Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Sound_Temple_Studios
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 5:59 pm
Contact:

Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by Sound_Temple_Studios »

My HS demo expired a while ago and ever since I keep getting an error when opening both Cubase 6.05 and Cubase 5.53 that says "License error - No valid License found for Halion Sonic Factory Programs Preset 1, Preset 2. This error comes right at the end of the app load process. Cubase 6 dies work fine though after I click to close the error box. It's just a little irritation.

To try and get rid of this message I removed the HS App, I removed the plugins, removed a folder in the App Support (forgot the name) for HS. I also removed what I thought were the actual HS presets!

I also now get an different kind of error message when I try to use HS SE in a project. It's a very long error message that shows a ton of preset names and says theres an error for HS presets (not and error for HS Sonic presets). HS SE does load though if I cancel the error message but it loads slow.

I couldn't find an uninstall option off of the HS CD that came with Cubase 6.

Any suggestions?

THanks
Robert George
Sound Temple Studios
Asheville NC 28806
http://www.soundtemplestudios.com

MacPro 12 Core 3.46 ghz OSX 10.qw Cubase 10 Focusrite Rednet PCIeR Dante Sound Card

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by Elektrobolt »

Sound_Temple_Studios wrote:My HS demo expired a while ago and ever since I keep getting an error when opening both Cubase 6.05 and Cubase 5.53 that says "License error - No valid License found for Halion Sonic Factory Programs Preset 1, Preset 2. This error comes right at the end of the app load process. Cubase 6 dies work fine though after I click to close the error box. It's just a little irritation.

To try and get rid of this message I removed the HS App, I removed the plugins, removed a folder in the App Support (forgot the name) for HS. I also removed what I thought were the actual HS presets!

I also now get an different kind of error message when I try to use HS SE in a project. It's a very long error message that shows a ton of preset names and says theres an error for HS presets (not and error for HS Sonic presets). HS SE does load though if I cancel the error message but it loads slow.

I couldn't find an uninstall option off of the HS CD that came with Cubase 6.

Any suggestions?

THanks
I don't recall, but did the demo come with a demo license?

If so, maybe clean up the license off of the eLicenser?
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

Sound_Temple_Studios
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by Sound_Temple_Studios »

I looked on my licenser and there is no license whatsoever for Halion Sonic.

THanks
Robert George
Sound Temple Studios
Asheville NC 28806
http://www.soundtemplestudios.com

MacPro 12 Core 3.46 ghz OSX 10.qw Cubase 10 Focusrite Rednet PCIeR Dante Sound Card

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3496
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by jaslan »

Try uninstalling HS and the Content. It is seeing the content, which has no license.
HTH
J.L.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Sound_Temple_Studios
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by Sound_Temple_Studios »

Any chance you could tell me how to uninstall it? I've deleted every trace I could find? Is there an uninstall routine to be found?

Thanks very much
Robert George
Sound Temple Studios
Asheville NC 28806
http://www.soundtemplestudios.com

MacPro 12 Core 3.46 ghz OSX 10.qw Cubase 10 Focusrite Rednet PCIeR Dante Sound Card

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3496
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by jaslan »

Sorry. I am a Windows user and don't know Mac.
J.L.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Sound_Temple_Studios
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by Sound_Temple_Studios »

Bump
Robert George
Sound Temple Studios
Asheville NC 28806
http://www.soundtemplestudios.com

MacPro 12 Core 3.46 ghz OSX 10.qw Cubase 10 Focusrite Rednet PCIeR Dante Sound Card

Flenhah
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by Flenhah »

Hi, I'm also getting this error message. I get it when I open Cubase 6.5.1 and also whenever I open Halion Sonic (the full version) or Halion 4.
-Flen

Stiller
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 8:15 am
Contact:

Re: Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by Stiller »

Same here. The HALion 4 demo expired and I removed every bit of H4 I could find, still Cubase 6.0.6 displays the error message.
I'm Not Stiller

Sound_Temple_Studios
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by Sound_Temple_Studios »

Bump
Robert George
Sound Temple Studios
Asheville NC 28806
http://www.soundtemplestudios.com

MacPro 12 Core 3.46 ghz OSX 10.qw Cubase 10 Focusrite Rednet PCIeR Dante Sound Card

phly23
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 9:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by phly23 »

Same problem here....any resolve yet?
Thanks

Sound_Temple_Studios
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by Sound_Temple_Studios »

Come on Steinberg.....
Robert George
Sound Temple Studios
Asheville NC 28806
http://www.soundtemplestudios.com

MacPro 12 Core 3.46 ghz OSX 10.qw Cubase 10 Focusrite Rednet PCIeR Dante Sound Card

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3496
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by jaslan »

Technically, if you want an answer from Steinberg, you should contact Support.
HTH
J.L.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Sound_Temple_Studios
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by Sound_Temple_Studios »

Bump
Robert George
Sound Temple Studios
Asheville NC 28806
http://www.soundtemplestudios.com

MacPro 12 Core 3.46 ghz OSX 10.qw Cubase 10 Focusrite Rednet PCIeR Dante Sound Card

User avatar
ffg
Member
Posts: 643
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by ffg »

I would contact Tech support. This issue has come up many times in this forum (do a search...) and it's a pig to fix.

Steinberg have created a mess with the licensing of the HS demo (and HSO) and they should have a hand in sorting it out.
best wishes

David

I'm going to to let the situation mature...

Nuendo 10.3
Cubase 10.5
MacPro 3.3 6-core OSX 10.12
Macbook Pro OSX 10.14
RME Fireface 802
RME Fireface 800
Audient ID14

brainharvest
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 8:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message in Cubase 6after Halion Sonic Demo Expired

Post by brainharvest »

GO TO THIS LINK and look for the big headline in color:

https://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtop ... 26#p174026

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests