Cubase 10.5 Pro with USB over ethernet dongle

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
davidyoungs
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 12:24 pm
Contact:

Cubase 10.5 Pro with USB over ethernet dongle

Post by davidyoungs »

Hi all,

Looking for tech support here - I have Eltima's USB network gate installed (single device licence), running as server on Windows 10 machine, client on MacOS Sierra.

I use USB NG to get around the annoying need (for me, anyhow - not interested in debate on whether this is good or bad, just would like to remain focused on tech here) for Cubase to need my USB dongle (aka 'eLicencer' in Steinberg speak) to be physically connected to my Macbook to run the s/w.

Its been running fine on Cubase version 7.5 for a few years till now, the odd flaky start but generally OK - even when running over VPN (Zero Tier One) over the Internet. Which has been great, as I dont have to bring the USB dongle with me everywhere and risk losing/breaking it - I've just got plugged in to my always-on Windows server and make the logical USB-over-ether/inter-net connection fine.

This weekend I just upgraded to the latest version of Cubase (Cubase Pro 10.5) which has the same eLicencer requirement - same dongle being used, same two client/server machines, same USB over ethernet s/w - only diff being the new version of Cubase.

But now I cant get the Cubase 10.5 to 'see' the USB dongle, reports it as missing or bad port - its *trying* but it flakes out, usually resulting in a Force Quit of Cubase. With the dongle connected as Steinberg would like i.e. into the Mac USB poort, startup and run of 10.5 is fine - so my installation is good.

Checking on wireshark (I'm a network eng) there's no TCP problem or firewall etc - same LAN, and I can see the TCP stream is fine on the port in use (in my case TCP 17436 for my shared device).

Its possible that the new software is 'fussier' or runs more checks I guess, it looks like your USB NG s/w is doing its job OK - the Mac client shows as connected (green dot),and server shows the device shared OK.

Just wondered if you had any advice or whether others had written with same prob?

Any info greatly appreciated,

Best wishes
David

davidyoungs
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 12:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 Pro with USB over ethernet dongle

Post by davidyoungs »

Sorry - forgot one other bit in the post below.

If there's no way that this is going to continue to work using my USB-over-net frig, then is there *any* way in which I can get around using the doingle - e.g. add to soft e-licencer (in the EL control center app)? - I can see a soft EL which has no licences on it in the EL control center, my 10.5 Pro one is shown on the USB EL.

Just seems clunky - at least for my use case - to depend on the dongle after all these years. Reason works just a-OK with soft licence for example...

Cheers
David

User avatar
Benutzername
Junior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 Pro with USB over ethernet dongle

Post by Benutzername »

Cubase/Nuendo started to check for virtual USB ports a few versions ago and refuse to start in this case. So you're out of luck.

KHS
Member
Posts: 709
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 Pro with USB over ethernet dongle

Post by KHS »

Artist and Pro cannot run from soft licenser but requires the USB dongle.
Cubase Pro 10.0.60 - Audient ID22 - Adam A7X - Adam Sub 7 - Windows 10 Latest build - I7-7700K@4,5GHz - Gigabyte GTX1070 Xtreme Gaming - 16GB RAM - Gigabyte Gaming 5 Z270 mobo - Corsair MP510 960 GB - Corsair MP510 1920 GB - Samsung 840 EVO 240 GB - Crucial MX300 525 GB.

davidyoungs
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 12:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 Pro with USB over ethernet dongle

Post by davidyoungs »

Hi folks,

Thanks ever so much for the swift replies - looks pretty much like you're confirming my suspicions on both fronts - namely that (a) the latest revs of Cubase are pickier / able to detect virtual ports and (b) the licence must live on the physical dongle as opposed to the software licencer.

*Sigh* - it was all working so elegantly too, even over Internet VPN. I did also try Virtualhere again which I'd messed with before, but that isnt reliably setting up a share of the device between the Win server and the MacOS client on the machine with Cubase on.

I did log a support ticket with Eltima who make USB Network Gate, and if I get anything useful back I'll post it. But their s/w seems to be doing its job just as it should, it's just Cubase seemingly not playing nice.

If anyone else has any bright ideas or experience please feel free to add to this thread. Cheers again for the help so far guys, appreciate it.

David

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: delta and 2 guests