CubaseLE4 vs LE5

All about our Cubase LE and Cubase AI OEM bundle software.
Post Reply
emoseley
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 2:42 am
Contact:

CubaseLE4 vs LE5

Post by emoseley »

Hi There,
is there anywhere I can go to see a comparison chart between the CubaseLE4 and LE5 versions?
yerz trooly
Ellen
drop by an' have a listen:
Ellen Moseley@SongRamp

Dell Dimension 2350
75 gb HD, 1.0 mem.
Windows XP Professional
Pentium 4 (don't laugh!)
CubaseLE5
Alesis Multimix 8USB

User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
Posts: 1728
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: CubaseLE4 vs LE5

Post by Bane »

I don't think so. LE 5 is definitely the better, if for no other reason than a more polished GUI.

Probably what would vary are your core features like track allowances, included plug-ins, etc.

LE 5 vs. LE 6 would be a closer race, since alot of functionality was introduced with version 5. Of course, LE/AI 6 is very hard to find.
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud

emoseley
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 2:42 am
Contact:

Re: CubaseLE4 vs LE5

Post by emoseley »

Heck Bane, I had to look up what a GUI was! Does that tell ya anything about my expertise? I don't even really utilize the features that are available in LE4!
All I really know how to do at this point is lay down a vocal/guitar track (if I mess up, I click "un-do record" and start over, hopin' like heck that I can get through the whole song without messin' up again!) and then add additional tracks if I wanna add some harmonies, harmonica, banjo, etc.
I have had marginal success with punching in and out in the past....but sometimes there is a "blip" in that...so I usually just do it all over again.
Here's a question for ya: when I'm recording additional tracks and I have my headphones on to be able to hear the track that I'm adding to, the audio in the headphones is really loud. How do I control what I'm hearing through the headphones....I want to be able to hear what I'm playing to, but not be deafened by what I'm putting into the mic in the added track.
yerz trooly
Ellen
drop by an' have a listen:
Ellen Moseley@SongRamp

Dell Dimension 2350
75 gb HD, 1.0 mem.
Windows XP Professional
Pentium 4 (don't laugh!)
CubaseLE5
Alesis Multimix 8USB

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CubaseLE4 vs LE5

Post by Strophoid »

Try using very short crossfades on punches, that should sort the 'click' between segments. (Assuming LE has crossfades).
You can control the levels of individual tracks from the mixer (f3), and the total volume from the master fader. There are more elegant solutions based on your hardware though, but I don't know what you have ;)
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
Posts: 1728
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: CubaseLE4 vs LE5

Post by Bane »

emoseley wrote:All I really know how to do at this point is lay down a vocal/guitar track (if I mess up, I click "un-do record" and start over, hopin' like heck that I can get through the whole song without messin' up again!) and then add additional tracks if I wanna add some harmonies, harmonica, banjo, etc.
I have had marginal success with punching in and out in the past....but sometimes there is a "blip" in that...so I usually just do it all over again.
The best way to do this is use your cycle record to perform your piece over and over until you get some good takes. (Normally if it is a long piece, your fingers will fall off after about 3 cycles!) Then select all of your takes, Ctrl+Right Click, and choose Audio>Events to Part. Double click and the Audio Part Editor should appear. From there I use the mute tool to mute everything except one lane. I then go through and use the Split tool to take out serious mistakes that are unacceptable. When you finish with that take, mute it and repeat on the following takes. Try not to have more than 5 takes. Now you see your good stuff. Set your locators to cycle a few measures (Shift+G by default) and mute and unmute your each of your takes. This allows you to be picky and see which one is the best, so that you can assemble the perfect take. Once you finish, you should see different parts on different lanes, no huge spaces in between. Now, turn Snap on and select Grid Relative. Move all parts to the top lane. There will be a little adjusting to do, so let a tiny bit of the decay overlap on both parts and then press X, which will add a linear crossfade.

Cubase 6.5 has a more efficient system of dealing with multiple takes, but this is what I always do. I do hope your version has an audio part editor. :mrgreen:
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud

emoseley
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 2:42 am
Contact:

Re: CubaseLE4 vs LE5

Post by emoseley »

Oh my goodness! Y'all are gettin' way too technical for me, Strophoid and Bane. I'll print out your posts and see if I can make sense of 'em....not that they don't make sense, of course.....jus' that I'm like a dang old 45rpm and y'all are MP3s!
yerz trooly
Ellen
drop by an' have a listen:
Ellen Moseley@SongRamp

Dell Dimension 2350
75 gb HD, 1.0 mem.
Windows XP Professional
Pentium 4 (don't laugh!)
CubaseLE5
Alesis Multimix 8USB

User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
Posts: 1728
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: CubaseLE4 vs LE5

Post by Bane »

Ha! If you have any specific questions, please go ahead and ask. If you do this right, I know you will. :)
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud

emoseley
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 2:42 am
Contact:

Re: CubaseLE4 vs LE5

Post by emoseley »

Hey Bane! I noticed that all of y'all include the equipment that ya use in your signatures.....I know that yer gonna prolly laugh yer buttz off when ya see mine! :lol:
an' if ya could see my set up......complete with the stick of bamboo that I cut from tha yard that I attached to my mic stand (with one of those big rubberbands that come around fresh broccoli) so's I can clothespin my lyrics sheet to it (how a gal can forget the words to her own songs is a mystery!). :shock:
yerz trooly
Ellen
drop by an' have a listen:
Ellen Moseley@SongRamp

Dell Dimension 2350
75 gb HD, 1.0 mem.
Windows XP Professional
Pentium 4 (don't laugh!)
CubaseLE5
Alesis Multimix 8USB

User avatar
Mister A
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:56 pm
Contact:

Re: CubaseLE4 vs LE5

Post by Mister A »

emoseley wrote:(how a gal can forget the words to her own songs is a mystery!). :shock:
If it makes you feel any better, I can forget the lyrics to my own songs while I am reading them from the lyric sheet. :lol:
MY BASIC SETUP: 2012 iMac with macOS Sierra, 8GB RAM + Cubase Elements 9 + Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post Reply

Return to “Cubase LE and Cubase AI”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests