I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post general topics related to Nuendo 10 here.
User avatar
Ted Perlman
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:34 am
Location: Los Angeles, California USA
Contact:

I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Ted Perlman »

I’ve tried to make this version work for almost a month now. I got past the “doesn’t work with Dark mode”, etc. stuff but the spikes have done it for me. I’ve worked on one mix all day and those spikes keep stopping me. I’ve done everything I can. The CPU starts out where it should be in a mix, around 50%. But it just ramps up whenever it wants and bam! Playback stops. The meters flash and I can’t play or do anything. I’ve done everything I know to do - latency up, latency down. Suspend VST’s off, suspend VST’s on. Audio priority, buffer settings, etc. I went back to Nuendo 10.2.20 and I finished my mix. These are the same, exact same issues I had with Cubase 10.5. Cubase 10 was fine, 10.5 was a nightmare. Including not working with Dark mode on a Mac. And spikes, spikes, and more spikes.

Maybe Nuendo 11 will fix some of these issues.
Last edited by Ted Perlman on Sat Jul 18, 2020 8:04 am, edited 2 times in total.
Regards,

Ted "Theo" Perlman
Producer-Guitarist-Arranger-Theologian
Nuendo 10.3 / Cubase 11.0 / Wavelab 10
Macbook Pro i7 2017 Quadcore 2.7 16gb ram, OSX Catalina 10.15.7
misterperlman@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/ted.perlman

drakuhluh
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 7:44 pm
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by drakuhluh »

Yep. osx 10.14 here- the performance spikes make Nuendo 10.3 a non-starter. Steinberg- can you help?

Dolfo
Member
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Dolfo »

Back to 10.2 here too.
Meters move smoothly in 10.3 than 10.2, but it's all. Edit events is much harder because the edit window turns unresponsiveness.
Waiting a fix for it.
MacPro 12 cores 3,06GHz 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6
Nuendo 10 (4 rooms) / Cubase Pro 10
Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Yamaha DM2000 V2 / Yamaha 01V96 V2 / Houston
MOTU 896HD mk3 / MOTU Traveler / MOTU 8Pre / MIDI Express 128 / MOTU MTPII

User avatar
Big K
Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Big K »

No problems of this sort here.
Seems to hit only very few users. Is it a Mac-thing?
Did an obscene load test, lately, rather to check the performance of the PC than Nuendo,
and it held up to track counts and FX-instances I just pray never being forced to need.
My PC is not the latest model, either, but still runs smoothly....
Hope you find a solution.

Servus, Big K
Nuendo 10, WaveLab 9.5, RME, UAD, PoCo, Win10/64 bit, PC i7 3930K, 16GB RAM, Intensity Pro, Melodyne 5, Spectrasonics, VSL, All Brainworx & Plugin Alliance, Genelec 1031 for 5.1, Quested HQ 210, NS10s, sevaW lla, LAWO, Neumanns, Brauners, Sennheisers, Schoeps, Sony DASH3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware, professionally build and designed studio acoustics. SB-User since Cubase 2.0, Nuendo 1.5, WaveLab 1.5 ...

drakuhluh
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 7:44 pm
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by drakuhluh »

Good to know @Big K. I posted this shortly after installing 10.3 but the screencap is a pretty light project with 10.2 on the left, 10.3 on the right. Same project, same computer, same everything- 10.3 is the only variable:
Screen Shot 2020-07-18 at 8.50.10 AM.png
10_2_VS_10_3
(127.09 KiB) Not downloaded yet
original thread-- viewtopic.php?t=191555

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2705
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Fredo »

Have you checked "suspend VSt3 plugins ...." and ASIO Guard?
Some users have reported that the update came with these flagged; when used inproperly, that might cause the problem.

Fredo

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 708
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Getalife2 »

Looks like an OSX thing. N10.3 runs great here on Win 7. No difference to N10.2 on CPU usage or GUI responsiveness.


Edit: Ooh this is my post number 666. Better do another one real quick.
N10.3 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4 GHz Win 7 Pro 64bit - RME MADI FX - 3X UAD-2 Quad

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 708
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Getalife2 »

Ahh, that's better.
N10.3 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4 GHz Win 7 Pro 64bit - RME MADI FX - 3X UAD-2 Quad

Dolfo
Member
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Dolfo »

Fredo wrote:
Sat Jul 18, 2020 3:46 pm
Have you checked "suspend VSt3 plugins ...." and ASIO Guard?
Some users have reported that the update came with these flagged; when used inproperly, that might cause the problem.

Fredo
I checked the suspend VST3 feature and was right. I’ll try with ASIO guard. What should be the recommendation Fredo?
MacPro 12 cores 3,06GHz 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6
Nuendo 10 (4 rooms) / Cubase Pro 10
Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Yamaha DM2000 V2 / Yamaha 01V96 V2 / Houston
MOTU 896HD mk3 / MOTU Traveler / MOTU 8Pre / MIDI Express 128 / MOTU MTPII

nkf
Member
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by nkf »

Fredo wrote:
Sat Jul 18, 2020 3:46 pm
when used inproperly, that might cause the problem.
How can this be "improperly" used? This is an on/off setting - no chance to adapt anything.

User avatar
Ted Perlman
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:34 am
Location: Los Angeles, California USA
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Ted Perlman »

Dolfo wrote:
Sat Jul 18, 2020 8:02 am
Back to 10.2 here too....Edit events is much harder
True true. The annoying delays I was getting when editing audio event volumes with the scroll wheel do not happen in 10.2

Also, I think we need an option to separate the volume from the fades when using the mouse scroll wheel. I keep scrolling to adjust the volume but half the time I end up adding a fade out or in, which I most definitely did not want to do.
Regards,

Ted "Theo" Perlman
Producer-Guitarist-Arranger-Theologian
Nuendo 10.3 / Cubase 11.0 / Wavelab 10
Macbook Pro i7 2017 Quadcore 2.7 16gb ram, OSX Catalina 10.15.7
misterperlman@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/ted.perlman

User avatar
Ted Perlman
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:34 am
Location: Los Angeles, California USA
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Ted Perlman »

Getalife2 wrote:
Sat Jul 18, 2020 3:54 pm
Ahh, that's better.
Hahaha! I have definitely considered the works of the Adversary when trying to stop those CPU spikes. Perhaps the Lord of Hosts was allowing Satan to mess with me ala the Book of Job to see if I'd renounce Steinberg? Haha! I would not. Never. To counter the evilness, I simply have to find a previous 'unimproved' version that lacks the "improvements" that, to me, are hardly that.
Regards,

Ted "Theo" Perlman
Producer-Guitarist-Arranger-Theologian
Nuendo 10.3 / Cubase 11.0 / Wavelab 10
Macbook Pro i7 2017 Quadcore 2.7 16gb ram, OSX Catalina 10.15.7
misterperlman@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/ted.perlman

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2705
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Fredo »

nkf wrote:
Sat Jul 18, 2020 9:14 pm


How can this be "improperly" used? This is an on/off setting - no chance to adapt anything.
On some systems, there is a benefit, on other systems, there is a disadvantage.
Also depends on which plugins youa re using and how many VSTi's you have in your system; latency, etc ...

Fredo

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 858
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

For what it's worth, 10.3 is running seamlessly on my Mac systems-- High Sierra on this laptop, and Mojave on my 5,1 12 core at home. Significantly more reliable than the last couple of versions-- hangs leading to crashes were a problem for me, and they've pretty much disappeared here. Don't know how or why, and this is purely anecdotal, but it is my experience.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

nkf
Member
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by nkf »

Fredo wrote:
Sun Jul 19, 2020 5:26 pm
On some systems, there is a benefit, on other systems, there is a disadvantage.
Also depends on which plugins you are using and how many VSTi's you have in your system; latency, etc ...
How should somebody know all this? Many, like I do, use hundreds of different plug ins over time and even the main plug ins change for different project styles (stereo production, VR production, etc.) We cannot do research to find out when, what is properly or improperly used. If this would be such a weak function I doubt Steinberg would have implemented it.

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2705
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Fredo »

nkf wrote:
Mon Jul 20, 2020 3:51 am


How should somebody know all this?
Reading the manual might be a good start.

Fredo

foobeats
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:47 pm
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by foobeats »

Getalife2 wrote:
Sat Jul 18, 2020 3:52 pm
Looks like an OSX thing. N10.3 runs great here on Win 7. No difference to N10.2 on CPU usage or GUI responsiveness.


Edit: Ooh this is my post number 666. Better do another one real quick.
Ahahahhahaahhah
Best reply ever...

nkf
Member
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by nkf »

Fredo wrote:
Mon Jul 20, 2020 7:36 am
nkf wrote:
Mon Jul 20, 2020 3:51 am


How should somebody know all this?
Reading the manual might be a good start.
You succeeded in presenting your character quite nicely.
Of course, you knew what I meant, the unpredictable combination of plug ins and workflows, all not covered in any manual.
Next time, you can spare your destructive comment.

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 708
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Getalife2 »

nkf wrote:
Mon Jul 20, 2020 3:03 pm
Fredo wrote:
Mon Jul 20, 2020 7:36 am
nkf wrote:
Mon Jul 20, 2020 3:51 am


How should somebody know all this?
Reading the manual might be a good start.
You succeeded in presenting your character quite nicely.
Of course, you knew what I meant, the unpredictable combination of plug ins and workflows, all not covered in any manual.
Next time, you can spare your destructive comment.
I think that depends. Have you thoroughly read the manual regarding all aspects of Asio-guard, VST3 Suspend, Multicore CPU, Power Scheme, etc?

If so I would simply say so and that it was not helpful. If not, maybe Fredo has a point? Another thought would be to ask where he learned about this subject. Maybe you could too.

I'm not trying to be offensive here, just logical.
N10.3 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4 GHz Win 7 Pro 64bit - RME MADI FX - 3X UAD-2 Quad

nkf
Member
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by nkf »

Getalife2 wrote:
Mon Jul 20, 2020 3:17 pm

I think that depends. Have you thoroughly read the manual regarding all aspects of Asio-guard, VST3 Suspend, Multicore CPU, Power Scheme, etc?

If so I would simply say so and that it was not helpful. If not, maybe Fredo has a point? Another thought would be to ask where he learned about this subject. Maybe you could too.

I'm not trying to be offensive here, just logical.
Are you kidding me? The Nuendo manual is not the Kabbalah. I just had a look again - this is the sentence about VST3 suspend:
"Suspends VST plug-in processing in passages where no audio is passing through the plug-in. This can improve system performance noticeably."
Maybe you have a look into the manual one day, then you would know there is nothing explained in detail between the topics you mentioned. There is nothing discussed about a correlation of ASIO-Guard with VST3 Suspend, etc.
I work with Nuendo since 20 years or something - your remark is not even entertaining. "Power Scheme" ... haha, give me a break.

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2705
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Fredo »

Come on guys, you can put one and one together, no?
Are you using a lot of vst3 plugins with low latency, yes or no?
A lot of VST2 plugins?
So only this information can give you a clue if vst3 suspend is applicable for you or not.
And best of all, just try the different settings.


Same for ASIO guard.
The description in the manual should give you enough clues if you need it or not.

ASIO-Guard
The ASIO-Guard allows you to shift as much processing as possible from the ASIO real time path to the ASIO-Guard processing path. This results in a more stable system.

The ASIO-Guard allows you to preprocess all channels as well as VST instruments that do not need to be calculated in real time. This leads to fewer dropouts, the ability to process more tracks or plug-ins, and the ability to use smaller buffer sizes.

ASIO-Guard Latency
High ASIO-Guard levels lead to an increased ASIO-Guard latency. When you adjust a volume fader, for example, you will hear the parameter changes with a slight delay. The ASIO-Guard latency, in contrast to the latency of the audio hardware, is independent from live input.

Restrictions
The ASIO-Guard cannot be used for:

Real time-dependent signals

External effects and instruments


Same thing: test and tweak to your linkings.
I have machines where activating ASIO guard gives me better performance, I have machines that suffer from it.


And to conclude:
I suggested to check if those settings were not changed during the upgrade.
The proper answer would be: Yes, or no.
On that basis we can try to identify the problem.

HTH
Fredo

User avatar
Ted Perlman
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:34 am
Location: Los Angeles, California USA
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Ted Perlman »

Fredo wrote:
Mon Jul 20, 2020 5:41 pm
Come on guys, you can put one and one together,
I put one and one together but that still doesn't explain all the CPU spikes that started with Nuendo 10.3, same as it started with Cubase 10.5.

Nothing in your post explains or offers a solution. And like one poster above stated so eloquently, the manual is not the Kabbalah, a book on Jewish mysticism.
Regards,

Ted "Theo" Perlman
Producer-Guitarist-Arranger-Theologian
Nuendo 10.3 / Cubase 11.0 / Wavelab 10
Macbook Pro i7 2017 Quadcore 2.7 16gb ram, OSX Catalina 10.15.7
misterperlman@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/ted.perlman

drakuhluh
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 7:44 pm
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by drakuhluh »

Folks on OSX having problems- what interface are you using?
Folks on OSx having still producing content instead of troubleshooting- what interface are you using?
I'm using a Focusrite Red4Pre- Problems with 10.3

JDSStudios
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by JDSStudios »

Ted Perlman wrote:
Sat Jul 18, 2020 1:32 am
I’ve tried to make this version work for almost a month now. I got past the “doesn’t work with Dark mode”, etc. stuff but the spikes have done it for me. ....
....... And spikes, spikes, and more spikes.
Ted, if spikes are the main issue to make you quit N10.3, have you tried toggling on and off the Delay Compensation button?

I do that as part of my work flow, because not only spikes get worse as the project grows,
but my CPU measurement starts getting higher too.

So what I do is turn off Delay Compensation - spikes go back to zero, then
after 5 seconds or so turn it back on. It usually calms spikes for a while.
I do that specially before exporting.
Intel i9 10900k, Nuendo 10.3, Halion 3, Groove Agent, RME 96/52 HDSP 52 Channels ADAT, Yamaha O2R 24 channel 48 input, Yamaha O1V, Steinberg MIDEX 8, Yamaha Motif Rack, UAD-1 with jBridge, Waves Horizon, SSL, X-feedback, Abbey Road, Melodyne 4.

User avatar
Ted Perlman
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:34 am
Location: Los Angeles, California USA
Contact:

Re: I’m Done with Nuendo 10.3

Post by Ted Perlman »

JDSStudios wrote:
Tue Jul 21, 2020 2:35 am
...because not only spikes get worse as the project grows, but my CPU measurement starts getting higher too....So what I do is turn off Delay Compensation - spikes go back to zero, then after 5 seconds or so turn it back on. It usually calms spikes...
Exactly!! Worse as the project grows!!

I’ll try your suggestion. Thanks for trying to help. Sometimes I feel like John the Baptist here - a voice crying out in the wilderness. Ha.
Regards,

Ted "Theo" Perlman
Producer-Guitarist-Arranger-Theologian
Nuendo 10.3 / Cubase 11.0 / Wavelab 10
Macbook Pro i7 2017 Quadcore 2.7 16gb ram, OSX Catalina 10.15.7
misterperlman@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/ted.perlman

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gledhilldaniel and 6 guests