Embracer suddenly stopped working!!!

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
chubbs
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 10:03 pm
Contact:

Embracer suddenly stopped working!!!

Post by chubbs »

Embracer stopped working.

Was working, saved my track.

closed cubase-
shut down my mac-
turned on my mac-
opened cubase-
i get a note saying "bridge lost" - embracer - (no midi in) *or something*
I have tried to open it several times but it wont work.
please help.

User avatar
ffg
Member
Posts: 643
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Embracer suddenly stopped working!!!

Post by ffg »

Suggest you post this in the main Cubase board.

The VST Bridge is a bit flaky. It is needed by Cubase to run pre-Intel plug-ins on Intel Macs. It is prone to falling over (as you have found) and is a resource hog. You should only use it to access an old VSTi like Embracer (which I, too, am very fond of) for long enough to render the track as audio, then dump the VSTi. Try unloading some other plugs from the project (specially any other pre-Intel plugs).
best wishes

David

I'm going to to let the situation mature...

Nuendo 10.3
Cubase 10.5
MacPro 3.3 6-core OSX 10.12
Macbook Pro OSX 10.14
RME Fireface 802
RME Fireface 800
Audient ID14

u8nc
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 4:06 am
Contact:

Re: Embracer suddenly stopped working!!!

Post by u8nc »

i agree

i often bounce out a render from a MIDI/VSTi track simply because it saves gridlock on the main arrange page.
quite often my projects have multiple .cpr files doing things like this, where the main version has just one midi track doing an approximation of whatever vintage plug needs to do, then i just paste that over into a plain vanilla empty project, or even an older version of cubase if needs be, prior to bouncing out.

yes it does sound like a lot of mousework, but surprisingly it is faster overall, once you have bedded down a regimen that handles decsions one at a time

especially usefull when preparing 'disposable' cue mixes for vocals

dont for get to reply what eventually works, for the benefit of new future users.
Q. tell me, what works?
A. anything works, as long as you do

chubbs
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 10:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Embracer suddenly stopped working!!!

Post by chubbs »

thanks very much for the replies,

this is my first post so i wasn't sure where to post.

I tried unloading some other vst's but it didn't work. It started working again though, i don't no why. i just started cubase again today and it worked.

Again thank you for the help.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests