M-Audio Axiom Pro 61, CVP 407 & Roland FP7, Elec Guitar Yamaha + Art ECC, Acc Guitar Ramirez R3, Micro Berhinger B2-pro.

Chris Beuermann

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by Chris Beuermann »

Hello,


no problems here.

Does this happens every time ? Did you check for driver updates for your soundcard ?

Cheers,

Chris

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2635
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by MrSoundman »

isokolow wrote:Win 7 crashed with a blue screen
Such crashes are almsost always driver-related. Are you sure you've got the latest, signed 64-bit drivers for all your hardware devices? C6 is absolutely rock-solid on W7x64 here.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.10 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

Howser
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:32 pm
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by Howser »

MrSoundman wrote:
isokolow wrote:Win 7 crashed with a blue screen
Such crashes are almsost always driver-related. Are you sure you've got the latest, signed 64-bit drivers for all your hardware devices? C6 is absolutely rock-solid on W7x64 here.
+1
BSOD will most not definately be the fault of Cubase, v6 64bit + win7 64bit here hap been *rock* solid and I'm really pushing it now.

Check the detailed crash log that appears when you restart Windows, If the dialog doesn't appear I think its located at C:\Windows\Minidump

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by Grim »

Alphatrack is confirmed as causing Cubase to crash on exit, though no Windows blue screens for other users....do you have an AT by any chance?
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

isokolow
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:59 pm
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by isokolow »

Hello again..

Sorry for the noise.. but issue occured twice yesterday.
Today it runs fine for now. Crossing fingers... :-)

Regards.
PC(i7-920,11Gb ram,win7 64bit), Cubase 6.5 64 bit, Edirol FA-101 firewire, M-Audio Axiom Pro 61, CVP 407 & Roland FP7, Elec Guitar Yamaha + Art ECC, Acc Guitar Ramirez R3, Micro Berhinger B2-pro.

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by dorremifasol »

I had some crashes the first day I used it. Now it runs perfectly.

Maybe is something related to its configuration or windows registry.
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

Dean Corrie
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 12:01 pm
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by Dean Corrie »

Hello,
I had a BSOD when scanning plugins, caused by Usine. Removed it and no problems now. Have you checked your VST plugins?
Cheers,
Dean

isokolow
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:59 pm
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by isokolow »

No, I did nothing special ....
I may have fixed some issues in the project config I reloaded form C5.5.2 version of the project.. I am not sure.
PC(i7-920,11Gb ram,win7 64bit), Cubase 6.5 64 bit, Edirol FA-101 firewire, M-Audio Axiom Pro 61, CVP 407 & Roland FP7, Elec Guitar Yamaha + Art ECC, Acc Guitar Ramirez R3, Micro Berhinger B2-pro.

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1328
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by matjones »

Grim wrote:Alphatrack is confirmed as causing Cubase to crash on exit, though no Windows blue screens for other users....do you have an AT by any chance?
I have an alphatrack here and it's not causing me any problems
Cubase 10.5.12 Asus Z390-Plus, i9 9900 @ (3.7) 5GHz, 64GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel/Fusion, UAD2 Octo/Solo/Quad, UA6176, Neve 8801/8803, Loads of plugs, WL10, Melodyne Studio 5, Arturia VC7, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG, Austrian Audio, Sontronics, Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, ATH-M70x, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

Bernard Focquet
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes on Exit Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by Bernard Focquet »

I've noticed several C6 crashs on exit too...
It seems to me that the top rigth corner Red X button has a bug...or at least a different behavior.
If I try to quit C6 using this command, C6 usually crashes - not each time but very often (not a BSOD but in fact C6 never quits, seems locked and the process is not responding anymore).
However if I exit using the File/Quit menu I never had this problem again.

Anyone to confirm ?

Note: Cubase (PC-C) is always linked to my Nuendo (PC-A or PC-B) using VST System Link.

Cheers,
Bernard
Nuendo 10.x, Cubase Pro 10.x, Wavelab Pro 9.x
PCs Win7/Win10 x64, Sony DMX-R100, RME Digiface, TC Powercore, MCU Pro

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2635
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes on Exit Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by MrSoundman »

Bernard Focquet wrote:using the File/Quit menu I never had this problem again
Interesting. I'll watch out for this but I can't confirm. Ctrl-Q is also a quick way out ... do you notice any difference using Ctril-Q?
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.10 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2653
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes on Exit Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by Arjan P »

Bernard Focquet wrote:It seems to me that the top rigth corner Red X button has a bug...or at least a different behavior. If I try to quit C6 using this command, C6 usually crashes - not each time but very often (not a BSOD but in fact C6 never quits, seems locked and the process is not responding anymore). However if I exit using the File/Quit menu I never had this problem again. Anyone to confirm ?
Yes, I can confirm, though I've only had a couple of sessions with C6 yet. I did also notice after starting it again, and then quitting the same way, there were 2 cubase.exe process instances active in the taskmanager. Couldn't get them terminated - or I didn't wait long enough (read in another thread it may last minutes). I'll try some testing later.

Luck, Arjan
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0.40 | Cubase 10.0.60 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

ChrisCabbage
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by ChrisCabbage »

I'm also having problems closing C6.

No blue screen, but it does hang on exit - every time!

ChrisCabbage
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by ChrisCabbage »

Oooh - I'll tell you what though: I've just loaded the new eLicenser which was released (I think) yesterday!

Might actually fix the problem! First attempt to exit went OK!

Edit: Yep - looking good!

R
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by R »

I am experiencing the same issue. I have been using Cubase since v1 with little to no issues and recently upgraded to v6. I installed C6 x64 on my existing dedicated audio PC. I can load songs that were created in v5 but as soon as I close C6 with "X" at the top right window I get the dreaded bluescreen. If I go to file -> Quit, Cubase crashes but no bluscreen. I am going to try C6 x32 tonight

I have the latest RME drivers installed and they have been rock solid from the beginning

Windows 7 x64.
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
16gb DDR3 1866 memory
2-RME HDSPe Madi cards
1 RME HDSPe Raydat card
Studio Manager with DM2000 installed
No 3rd party plugins installed
Windows 10 Pro X64. 1 PC for Nuendo 10, WaveLab Pro 9.5.25
Windows 10 Pro x64. 1 PC for Pro Tools 12.8 HDX MADI
ASRock Fatal1ty X399
EVGA RTX 2080Ti
AMD RYZEN Threadripper 2990WX 32 Core
128GB DDR4 3600 Memory
RME HDSPe Madi-FX
RME HDSPe AES x 2
Avid AM713 x3, MA703 x2, DM714, MD704, FC726, ML530
Avid System 5 Console, 300 channels with Colin Broad P2MMC-USB for transport control from desk to Nuendo and PT
Genelec 1038B Mains, 7271A Sub x 2, 8240A surrounds
TC Music 6000 MKII, Lexicon 960L, Bricasti M7, PCM Native, Waves Mercury, Izotope 8, Slate Trigger 2

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2635
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by MrSoundman »

R wrote:as soon as I close C6 with "X" at the top right window I get the dreaded bluescreen. If I go to file -> Quit, Cubase crashes but no bluscreen
Do you have any other hardware devices such as USB MIDI controllers or other USB MIDI interfaces connected?
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.10 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

R
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by R »

MrSoundman wrote:
R wrote:as soon as I close C6 with "X" at the top right window I get the dreaded bluescreen. If I go to file -> Quit, Cubase crashes but no bluscreen
Do you have any other hardware devices such as USB MIDI controllers or other USB MIDI interfaces connected?
I have a MOTU Midi express 128 with MOTU x64 drivers installed. Solid in C5

I have a Yamaha DM2000VCM with the USB connected for the studio manager, remote layer to Cubase for automation and timecode. No audio passes over USB.. Solid in C5
Windows 10 Pro X64. 1 PC for Nuendo 10, WaveLab Pro 9.5.25
Windows 10 Pro x64. 1 PC for Pro Tools 12.8 HDX MADI
ASRock Fatal1ty X399
EVGA RTX 2080Ti
AMD RYZEN Threadripper 2990WX 32 Core
128GB DDR4 3600 Memory
RME HDSPe Madi-FX
RME HDSPe AES x 2
Avid AM713 x3, MA703 x2, DM714, MD704, FC726, ML530
Avid System 5 Console, 300 channels with Colin Broad P2MMC-USB for transport control from desk to Nuendo and PT
Genelec 1038B Mains, 7271A Sub x 2, 8240A surrounds
TC Music 6000 MKII, Lexicon 960L, Bricasti M7, PCM Native, Waves Mercury, Izotope 8, Slate Trigger 2

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2635
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by MrSoundman »

R wrote:
MrSoundman wrote:
R wrote:as soon as I close C6 with "X" at the top right window I get the dreaded bluescreen. If I go to file -> Quit, Cubase crashes but no bluscreen
Do you have any other hardware devices such as USB MIDI controllers or other USB MIDI interfaces connected?
I have a MOTU Midi express 128 with MOTU x64 drivers installed. Solid in C5

I have a Yamaha DM2000VCM with the USB connected for the studio manager, remote layer to Cubase for automation and timecode. No audio passes over USB.. Solid in C5
Can you disconnect the USB devices and see if the problems still exists?
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.10 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

nexis
Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:49 pm
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by nexis »

I had this problem too (under Cubase 5) It turned out to be something wrong with one of inserts for a memory stick on the motherboard. Getting a new motherboard meant I might as well rebuild a whole new computer...

nexis
Cubase 10.5 PRO, Steinberg MR816 CSX (2 of them), Windows 10 Pro, i7 Processor, 24 gigs of RAM, 3 Separate TB Drives, BluRay Burner Dual Monitors

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2635
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by MrSoundman »

nexis wrote:I had this problem too (under Cubase 5) It turned out to be something wrong with one of inserts for a memory stick on the motherboard.
Windows x64 is much more sensitive to RAM errors than 32-bit versions. A blue screen almost invariably means a hardware issue, so if it's not a driver, then it makes sense to check things like RAM, which is easily done by downloading the free Memtest86+ -- burn the ISO to a CD and boot from it. If that test fails, then there's no point going any further.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.10 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by Elektrobolt »

I use the window [X] to close Cubase exclusively, zero crashes.
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2653
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by Arjan P »

Elektrobolt wrote:I use the window [X] to close Cubase exclusively, zero crashes.
Very good for you, and I'm happy for you, but without any surrounding info (system, OS, 32/64bit etc.) useless info for the rest of us..

Luck, Arjan
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0.40 | Cubase 10.0.60 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: C6 crashes Win 7 64 bit !!?

Post by Elektrobolt »

Arjan P wrote:without any surrounding info (system, OS, 32/64bit etc.) useless info for the rest of us..
Cubase 6 (x64), Windows 7 (x64), CC121/MR816CSX, i7-950/DX58SO/6GB

Additional plug-ins:
FabFilter.com: Twin2 (x64/VST3)
Steinberg: HALion 3 (x64), HALion Sonic (x64)
(I also got the HSO for SE)
u-he.com: Zebra2 (x64 beta)
VirSyn.com: Cantor (x32), Klon (x32/VST3), Matrix (x64/VST3), Poseidon (x32), Prism (x32/VST3)
(FYI, VirSyn is in the process of converting all their plug-ins to x64/VST3)
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests