eLicenser Control Error

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Grexio9
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 9:11 pm
Contact:

eLicenser Control Error

Post by Grexio9 »

I've just installed Dorico on a new PC with a new Windows 10 system, but I can't start Dorico (stops immediately) and when IO try to run the eLicenser I get this error:

eLicenser Control Error

Apllication "LCC2" has caused the following error:

2020-05-20T19:17:28.822

DCOM connection to program 'Synsopos.exe' failed.
No such interface supported (0x80004002)

Any help much appreciated!

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 19023
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

Try the solution posted here. I can't vouch for this personally as I don't use Windows, but I believe it does solve the problem.

Grexio9
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 9:11 pm
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by Grexio9 »

Thank you that worked!

But now I'm not quite shure what to do: When I try to start Dorico 3.5 the following happens:

"No license was found. Click the activation code..."

(see attached pictures)

- since I am migrating from my old pc to a new one, do I need to reactivate my license or is the problem that the usb dongle isn't being recognized?
Attachments
4.JPG
(41.95 KiB) Not downloaded yet
3.JPG
(33.12 KiB) Not downloaded yet
2.jpg
(25.24 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2698
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by Ulf »

If you have your Dorico license on the USB dongle, then yes, looks like the problem is that the dongle is not recognized. Have you tried plugging it into another port?
Another remark, the screenshot "3.jpg" shows only a Dorico Pro 3 license, but for 3.5 you need to buy an upgrade, you are aware of this?
Steinberg employee

Grexio9
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 9:11 pm
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by Grexio9 »

Thanks!

I hadn't noticed it was a paid upgrade yet, but after having now bought the 3.5 upgrade and put in the new activation code in the e-licenser, I still get errors (see attached pict).

I've tried switching usb ports with the dongle. The donlge lights up red fine but when I go into the device manager there seems to be a warning triangle on the e-licenser driver?
Attachments
02.JPG
(43.35 KiB) Not downloaded yet
01.JPG
(48.13 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 19023
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

That's the first problem you've got to solve, then: have you tried every available USB port on your computer? Have you tried rebooting your system (unlikely to help, but worth a try)?

Grexio9
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 9:11 pm
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by Grexio9 »

Thanks, but sadly no, that didn't help.

I've tried to reboot and in all 8 usb ports but the device manager immediately displays the yellow error triangle.

What can be done?

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 19023
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

I'll send you a time-limited license that you can use on the Soft-eLicenser to get you up and running, but I suggest you contact support by raising a ticket to see whether they have any further suggestions, or whether they recommend that you replace your USB-eLicenser.

Grexio9
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 9:11 pm
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by Grexio9 »

Thank you

helgetjelta
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by helgetjelta »

Here on Catalina it was a nightmare to get it to run, for some times, now I'm back at this problem again.

Here is a normal start text:



eLicenser Control - Error

Application 'Dorico Pro 3.5' has caused the
following error:

Failed to send GetInfo command


Options:
- Click <Ok> to abort.


I have deleted prefs, audio engine prefs, reinstalled both program and elicenser etc... Tried other USB ports...

the problem come and goes away, randomly.

I had to restart, install - de install at least 20 times before I got it running.
Nuendo 10, and Cubase runs nicely on the same setup/machine...


What is going on with the elicenser?

Where can I send crash reports ? I have applied for betatesting, maybe I can send crash-reports there ?

please fix this elicenser problem, as of now it is just a lottery if it starts or not...
Last edited by helgetjelta on Thu May 21, 2020 12:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
_________________
Nuendo 8+ | OS 10.14.2 | MacPro 2008 | 15" MBP Retina 2016 TB | 26GB-RAM - 30" AppleDisplay
MOTU 8M | WK-audio ID controller | Mac Dev

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 19023
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

helhetjelta, please make sure you're running the latest version of eLCC available from the eLicenser web site. You are experiencing some of the USB communication problems that the eLicenser team are working on a solution for at the moment. I'm sorry for the inconvenience.

helgetjelta
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by helgetjelta »

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Thu May 21, 2020 12:00 pm
helhetjelta, please make sure you're running the latest version of eLCC available from the eLicenser web site. You are experiencing some of the USB communication problems that the eLicenser team are working on a solution for at the moment. I'm sorry for the inconvenience.
I can assure you that I have the latest version installed. :)

Event de-installed before installing again, and restarts.
_________________
Nuendo 8+ | OS 10.14.2 | MacPro 2008 | 15" MBP Retina 2016 TB | 26GB-RAM - 30" AppleDisplay
MOTU 8M | WK-audio ID controller | Mac Dev

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8429
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by pianoleo »

Note that the latest version available is not actually the same as the latest version in existence. V6.12.1 was withdrawn; if you’re running it, try reverting...
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

helgetjelta
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by helgetjelta »

pianoleo wrote:
Thu May 21, 2020 12:36 pm
Note that the latest version available is not actually the same as the latest version in existence. V6.12.1 was withdrawn; if you’re running it, try reverting...
I'm at : 6.11.10.2266
_________________
Nuendo 8+ | OS 10.14.2 | MacPro 2008 | 15" MBP Retina 2016 TB | 26GB-RAM - 30" AppleDisplay
MOTU 8M | WK-audio ID controller | Mac Dev

helgetjelta
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by helgetjelta »

Hm, looks like if I open Dorico, play a little with some different projects. Quit Dorico, and then tries to open it again after a short while. I get all the elicenser problems again.
_________________
Nuendo 8+ | OS 10.14.2 | MacPro 2008 | 15" MBP Retina 2016 TB | 26GB-RAM - 30" AppleDisplay
MOTU 8M | WK-audio ID controller | Mac Dev

helgetjelta
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by helgetjelta »

The licenser program runs nicely though... and the synsopos starts and stops as it should...
_________________
Nuendo 8+ | OS 10.14.2 | MacPro 2008 | 15" MBP Retina 2016 TB | 26GB-RAM - 30" AppleDisplay
MOTU 8M | WK-audio ID controller | Mac Dev

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 19023
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

Do you find that Dorico runs OK if eLCC is already running when you try to start Dorico?

helgetjelta
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by helgetjelta »

Yes, I have just now tested that and it is true... If I take eh eLCC off, and try dorico it will fail. Starting the eLCC and then Dorico again, now it works...

so yes, having eLCC active will give a good start of Dorico. :)

also noticed that when eLCC is running, Dorico will cause a force update of the eLCC window doing a scan again... This also happen when I unplug or plug in a dongle... same thing...
But dorico startup makes it do it 5 - five times... firstly 3 and then when the audio engine is activated is updates two more times...
_________________
Nuendo 8+ | OS 10.14.2 | MacPro 2008 | 15" MBP Retina 2016 TB | 26GB-RAM - 30" AppleDisplay
MOTU 8M | WK-audio ID controller | Mac Dev

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 19023
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

Until such time as the updated version of eLCC that will fix the USB communication problem that is plaguing some of our users, my advice would be to keep eLCC running to ensure smooth operation of Dorico. I'm sorry for the inconvenience! The eLicenser team ar working hard on this issue.

helgetjelta
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by helgetjelta »

Hi, I'm on with Merlin with it... there are a lot of things going on... Not only Dorico...

But it looks very promising.
_________________
Nuendo 8+ | OS 10.14.2 | MacPro 2008 | 15" MBP Retina 2016 TB | 26GB-RAM - 30" AppleDisplay
MOTU 8M | WK-audio ID controller | Mac Dev

helgetjelta
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by helgetjelta »

Another weird thing is the about dorico widow... It takes 6 seconds to open and I get a spinning wheel each time, strange ?
_________________
Nuendo 8+ | OS 10.14.2 | MacPro 2008 | 15" MBP Retina 2016 TB | 26GB-RAM - 30" AppleDisplay
MOTU 8M | WK-audio ID controller | Mac Dev

helgetjelta
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by helgetjelta »

helgetjelta wrote:
Mon May 25, 2020 5:34 pm
Hi, I'm on with Merlin with it... there are a lot of things going on... Not only Dorico...

But it looks very promising.

I was told by Merlin, that my dongle was very old, in fact from 2003.... :). I've been with Steinberg for quite some time now...

So today I bought myself two new... Look promising.
_________________
Nuendo 8+ | OS 10.14.2 | MacPro 2008 | 15" MBP Retina 2016 TB | 26GB-RAM - 30" AppleDisplay
MOTU 8M | WK-audio ID controller | Mac Dev

hendrik001
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 3:53 pm
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by hendrik001 »

Hi, all my 4 Dongles showing me the same Problem with Nuendo 10 and 9, Failed to send GetInfo command! Nuendo quits working with all 4 Dongles. I need to work now but I can't! Do I need to buy 4 new Dongles to use my Licenses (several Nuendo licenses)? All software are latest versions!
4x NUENDO10 NEK / 4xCUBASE10 / FOCUSRITE REDNET 2_ 3_ 4_ 6_ PCIe_

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2698
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by Ulf »

Hi Hendrik, I've sent you a private message, please check.
Steinberg employee

midibim
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 11:29 pm
Contact:

Re: eLicenser Control Error

Post by midibim »

What is going on with this issue? I have it too and have not been able to fix it.
I follow Steinberg instructions, but didn't reinstall Cubase. I run a consulting
business and can't imagine going through this with a client, telling them they
need to edit the registry and reinstall the software while their artists wait...
I thought buying a dongle might eliminate this problem but clearly it doesn't.
I have not been able to use Cubase for 6 months now and started using Mixbus.
Why does Steinberg sell software that you can't use? Why don't they fix this?

Did they fix this in the new release Cubase 11?

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FredGUnn, Google [Bot], Max M, nradisch, sjanssens, Wizstudios and 7 guests