What do you want to see in Cubase 7?

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
Post Reply
mdef303
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:57 am
Contact:

What do you want to see in Cubase 7?

Post by mdef303 » Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:15 pm

Personally I would like...

1. Better mixer-(like protools in a sense)
2. Better window management - like (Cakewalks Sonar) Being able to move, maximize widows to your own needs.
2. Freeze to audio from midi, back to midi if music needed adjustment.
3. Drag and drop..
4. Better Zooming capabilities

No other daw will be able to touch cubase, literally, with these features.


Peace
Cubase 6.5.3
Reason 6.5
Steinberg/Yamaha MR816csx
Maschine
Akai MPK 61

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: What do you want to see in Cubase 7?

Post by Conman » Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:50 pm

Nobody asking what I want to see in Cubase 8 after 5 minutes. :lol:
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: What do you want to see in Cubase 7?

Post by Split » Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:53 pm

Conman wrote:Nobody asking what I want to see in Cubase 8 after 5 minutes. :lol:
That retro 32 bit FP summing bus... :lol:
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

mdef303
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: What do you want to see in Cubase 7?

Post by mdef303 » Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:56 pm

lol i knew i was gonna get this.. haha its all love tho.
Cubase 6.5.3
Reason 6.5
Steinberg/Yamaha MR816csx
Maschine
Akai MPK 61

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: What do you want to see in Cubase 7?

Post by Jeff Hayat » Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:00 pm

The background should be collage of faces of all of the SB employees! :lol:

User avatar
Marcus
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: What do you want to see in Cubase 7?

Post by Marcus » Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:03 pm

Jeff Hayat wrote:The background should be collage of faces of all of the SB employees! :lol:
Somebody wants to create a new dartboard?
;)

Cheers,

Marcus
BDM Education
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
goodtimesroll
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:17 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: What do you want to see in Cubase 7?

Post by goodtimesroll » Thu Oct 18, 2012 12:05 am

Tempo tracking.
This is based on my experience of aligning the tempo of a new project to match an imported wav track.
Two windows or split window showing the same point on the bar/timevalue. One is the Sample Editor of the wav set to AudioWarp/FreeWarp so that graphic alignment can be observed. The other would show the Tempo Track Editor with Tempo Track activated.
As the track is played the wav patterns can be observed in the sample editor and the bar start point relative to the wav changed in real time as adjustments are made to the Tempo pathway in the Tempo Track Editor.
I can provide a screenshot if i am just causing confusion, but this process is normally boring, time consuming and prone to inaccuracies. I found this combination and approach more effecient.
Keep up the good work:)
Dell T7500, Xenon, 500Gb mirrored, 12Gb Ram, Windows 8 Pro, 64bit, Cubase 8.0.20, Echo Layla 3G 64bit, Focusrite Liquid Channel, Focusrite Platinum Trakmaster Pro, Focusrite Platinum Voicemaster Pro, Behringer UB2442FX-Pro Mixer, Control Room Audio - Quad 306, KEF Monitors, Yamaha W Keyboard, Line 6 Pod, Various VSTs, mikes, amps and guitars.

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: What do you want to see in Cubase 7?

Post by Conman » Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:57 am

I can provide a screenshot if i am just causing confusion, but this process is normally boring, time consuming and prone to inaccuracies. I found this combination and approach more effecient.
Keep up the good work:)
But this is the stuff no one can do exactly because it's boring and prone to inaccuracies. It's the stuff that makes us look like we know what we're doing. :mrgreen:
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

User avatar
goodtimesroll
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:17 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: What do you want to see in Cubase 7?

Post by goodtimesroll » Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:28 am

But we can be more efficient and look like we know what we are doing.
In my case just put me down as looking like I am stupid:)
Dell T7500, Xenon, 500Gb mirrored, 12Gb Ram, Windows 8 Pro, 64bit, Cubase 8.0.20, Echo Layla 3G 64bit, Focusrite Liquid Channel, Focusrite Platinum Trakmaster Pro, Focusrite Platinum Voicemaster Pro, Behringer UB2442FX-Pro Mixer, Control Room Audio - Quad 306, KEF Monitors, Yamaha W Keyboard, Line 6 Pod, Various VSTs, mikes, amps and guitars.

User avatar
jb
Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:59 am
Contact:

Re: What do you want to see in Cubase 7?

Post by jb » Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:35 am

back on topic:
-OSC support
-sync of inspector/ mixerview (sends,inserts,eq) and auto function (if you remotely tweak eq you get autodisplay of eq in mixer or inspector, etc).
-button or option for automatic opening of all active plugins when selecting channels.
-keep focus on selected track when zooming out verticaly.
-extended mixerwindow option with eq, inserts and sends in one..
-ability to set the order of insert and eq
-VCA style channel linking. Now if you link channels this also goes for selecting. So option for "link only faders" or something similar, or option to use group faders as VCA/DCA (without routing the audio throug this group..)
-auxes on the master-buss
-ability to route effects to groups (I still sometimes use groups as effect returns for this reason...)
-vertical scroll handles on the left side of the arangement window
-or/and dedicated comands for arangement vertical scroling in the generic remote (now al that works is mousewheel when the mouse is at the right spot)
- push/toggle options for ALL generic remote switchable functions (mixer, presets, inspector, vst-windows etc.
Now this is not scriptable.
-master and effect returns selection in the generic remote (non-movable)
-broader aux faders in editor and inspector. 2 pixels is SMALLLL

-"good sound button?"
Last edited by jb on Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
Studio: Cubase 10.5 + jBridge 1.75
Intel I7 4930K @3.4Ghz/Asus P9X79/16gb/NVIDIA GeForce GT 610/RME Digiface and MultifacePCI/W10-64
Intel Q6600 @2.40Ghz /Asus P5K/4gb/NVIDIA GeForce 850 GT/RME multiface PCI/W10-64
Controllers: http://www.jbgeluid.nl/en/jurmix/
Dual Ipad2/16gb, Lemur running customized 16channel Mackie control and multiple 14 bits generic remote templates, presonus faderport, BCR2000
website: http://www.jbgeluid.nl

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1013
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: What do you want to see in Cubase 7?

Post by Sonik » Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:57 am

MacPro 8 core 16gb HD 5770 10.11.6|Studio One 4.5|Protools 2019|Cubase Pro 10.0.30|Wavelab 9.5|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (14 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete10|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 2|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2568
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: What do you want to see in Cubase 7?

Post by Arjan P » Thu Oct 18, 2012 12:25 pm

Exactly. One request topic should be adequate.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0.20 | Cubase 10.0.50 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: What do you want to see in Cubase 7?

Post by JMCecil » Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:02 pm

Strippers.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
Sid Chigger
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: What do you want to see in Cubase 7?

Post by Sid Chigger » Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:16 pm

JMCecil wrote:Strippers.
+1
C 8.5 & WL8 - Win 10 64 - 5960 - 32G - FF UFX - UAD-2 Quad x2, Octo x1

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests