no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Post Reply
Leonidas_c
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:40 pm
Contact:

no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by Leonidas_c »

I'm trying to record my guitar with the built in mic in my Mac. When I try to record, nothing gets recorded. Please help.

Elien
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by Elien »

Hi Leonidas_c,
please proide some detail about how your guitar is connected to your mac and what your complete routing in cubase is (channels, busses, etc.) and what buttons you have pressed.

Does any of your meters in cubase indicate a signal coming in?
Cubase 10.5 on Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Asus X99-S mobo; Intel i7, Matrox C420 Multi Monitor Card, USB3-External Graphic card, 5 Monitors. RME RayDat. Presonus Firestudio, DigimaxFS, Art Tube Preamp, Line6 x3 pro, lexicon mx400, Headphone preamp, Digipatch Digital Patchbay, TCHelicon VoicePro. Yamaha HS80M plus Subwoofer, Behringer MS40. Euphonix MC Control V2; Euphonix MC Mix, Avid MCTransport AKai MPD18, Komplete Kontrol 61, Novation Zero SL MKII, Automap. Yamaha Motif XF8; Komplete 12 Ultimate Collectors Edition, GPO, Garritan Jazz&Bigband, ARC 2.5 System, Jamstix, Various Applied Accoustic Instruments, Melodyne

Leonidas_c
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:40 pm
Contact:

Re: no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by Leonidas_c »

Elien wrote:
Fri Jan 31, 2020 6:17 am
Hi Leonidas_c,
please proide some detail about how your guitar is connected to your mac and what your complete routing in cubase is (channels, busses, etc.) and what buttons you have pressed.

Does any of your meters in cubase indicate a signal coming in?
My guitar is not connected to the computer, I am trying to use the built-in microphone inside my Mac, it worked for GarageBand. And I don't know the complete routing, as for the buttons I hit the record circle on the bottom of the cubase pro project window.

Leonidas_c
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:40 pm
Contact:

Re: no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by Leonidas_c »

Elien wrote:
Fri Jan 31, 2020 6:17 am


Does any of your meters in cubase indicate a signal coming in?
no

Barry Ford
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 1:51 am
Contact:

Re: no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by Barry Ford »

Have you also armed an audio track for recording?
3 DAWs down

Leonidas_c
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:40 pm
Contact:

Re: no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by Leonidas_c »

Barry Ford wrote:
Sun Feb 02, 2020 11:13 pm
Have you also armed an audio track for recording?
I believe so

Elien
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by Elien »

Hi you,
let me sum up:
You used to work with garage band. You bought Cubase. You installed it. Then you started it and created an audio track to record to. You "believe" you have armed the audio track for recording. Started recording. Nothing happens.
Right?
If so: What Audio Driver did you select in Studio Setup? (this is the cruicial step to make your microphone's sound available to cubase.

Are you confused by any of the steps I am describing?
If so - please, for the sake of your happiness: Have a look at some basic youtube videos and/or read the most basic chapters of the manual that describe how audio recording works and of course how to set up cubase so you can work with it.

Cheers, Ernst
Cubase 10.5 on Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Asus X99-S mobo; Intel i7, Matrox C420 Multi Monitor Card, USB3-External Graphic card, 5 Monitors. RME RayDat. Presonus Firestudio, DigimaxFS, Art Tube Preamp, Line6 x3 pro, lexicon mx400, Headphone preamp, Digipatch Digital Patchbay, TCHelicon VoicePro. Yamaha HS80M plus Subwoofer, Behringer MS40. Euphonix MC Control V2; Euphonix MC Mix, Avid MCTransport AKai MPD18, Komplete Kontrol 61, Novation Zero SL MKII, Automap. Yamaha Motif XF8; Komplete 12 Ultimate Collectors Edition, GPO, Garritan Jazz&Bigband, ARC 2.5 System, Jamstix, Various Applied Accoustic Instruments, Melodyne

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3224
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by peakae »

You need to allow Cubase access to the mic in the OS.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Leonidas_c
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:40 pm
Contact:

Re: no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by Leonidas_c »

peakae wrote:
Mon Feb 03, 2020 8:42 pm
You need to allow Cubase access to the mic in the OS.
How do you do that?

Leonidas_c
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:40 pm
Contact:

Re: no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by Leonidas_c »

peakae wrote:
Mon Feb 03, 2020 8:42 pm
You need to allow Cubase access to the mic in the OS.
How do I allow cubase access to the mic in os?

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3224
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by peakae »

Apple permissions and security, allow Cubase aces to the microphone=(really any input).
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Leonidas_c
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:40 pm
Contact:

Re: no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by Leonidas_c »

peakae wrote:
Sun Feb 09, 2020 10:56 pm
Apple permissions and security, allow Cubase aces to the microphone=(really any input).
I apologize, I am new on a Mac. How do I reach permissions and security to allow cubase access to the microphone?

Leonidas_c
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:40 pm
Contact:

Re: no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by Leonidas_c »

Elien wrote:
Mon Feb 03, 2020 6:16 am
Hi you,
let me sum up:
You used to work with garage band. You bought Cubase. You installed it. Then you started it and created an audio track to record to. You "believe" you have armed the audio track for recording. Started recording. Nothing happens.
Right?
If so: What Audio Driver did you select in Studio Setup? (this is the cruicial step to make your microphone's sound available to cubase.

Are you confused by any of the steps I am describing?
If so - please, for the sake of your happiness: Have a look at some basic youtube videos and/or read the most basic chapters of the manual that describe how audio recording works and of course how to set up cubase so you can work with it.

Cheers, Ernst
I don't think I armed a track, how is this done?,

thank you for replying

Elien
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by Elien »

Leonidas_c "arming" a track for recording means to press the red "R" button on the track.
As a side remark: I think it would be necessary for you to get some fundamental training in using a Mac and using Cubase. The level of your questions indicates that posting single questions in a forum will not get you very far.
Please dont get me wrong - i want to help: For "Mac" - try to find a friend in your neighbourhood who sits down with you and plays around with the Mac-Basics with you. And concerning cubase and recording... youtube, manuals, books... these pave your road to happiness ;o)...
Cubase 10.5 on Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Asus X99-S mobo; Intel i7, Matrox C420 Multi Monitor Card, USB3-External Graphic card, 5 Monitors. RME RayDat. Presonus Firestudio, DigimaxFS, Art Tube Preamp, Line6 x3 pro, lexicon mx400, Headphone preamp, Digipatch Digital Patchbay, TCHelicon VoicePro. Yamaha HS80M plus Subwoofer, Behringer MS40. Euphonix MC Control V2; Euphonix MC Mix, Avid MCTransport AKai MPD18, Komplete Kontrol 61, Novation Zero SL MKII, Automap. Yamaha Motif XF8; Komplete 12 Ultimate Collectors Edition, GPO, Garritan Jazz&Bigband, ARC 2.5 System, Jamstix, Various Applied Accoustic Instruments, Melodyne

Leonidas_c
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:40 pm
Contact:

Re: no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by Leonidas_c »

Elien wrote:
Mon Feb 10, 2020 1:26 pm
Leonidas_c "arming" a track for recording means to press the red "R" button on the track.
As a side remark: I think it would be necessary for you to get some fundamental training in using a Mac and using Cubase. The level of your questions indicates that posting single questions in a forum will not get you very far.
Please dont get me wrong - i want to help: For "Mac" - try to find a friend in your neighbourhood who sits down with you and plays around with the Mac-Basics with you. And concerning cubase and recording... youtube, manuals, books... these pave your road to happiness ;o)...
thanks, I'll check out the videos

Elien
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: no sound recorded into cubase recorder

Post by Elien »

Great :).

You are of course welcome with your questions.
I personally can't help in detail with Mac Questions.
For learning cubase some youtube videos are a great help. I am convinced that having a look at the basic concepts of cubase in the manual will also help! At least you will become familiar with the terminology of the program.

For your current problem I think access of cubase to your microphone is key (I assume that because you said you have no signal in cubase).
All the best!
Cubase 10.5 on Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Asus X99-S mobo; Intel i7, Matrox C420 Multi Monitor Card, USB3-External Graphic card, 5 Monitors. RME RayDat. Presonus Firestudio, DigimaxFS, Art Tube Preamp, Line6 x3 pro, lexicon mx400, Headphone preamp, Digipatch Digital Patchbay, TCHelicon VoicePro. Yamaha HS80M plus Subwoofer, Behringer MS40. Euphonix MC Control V2; Euphonix MC Mix, Avid MCTransport AKai MPD18, Komplete Kontrol 61, Novation Zero SL MKII, Automap. Yamaha Motif XF8; Komplete 12 Ultimate Collectors Edition, GPO, Garritan Jazz&Bigband, ARC 2.5 System, Jamstix, Various Applied Accoustic Instruments, Melodyne

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alarinth, annras, peakae and 12 guests