Computer Backup

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
spyder
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Computer Backup

Post by spyder »

What's the best way to totally back up my Windows computer?

I also have a Macbook and the facility there to totally backup is the excellent Time Machne.

Is there a Windows equivalent?
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.5 Wavelab Elements 10.0.10, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5480
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by svennilenni »

https://www.macrium.com/reflectfree
For example as a free alternative.

CWS
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by CWS »

I have been using the built in Windows system image for years. Go to control panel then backup and restore. You would want to be sure and back up to a different drive than your operating system drive.

Image.jpg
(106.04 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Windows 10 Professional 64 bit-Cubase 11 Pro-Intel Core i9-9900K-32 GB Ram-ASRock Z370 Gaming K6 MB-USB 3.0/-3.1-Firewire-AMD Radeon RX 560-Presonus FireStudio/Studio 68C/Presonus Studio Live AR16C-(4) Samsung M.2 SSD 1 TB

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by MattiasNYC »

CWS,

I've not used that Windows function so I have to ask: Does it create a true disk image that can be used to restore a drive from scratch or does it create an "image" of data and apps but not OS?

With Macrium Reflect the "image" becomes what can be used to create an identical clone of the system drive.
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

ca-booter
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by ca-booter »

I also use the Windows backup systemcopy, works supergreat and I trust it 100% because I have made systemcopies with it since W7, and restored many many times my C drive with it. Takes about 20 minutes to restore my PC.
It makes a image of the whole C drive, OS included offcourse and you can restore it using the W10 recovery disc you once have once to make.
It truly is very easy and 100%safe.
And very quick also.
I wrote about this feature lots of times becasue I still do not understand why clearly so few people do make C-backups :D where it is so simple and takes so little time.
PC ASUS i7-2600 3,4Ghz |Win10-Pro 20H2 SSD | 16Gb DDR3 | ASUS R5230 graphics | Cubase Pro 11, user since Atari | Wavelab 10 EL | Absolute 3 | TT-SuperiorDrummer3 | TT-EZ Bass | Yamaha N12 FW | Steinberg UR816C+Behringer ADA8200 | Behringer X-Touch One | M-Audio Axiom-61 | Fishman TriplePlay | Lexicon MX200, Strymon Volante, Art Pro VLA II, Art Pro Channel II and Klark Teknik: KT-2A, 1176-KT, 2* EQP-KT

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by MattiasNYC »

But then you also need for example a USB drive to work as the "recovery disk" or? I mean, how does it work practically speaking when you need to restore an entire system drive and not just the OS...?
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

spyder
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by spyder »

I have a c System Drive, but also an audio drive and a sample drive. Do I have to conduct 3 separate backups? However, the real issue for me is to create a system image of the OS and all the supplemental programs (Kontakt, Omnisphere, Ozone etc) all of which reside on the C Drive.
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.5 Wavelab Elements 10.0.10, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by MattiasNYC »

spyder wrote:
Wed Jun 10, 2020 3:55 pm
I have a c System Drive, but also an audio drive and a sample drive. Do I have to conduct 3 separate backups?
Typically yes. But you can have software like Reflect set to back up different drives (or files/folders) independently but according to a schedule for example. So if you have a backup drive you can have those three drives back up to independent backup "sets" - one "set" per drive. And that can be automatic and scheduled.
spyder wrote:
Wed Jun 10, 2020 3:55 pm
However, the real issue for me is to create a system image of the OS and all the supplemental programs (Kontakt, Omnisphere, Ozone etc) all of which reside on the C Drive.
Macrium Reflect allows you to do that. And I guess Windows as well (?).
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

ca-booter
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by ca-booter »

spyder wrote:
Wed Jun 10, 2020 3:55 pm
I have a c System Drive, but also an audio drive and a sample drive. Do I have to conduct 3 separate backups? However, the real issue for me is to create a system image of the OS and all the supplemental programs (Kontakt, Omnisphere, Ozone etc) all of which reside on the C Drive.
What you say : the main backup is the C drive with all the programsoftware on it and the OS.
The Systemcopy in W10 makes ONE imagefile of your entirely C-drive.
All other Data like VST sounds, Audio projects, Office-Data etc. I put on other internal HDD's, and those Drives I backup manually on external USB drives.
Before W7 you had to use third party backup sopftware, but since W7 it has its own great backup function.
IN W10 it is still calleed "W7 backup" .
Last edited by ca-booter on Wed Jun 10, 2020 5:31 pm, edited 4 times in total.
PC ASUS i7-2600 3,4Ghz |Win10-Pro 20H2 SSD | 16Gb DDR3 | ASUS R5230 graphics | Cubase Pro 11, user since Atari | Wavelab 10 EL | Absolute 3 | TT-SuperiorDrummer3 | TT-EZ Bass | Yamaha N12 FW | Steinberg UR816C+Behringer ADA8200 | Behringer X-Touch One | M-Audio Axiom-61 | Fishman TriplePlay | Lexicon MX200, Strymon Volante, Art Pro VLA II, Art Pro Channel II and Klark Teknik: KT-2A, 1176-KT, 2* EQP-KT

ca-booter
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by ca-booter »

MattiasNYC wrote:
Wed Jun 10, 2020 3:26 pm
But then you also need for example a USB drive to work as the "recovery disk" or? I mean, how does it work practically speaking when you need to restore an entire system drive and not just the OS...?

In the menu of the backup/systemcopy in W10, there is a function to burn a CD/DVD which automaticly puts a small W10 on it, so you can Boot with this. Then this W10 version opens and you can select to make a systemrecovery and point it to the place on a drive where you made the Systemcopy.
SO always first make this Disc, then perform a systemcopy.
WHen you want to test if this works and you have an empty SSD/HDD lying around, then put this one briefly in your PC and perform the recovery.
It wil put your first Cdrive on the new one (offcourse that drive has to have minimal the same storingcapacity).
PC ASUS i7-2600 3,4Ghz |Win10-Pro 20H2 SSD | 16Gb DDR3 | ASUS R5230 graphics | Cubase Pro 11, user since Atari | Wavelab 10 EL | Absolute 3 | TT-SuperiorDrummer3 | TT-EZ Bass | Yamaha N12 FW | Steinberg UR816C+Behringer ADA8200 | Behringer X-Touch One | M-Audio Axiom-61 | Fishman TriplePlay | Lexicon MX200, Strymon Volante, Art Pro VLA II, Art Pro Channel II and Klark Teknik: KT-2A, 1176-KT, 2* EQP-KT

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by MattiasNYC »

So if I get this right:

1) create recovery media (optical or USB)
2) image whole system (C) drive to other media (backup disk)

To restore;

3) boot from recovery media
4) point to the drive in #2 above
5) point to new target drive and rebuild original there.

Correct?
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

CWS
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by CWS »

Or you can go to settings-update and security then to recovery then under advanced startup click on restart now. That will take you to a menu where you can recover from a system image that has been stored on a different drive.

System Image.jpg
(194.68 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Windows 10 Professional 64 bit-Cubase 11 Pro-Intel Core i9-9900K-32 GB Ram-ASRock Z370 Gaming K6 MB-USB 3.0/-3.1-Firewire-AMD Radeon RX 560-Presonus FireStudio/Studio 68C/Presonus Studio Live AR16C-(4) Samsung M.2 SSD 1 TB

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by MattiasNYC »

Ok, but were the steps I outlined correc?
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

CWS
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by CWS »

Basically Yes. The way I described does not require booting from recovery disk. Keep in mind the system image will be the entire system drive. In my case C Drive.My C drive is over 400 GB. So the only practical way is to have a large backup drive. I use a 1 TB M.2 NVME SSD Drive for System (C) and a 1TB M.2 NVME SSD for image to be stored on. I typically do a system image once a week or if any major update is installed.
Windows 10 Professional 64 bit-Cubase 11 Pro-Intel Core i9-9900K-32 GB Ram-ASRock Z370 Gaming K6 MB-USB 3.0/-3.1-Firewire-AMD Radeon RX 560-Presonus FireStudio/Studio 68C/Presonus Studio Live AR16C-(4) Samsung M.2 SSD 1 TB

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by MattiasNYC »

CWS wrote:
Wed Jun 10, 2020 6:40 pm
Basically Yes. The way I described does not require booting from recovery disk.
So you boot from the disk that will become the new system disk?
CWS wrote:
Wed Jun 10, 2020 6:40 pm
Keep in mind the system image will be the entire system drive.
Of course.
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

ca-booter
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by ca-booter »

My advice is tp keep your c drive as small as possible.
That way making backups saves a lot of time and so is the restoring offcourse.
I do not know what you guys have on the c to come up with 400 gb's
Mine has about 125 gb total of storage on C, and believe me i have a lot of software going on there, because i use my PC not only for studiowork.
But f.e. Cubase's vst sounds, arturia vsti's etc. are all moved to a different drive.
PC ASUS i7-2600 3,4Ghz |Win10-Pro 20H2 SSD | 16Gb DDR3 | ASUS R5230 graphics | Cubase Pro 11, user since Atari | Wavelab 10 EL | Absolute 3 | TT-SuperiorDrummer3 | TT-EZ Bass | Yamaha N12 FW | Steinberg UR816C+Behringer ADA8200 | Behringer X-Touch One | M-Audio Axiom-61 | Fishman TriplePlay | Lexicon MX200, Strymon Volante, Art Pro VLA II, Art Pro Channel II and Klark Teknik: KT-2A, 1176-KT, 2* EQP-KT

ca-booter
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by ca-booter »

MattiasNYC wrote:
Wed Jun 10, 2020 6:25 pm
Ok, but were the steps I outlined correc?
Yes they are. But indeed you can restore your c drive from within the backup menu.
To do it with the cd/dvd is in case your drive is broken or windows crashed
But i always use the restore CD, just being used to that
PC ASUS i7-2600 3,4Ghz |Win10-Pro 20H2 SSD | 16Gb DDR3 | ASUS R5230 graphics | Cubase Pro 11, user since Atari | Wavelab 10 EL | Absolute 3 | TT-SuperiorDrummer3 | TT-EZ Bass | Yamaha N12 FW | Steinberg UR816C+Behringer ADA8200 | Behringer X-Touch One | M-Audio Axiom-61 | Fishman TriplePlay | Lexicon MX200, Strymon Volante, Art Pro VLA II, Art Pro Channel II and Klark Teknik: KT-2A, 1176-KT, 2* EQP-KT

spyder
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by spyder »

Sorry if I am being dumb, but can I use the Windows Backup to back up a C drive system image by burning the image on a CD/DVD? (Rather than savng to a separate hard drive).
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.5 Wavelab Elements 10.0.10, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

ca-booter
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by ca-booter »

No, windows10 alone is about 30Gb, so the whole C drive with programs on it and windows included is very large, and only fits on a harddrive or large usb stick
PC ASUS i7-2600 3,4Ghz |Win10-Pro 20H2 SSD | 16Gb DDR3 | ASUS R5230 graphics | Cubase Pro 11, user since Atari | Wavelab 10 EL | Absolute 3 | TT-SuperiorDrummer3 | TT-EZ Bass | Yamaha N12 FW | Steinberg UR816C+Behringer ADA8200 | Behringer X-Touch One | M-Audio Axiom-61 | Fishman TriplePlay | Lexicon MX200, Strymon Volante, Art Pro VLA II, Art Pro Channel II and Klark Teknik: KT-2A, 1176-KT, 2* EQP-KT

spyder
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by spyder »

ca-booter wrote:
Mon Jun 15, 2020 11:12 am
No, windows10 alone is about 30Gb, so the whole C drive with programs on it and windows included is very large, and only fits on a harddrive or large usb stick

OK thanks. So the next question is that I have a backup hard drive (USB linked separately) which backs up all my projects and has a spare !50Gb or so. Can I put a separate folder or somesuch on it to back up the C drive image?
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.5 Wavelab Elements 10.0.10, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

ca-booter
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by ca-booter »

If your c drive software is less than 50 gb...
PC ASUS i7-2600 3,4Ghz |Win10-Pro 20H2 SSD | 16Gb DDR3 | ASUS R5230 graphics | Cubase Pro 11, user since Atari | Wavelab 10 EL | Absolute 3 | TT-SuperiorDrummer3 | TT-EZ Bass | Yamaha N12 FW | Steinberg UR816C+Behringer ADA8200 | Behringer X-Touch One | M-Audio Axiom-61 | Fishman TriplePlay | Lexicon MX200, Strymon Volante, Art Pro VLA II, Art Pro Channel II and Klark Teknik: KT-2A, 1176-KT, 2* EQP-KT

spyder
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by spyder »

Ah OK, makes sense.
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.5 Wavelab Elements 10.0.10, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

spyder
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by spyder »

My C drive is 85Gb and I had an idea to use a 128Gb USB stick to store the system image. However, even though I have formatted it to NFTS, Windows tells me "The drive is not a valid backup location". Anyone know why?
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.5 Wavelab Elements 10.0.10, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by MattiasNYC »

If you just want to clone your system drive you can use the free version of Macrium Reflect. I'm pretty sure you can create an image from it. Of course the way that works is that if you have a problem you need to read off of that disk and write onto a new, clean drive to restore the system. But that's at least one way of doing it.
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

spyder
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Computer Backup

Post by spyder »

Thanks. I have a rule of not loading more software than necessary on my music computer and as Windows has the backup facility I thought it sensible to use it. However, I still don't understand why it does not like a USB stick as opposed to a separate hard drive.
Win 10 64 bit, Cubase 10.5 Wavelab Elements 10.0.10, CC121, RME FF800, Kontakt 5, Omnisphere 2, EWSO, SupDr2, CH, Pianoteq, 8dio, Ozone, Ethera

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest