No sound coming out

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
vcharlene
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:49 am
Contact:

No sound coming out

Post by vcharlene » Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:19 am

Hello, I really reaaallyy need help with my Cubase 6. I just installed cubase 6 on my mac os X version 10.6.8. Everything seems to work perfectly except from the audio. My main purpose installing the Cubase 6 is just to play some short tracks from my rhythm studies class. Therefore, I'm not installing any external device. The "main mix output channel" shows no activity whatsoever. When I play the track, there's no sound coming out from my laptop. I don't know what is the problem. :cry: Can someone please help me? It's really urgent. Thanks a lot!

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by Split » Sat Aug 25, 2012 8:57 am

It is strongly recommended that you at least look through the getting started guide.

Assign some outputs in VST connections.
Make sure the various channels have the defined output assigned.
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 22006
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Aug 25, 2012 9:10 am

Check your used audio interface in Devices > Device Setup > VST Audio System. Choose your audio interface and ASIO driver. Than check you Device > VST Connections > Output tab. Set your output here.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

vcharlene
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:49 am
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by vcharlene » Sun Aug 26, 2012 1:21 am

Thank you for responding. I've checked the VST connections and device setup, it's said the built-in audios are active. But then I tried to play the file again, it still doesn't work. :cry: Is it required to use another device (external hardware) as the output source?

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 22006
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sun Aug 26, 2012 7:47 am

Are you using Win or Mac? In any case, sound card with ASIO driver (other, than built-in) is recommended.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

vcharlene
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:49 am
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by vcharlene » Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:18 am

I'm using Mac..

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 22006
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:39 am

Can you send screenshots?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

vcharlene
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:49 am
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by vcharlene » Wed Aug 29, 2012 1:05 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:Can you send screenshots?
Do I need to install an external hardware/device for me to listen to the tracks? Can't I just listen from the built in speakers from my laptop? Thanks.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 22006
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Aug 29, 2012 1:14 pm

Mac's built-in sound cards are much more better, than PC's built-in sound cards. So you can use it.

What about your meters? How does it look in the Mixer window? What about Transport bar and Audio Activity Output meter?

Did you try to increase Buffer Size? Can you send some screenshots of your settings?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

No1DaBeats
Senior Member
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:22 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by No1DaBeats » Wed Aug 29, 2012 1:34 pm

Hey. I'm also on a mac.

So I can ensure you that it is possible.
Please check if you get sound on headphones when you plug them into the macbook.
If this works your speakers might not work right.

Check the system preferences > audio > output. What do you see there?

The next thing to check finder > programs > utility > audio midi setup.
Check the internal. What do you see there?

In Cubase check Devices > ASIO > what is set as the ASIO driver there?

Best regards.
Surface Book 2 (i7 16GB), Steinberg UR28M, Yamaha KX 49, Steinberg CMC CH, PD, TP & QC, Cubase Pro 9, WaveLab 8.0.2, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4

------

Life is too short for realtime-bouncing..

vcharlene
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:49 am
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by vcharlene » Wed Aug 29, 2012 10:48 pm

Screen shot 2012-08-30 at 4.38.35 AM.png
(284.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Attachments
Screen shot 2012-08-30 at 4.39.33 AM.png
(251.55 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen shot 2012-08-30 at 4.38.58 AM.png
(290.66 KiB) Not downloaded yet

vcharlene
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:49 am
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by vcharlene » Wed Aug 29, 2012 10:51 pm

Here's some more screenshots
Attachments
Screen shot 2012-08-30 at 4.40.27 AM.png
(240.87 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen shot 2012-08-30 at 4.39.46 AM.png
(253.04 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen shot 2012-08-30 at 4.39.37 AM.png
(252.61 KiB) Not downloaded yet

vcharlene
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:49 am
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by vcharlene » Wed Aug 29, 2012 10:54 pm

More screenshots! hope you guys can help me after seeing all the screenshots! Thanks a lot :)
Attachments
Screen shot 2012-08-30 at 4.44.58 AM.png
here you can see now there's audio activity shown when I play the track
(221.96 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen shot 2012-08-30 at 4.43.12 AM.png
(349.43 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen shot 2012-08-30 at 4.41.25 AM.png
(277.55 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
KDEF2004
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by KDEF2004 » Wed Aug 29, 2012 11:00 pm

Could you try and use a different plugin other than the LM-7 :?: That's pretty old. Just saying.
Lenovo IdeaPad 330, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Beringer UMC404HD, Cubase 10.5, Wavelab 10.0.10, Specttralayers 6, Pro, Reason 11 Suite,HSO 1.5 VSTI'S & FX'S

https://www.instagram.com/djkdef/

vcharlene
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:49 am
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by vcharlene » Thu Aug 30, 2012 3:47 am

KDEF2004 wrote:Could you try and use a different plugin other than the LM-7 :?: That's pretty old. Just saying.
Do you have any recommendations? And the download link perhaps? Also, do you know where can I download asio driver for mac? Thanks

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 703
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by Weasel » Thu Aug 30, 2012 6:08 am

Don't worry about the LM-7. It works fine for this purpose. You don't need an ASIO driver. There could be a couple of things at play from your screenshots.

You have Cubase set up correct as far as the Device output and VST connections are concerned. The fact that Built-In Audio shows up confirms this. You may be making more problems for yourself by attempting to dig into Studio/Control Room in VST connections. For now, you don't need it. Turn it off. Cubase should be able to send audio directly to your Built-In Audio/Internal Speakers on its own. It's a Mac. It just works.

As No1DaBeats suggested earlier, Open up your Apple System Preference pane, choose Sound, click Output and make sure Internal Speakers are showing Built-In and the volume is UP. The fact that Built-In shows up in Cubase's Devices menu means it is already set in Apple's Audio MIDI Setup app. You can skip that.

For some reason, you have the track's Input Transformer on (see screenshot). There could be something at work here screwing things up. Turn it off.

You are using a Drum Map on your MIDI Track. Double click on the Track to open the Drum Editor. Hover the mouse over the division between the parameters and the drum note entries and "pull the curtain" to the right to reveal all the parameters and make sure all the drum Outputs are assigned to Track (Not Connected in the contextual pull down).

You might also try using a simple Instrument Track instead of of the VST Instrument Rack/MIDI Track combo as you are doing now. Just assign the the LM-7 to it and test.
screenshot_02.png
(655.1 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48gbRAM-OSX 10.12.6/C10.0.60 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

vcharlene
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:49 am
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by vcharlene » Thu Aug 30, 2012 6:44 am

Thanks a lot for your help. I did everything you suggested. Except for that last part, can you explain it a lil bit more? I'm a bit confused whether I have did it correctly or not. Anyway, it's still not working. I tried my Finale 2012 and the sound works fine.

No1DaBeats
Senior Member
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:22 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by No1DaBeats » Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:40 am

Hey.

Could you try to turn the controll room off?
Maybe it is not set up the right way which leads to no sound.
Surface Book 2 (i7 16GB), Steinberg UR28M, Yamaha KX 49, Steinberg CMC CH, PD, TP & QC, Cubase Pro 9, WaveLab 8.0.2, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4

------

Life is too short for realtime-bouncing..

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 22006
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:39 am

Why is there "Externally Clocked" checked, on this picture? Try to switch this off.

In the VST Connection > Studio tab (this picture), set your main output (Built-in Audio), as your Audio Device, and Built-in Audio 1 + Built-in Audio 2, as your Device Port. I'm sending screenshot of this. The reason is: this bus is used for Media Bay playback output, Import audio plaback, etc.

I don't know the LM7 well. Is this multi-timbral? Is it possible to use channel 10 for this? Try to switch the MIDI out to the MIDI Channel 1.

I believe, your screenashots helps a lot!
Attachments
Screen Shot 2012-08-30 at 9.36.38.png
(48.41 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

vcharlene
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:49 am
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by vcharlene » Fri Aug 31, 2012 12:57 am

Everytime i set the audio device and device port to built-in audio L and R, the outputs themselves automatically change to "not connected". I don't know what's wrong, is it my laptop or is it the setting of the cubase. Because I tried my Finale and the sound works just fine.

No1DaBeats
Senior Member
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:22 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by No1DaBeats » Fri Aug 31, 2012 10:24 am

But playing music via itunes works?
Surface Book 2 (i7 16GB), Steinberg UR28M, Yamaha KX 49, Steinberg CMC CH, PD, TP & QC, Cubase Pro 9, WaveLab 8.0.2, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4

------

Life is too short for realtime-bouncing..

vcharlene
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 4:49 am
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by vcharlene » Sat Sep 01, 2012 2:48 am

No1DaBeats wrote:But playing music via itunes works?
Yeah! I pretty much use my iTunes everyday.. Can anyone help me? :cry:

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 22006
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Sep 01, 2012 8:06 am

Are you runing Cubase only? Can you try to switch all your other applications off?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

No1DaBeats
Senior Member
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:22 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by No1DaBeats » Sat Sep 01, 2012 12:48 pm

vcharlene wrote:Everytime i set the audio device and device port to built-in audio L and R, the outputs themselves automatically change to "not connected". I don't know what's wrong, is it my laptop or is it the setting of the cubase. Because I tried my Finale and the sound works just fine.
Once again. Turn the controll room completely off please.. and try then. There is a blue button in the upper right when you are on the studio page of the VST connection. Click it so that it turns grey.

Best regards.
Surface Book 2 (i7 16GB), Steinberg UR28M, Yamaha KX 49, Steinberg CMC CH, PD, TP & QC, Cubase Pro 9, WaveLab 8.0.2, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4

------

Life is too short for realtime-bouncing..

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 22006
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound coming out

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Sep 01, 2012 2:11 pm

If you switch the Control Room Off, you have to change the setting of Outup. Set Main output in the Output tab of the VST Vonnection.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests