Chord recognition

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
User avatar
octogesa
Junior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 12:26 pm
Location: estevestruga@gmail.com
Contact:

Chord recognition

Post by octogesa »

Hello
Could there be a Dorico update to recognize chords just like Staffpad and Cubase ?
Thank you

gkdolphin
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2019 8:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Chord recognition

Post by gkdolphin »

That would be a great learning feature to have!

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18464
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Chord recognition

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

Could you be a bit more specific about what kind of feature you're asking for, Octogesa?

User avatar
octogesa
Junior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 12:26 pm
Location: estevestruga@gmail.com
Contact:

Re: Reconocimiento de acordes

Post by octogesa »

Write chords with notes on the staff and then use written recognition of those chords (Cm,Bb7 etc...)

Derrek
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3905
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Location: East Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: Chord recognition

Post by Derrek »

I think Octogesa is thinking of something along the lines of Finale's Chords > All Staff Analysis in their Chord Tool.
Dorico Pro 3.5.10.1045, Finale (v26), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3.3.1, CuBase Pro 10.5 newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac Catalina as alternate)
US English Keyboard

User avatar
octogesa
Junior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 12:26 pm
Location: estevestruga@gmail.com
Contact:

Re: Reconocimiento de acordes

Post by octogesa »

Cubase, Staffpad, analyzes the chords and names them

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4132
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Chord recognition

Post by MarcLarcher »

Well, if you use a MIDI keyboard to input the notes, you can use it to input de chords because then Dorico does analyze the notes you play to name the chord. I think that is why you've been asked to develop your request 😉
Marc Larcher

OS X 10.15.6, macbook pro 2019 16" (8 cores i9 @ 2.3GHz, 32GB, 1TB)
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.5.10, and Photoscore Ultimate 2020.1.14(9.0.2))
French is my native language

User avatar
octogesa
Junior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 12:26 pm
Location: estevestruga@gmail.com
Contact:

Re: Reconocimiento de acordes

Post by octogesa »

On the contrary, my request is that Dorico analyze the notes of the chord, but when they are already written, not by means of the Midi keyboard.
Same as Cubase, Finale and Staffpad

User avatar
PjotrB
Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 11:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Chord recognition

Post by PjotrB »

Dorico can do this already: it shows the chord in the status bar in the bottom left for selected notes.
(But it doesn't follow your Engraving Options for chord symbols AFAICT.)
Schermafbeelding 2020-04-22 om 01.48.26.png
(12.67 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Peter Bouma, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Dorico Pro 3.5.10 — Noteperformer 3.3.1 — Sib 7.1.3 (gathering dust) — iMac late 2012+SSD 3.2GHz i5 16GB / MacOS 10.14.6 — MacBook Pro / MacOS 10.14.6

User avatar
octogesa
Junior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 12:26 pm
Location: estevestruga@gmail.com
Contact:

Re: Chord recognition

Post by octogesa »

Just one system, but for several instruments it does not

Kcall
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 9:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Chord recognition

Post by Kcall »

For some reason, when I do chord entry via the popover SHIFT + Q and enter the chord by PLAYING on my MIDI keyboard, the chord is not recognized. I get BLANK. The only way for me to enter a chord is by typing in the symbol. During the tutorials, this chord recognition via playing the midi keyboard in the popover worked, but not anymore. Did I inadvertently change a preference or setting that disables this great feature?

Secondly, I agree. It’s great seeing that you can select a chord that is notated in the score and Dorico displays the spelling in the lower left status bar. Is there a way to select a sequence of notated chords and have Dorico automagically insert the chord symbols above each chord?

Thanks,
Kevin

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5725
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Chord recognition

Post by dankreider »

Kevin, do you see a green dot in the bottom right corner of the screen when you press a note on the MIDI keyboard? That would confirm Dorico is receiving MIDI data.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
dankreider.com/dorico-resources
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

Kcall
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 9:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Chord recognition

Post by Kcall »

Yes. The green dot is flashing as I play a chord. I can STEP entry and RECORD with my keyboard just fine. And when I invoke the chord entry popover and PLAY on the midi keyboard, I hear the keyboard and see the green dot flashing. The only issue is that the chord recognition is not working. It worked when I first went through the tutorials that demonstrated this feature. If I use STEP entry, the resulting chord is spelled correctly in the lower left corner of the status bar at the bottom of the window, so I know the chord entry is being recognized. It's just not making it it into the popover.

I'm running V3.5.0.1020 (May 18,2020) with audio engine 3.1.0.3 on MBPro 16, Catalina using an M-Audio Keystation61MK3

Thanks,
Kevin

User avatar
klafkid
Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:00 pm
Location: Detmold, Germany
Contact:

Re: Chord recognition

Post by klafkid »

I would also love this feature, so I finally know what this Tristan chord really is ;)
Sascha

Tonmeister/Music Director/Composer
Dorico, Sibelius, Logic Pro X, Sequoia, Pyramix
MacBook Pro 15", 2017. 2,9 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM, macOS Catalina

Kcall
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 9:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Chord recognition

Post by Kcall »

I still haven’t figured out why chord recognition via popover is not working for me yet. Not overly concerned as it is just a convenience and time saver.

While sleuthing, I found that StaffPad for iPad does do automatic chord recognition, and across a full orchestra. Not sure how accurate it is. Short demo here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9LEPTaej68

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8103
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Chord recognition

Post by pianoleo »

Historically there’s certainly been an issue here, which is usually fixed by restarting Dorico. I’ve not seen it for a while, though it’s probably been a few months since I played chord symbols into Dorico.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
octogesa
Junior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 12:26 pm
Location: estevestruga@gmail.com
Contact:

Re: Chord recognition

Post by octogesa »

I very much agree with what you say Kcall, Staffpad recognizes chords very well, Staffpad is fabulous with the work of chords !!

Watch from minute 1:33 of the YouTube video of Staffpad, it is a perfect recognition of the chords !!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9LEPTaej68

Derrek
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3905
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Location: East Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: Chord recognition

Post by Derrek »

I still get on-again/off-again success when I try to input chord symbols via my MIDI keyboard.
I can use the MIDI keyboard to input notes consistently; but sometimes, when I use SHIFT-Q and the MIDI Kbd to enter chord symbols the popover appears, but playing a chord on my MIDI keyboard has no effect. Restarting Dorico did change the situation, but why the initial attempt had no result is a mystery.
Dorico Pro 3.5.10.1045, Finale (v26), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3.3.1, CuBase Pro 10.5 newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac Catalina as alternate)
US English Keyboard

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: klafkid, Lillie Harris, orchestracomposer and 4 guests