Import channels with names

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Said Saba
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 7:55 pm
Contact:

Import channels with names

Post by Said Saba »

Hey guys.. Im new to the forum...

Been using cubase all my life, and now i have a very good question for you guys.

Lets say we are recording an album, 12 songs

We start with the drums, 16 multitrack channels. You start naming each track, bass drum, snare, etc...
Once you have them all, you route the inputs for each channel. When you are done, you are now ready to start the recording process... Once you finish and open a new song, how can i load those 16 channels with names already there, cause its really annoying to type all over again( im talking only drums, but its the same problem with bass and guitars) i have made a cusom input list in f4, so the inputs are organized with the channels, so bass drum is 1, snare 2, and so on... I just cant think of a way to have the names loaded and save a lot of time typing them.

Will be great to hear some ideas!

Best!

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3561
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Import channels with names

Post by jaslan »

Use a template. It will make your projects easier.
HTH
J.L.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Import channels with names

Post by thinkingcap »

...or use track archives.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

Said Saba
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Import channels with names

Post by Said Saba »

What are track archives? Intoduce me please! Thanks for answering so fast!!

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5286
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Import channels with names

Post by Split »

I use Templates, great for when each project starts with the same basic setup.
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Import channels with names

Post by thinkingcap »

Said Saba wrote:What are track archives? Intoduce me please! Thanks for answering so fast!!
As the name implies, it´s an archive of tracks, you can import single or all tracks from with settings, names and routings (IIRC).
You can introduce yourself, should be in the manual. It´s that book that came with the software...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

Said Saba
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Import channels with names

Post by Said Saba »

I should have used template...but all drums and bass guitars are already recorded, we are now in the guitar stage, and each guitarrist uses 6 channels, soi have to create 12 channels in each project and name each channel with the microphone, etc.

I guess track archive might help... How do i use it??

Thankss

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3561
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Import channels with names

Post by jaslan »

You can still use your project as a template. Just be careful. Save your project, THEN delete the audio, save as a template, then DO NOT SAVE the project (i.e. revert or reload the saved project with the audio). Check the manual for details.
HTH
J.L.
Last edited by jaslan on Fri Jan 06, 2012 8:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Said Saba
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Import channels with names

Post by Said Saba »

Ill check both out..

Thanks for solving this so quickly!!

Have a great onee

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests