Dorico to Logic pro

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
honigdachs
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2020 8:41 pm
Contact:

Dorico to Logic pro

Post by honigdachs » Thu Jan 09, 2020 9:19 pm

Hello Daniel & Team,

This is my first post here. I am a new (and very enthusiastic) Dorico 3 user, after swapping from Sibelius 6.

I have the following problem;

I have transcribed the big band parts to a song for my daughter that she needs for a school project, for her to work on in Logic pro (her school provides this software, so she has to use that platform). I exported the file as an .xml. It opens in Logic, and you can see all the parts graphically, but there is no sound. I have tried opening other exported files, and the same happens. All of the Dorico files play with sound in Dorico (including the .xml files that I exported from Sibelius), and all other files play perfectly in Logic. MIDI is not an option because the conversion is very buggy.

Does anybody have any experience with this?

Thank you for a really splendid program. Sibelius used to drive me up the wall, and I am so glad to work with Dorico.

Best wishes,

Nick Carthy

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3549
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Dorico to Logic pro

Post by MarcLarcher » Thu Jan 09, 2020 10:28 pm

Dear Nick,
Welcome to the forum, and to the great community of Dorico users (that I call Doricians).
XML export is not the strong asset of Dorico (for now), so that might explain some of the trouble you have. But I find Dorico does export all the notes, all the dynamics that are not mezzo something or fp or sfz, and most of the articulations and slurs (unless they are nested, some glitches occur then)…
It looks like your problem would be to assign a vsti to each player, in Logic. Not sure this forum is the best place to answer this question, that I'd rather ask on a Logic forum.
Somebody with better knowledge of Logic might lend you a hand here, and be sure your questions are always welcome.
OS X 10.14.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.1.10, and Photoscore Ultimate 2020.1.14(9.0.2))
French is my native language

listentothemuse
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico to Logic pro

Post by listentothemuse » Thu Jan 09, 2020 10:30 pm

Nick,
Marc is correct: I've done a fair amount of back and forth between Logic and Dorico. Logic creates software instrument tracks that have no assigned sounds when you do the XML import. Click on the "instrument" slot for each track and assign an instrument from the library, and you should be good to go.
iMac Pro (High Sierra), Dorico 2, Logic Pro

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6934
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Dorico to Logic pro

Post by pianoleo » Thu Jan 09, 2020 10:31 pm

Welcome to the forum, Nick. I suspect this is actually a Logic question, rather than a Dorico question.
I've just tried exporting MusicXML from Sibelius and Dorico, and I downloaded another MusicXML file that I know came from MuseScore. If I import them into Logic, none of them have any sound. As far as I can tell, Logic doesn't automatically assign sounds to any imported tracks (instruments), where MusicXML is concerned - you need to do that manually.

There are various different ways of doing it, but for each track I suggest you do something along these lines (I don't know what sound libraries you have there - I'm just pointing you in the right direction)

Image
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.1.10 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

MassMover
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2017 2:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico to Logic pro

Post by MassMover » Sun Jan 12, 2020 4:43 pm

Do as Pianoleo says, but if you have the latest version of LPX installed there should be a software instrument called 'Logic Studio Horns' - which is actually a complete set of big band players with different samples for each chair.
Disclaimer: I know how to use the search function but English is not my first language so my search words might occasionally have been suboptimal.

specs: Dorico on 2018 mac mini Mojave

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests