Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
User avatar
Grada
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 4:15 pm
Contact:

Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Grada » Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:33 pm

Hi,
Anyone have problems with User tags in mediabay?

Since mediabay writes all user custom tags into file itself, i cannot see them in Cubase 10.5, from Cubase 7 to 10 i was able to see my custom tags.
Deleting Preferences/Mediabay database/etc didn't help,

Also if I try to add my custom attribute i get ERROR (See gif bellow)

Image

Can anyone confirm this?
Cubase 10.5- Latest - Windows 10 1909 - intel i7-4790k - Asus Maximus VII Hero - RAM: 32GB - EVGA GTX 950 SC, RME HDSPe AIO

Null Test Bug viewtopic.php?f=250&t=117331
Noise Floor Issue viewtopic.php?f=250&t=134316&p=728526#p728526

User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Home Studio 87 » Thu Nov 14, 2019 12:06 am

yes same here all the user tag gone and now I've "###---error---###" in place
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI / Intel Corei7 6800k / 32 Go DDR4 / 4x SSD / Win 10 Pro x64 / UAD Apollo Twin USB / UAD2 Satellite Octo USB / UAD2 Octo PCIe / Cubase Pro 10 / VEP6 / D-Touch Cubase / Console 1 / 24 Ch X-Touch / CMC Controllers / iPad 2&3 Lemur / Komplete Kontrol S61 MK2 /

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2196
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by HowlingUlf » Thu Nov 14, 2019 1:01 am

I have about 20 of them. All ### errors!
Not good enough !!!
I still have C10 installed so I guess I can manually reconstruct them but I'd rather clean the windows and cut my toenails ...
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Home Studio 87 » Thu Nov 14, 2019 1:15 am

they are still on 10, nothing change but in 10.5 just ERROR, even with deleting the mediabay files in Cubase preference.... cannot work with this !
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI / Intel Corei7 6800k / 32 Go DDR4 / 4x SSD / Win 10 Pro x64 / UAD Apollo Twin USB / UAD2 Satellite Octo USB / UAD2 Octo PCIe / Cubase Pro 10 / VEP6 / D-Touch Cubase / Console 1 / 24 Ch X-Touch / CMC Controllers / iPad 2&3 Lemur / Komplete Kontrol S61 MK2 /

User avatar
Grada
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Grada » Thu Nov 14, 2019 6:15 pm

Thanks for the feedback guys, I will give it a go on another machine and also on OSX, but I feel chances are slim from reading your replays :(

I tagged more than 300 000 samples (mostly one shots) and lot of them has custom tags ("other tags") such as bongos,congas,tambourines etc etc etc.
See here:
MediaBay.PNG
(172.16 KiB) Not downloaded yet
MediaBay is one of the uniquest tool that no other DAW has. Its the best thing for browsing and choosing the right sample.
Ability to list all open hats/snares/percs/shakers etc in a second, its a life saver!

Currently Cubase 11.5 is no go for me since MediaBay is crucial and deeply embedded into my workflow.

I will try to find workaround these days and will report it back here. Hopefully Martin, or someone from the top can jump in and tell us if there is solution.



Thanks :)
Cubase 10.5- Latest - Windows 10 1909 - intel i7-4790k - Asus Maximus VII Hero - RAM: 32GB - EVGA GTX 950 SC, RME HDSPe AIO

Null Test Bug viewtopic.php?f=250&t=117331
Noise Floor Issue viewtopic.php?f=250&t=134316&p=728526#p728526

User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Home Studio 87 » Thu Nov 14, 2019 7:07 pm

No solution here even if trashing all preference from Cubase 10.5 and hide Cubase 10 pref.... sad days.....
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI / Intel Corei7 6800k / 32 Go DDR4 / 4x SSD / Win 10 Pro x64 / UAD Apollo Twin USB / UAD2 Satellite Octo USB / UAD2 Octo PCIe / Cubase Pro 10 / VEP6 / D-Touch Cubase / Console 1 / 24 Ch X-Touch / CMC Controllers / iPad 2&3 Lemur / Komplete Kontrol S61 MK2 /

User avatar
profezeus
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by profezeus » Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:11 am

Sad indeed!

Same problem here.
System 1: Custom ADK 9700Z Laptop with 4 internal SSD's, i7-4790K CPU, 32GB RAM, RME Babyface - Windows 8.1 64bit, Cubase Pro 10.5.12 & 10.0.50
System 2: Custom ADK 8600 Laptop with 3 internal SSD's, i7-2820QM CPU, 16GB RAM, RME Babyface - Windows 7 64bit, Cubase Pro 9.5.50
VSL, VEP5, East West CC, Arturia V Collection etc., CC121, various keyboards and acoustic instruments.

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2196
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by HowlingUlf » Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:01 am

I wonder if there is something in the Cubase 10 mediabay.db file pointing somewhere that won't work if you try to use it in the folder for Cubase 10.5?
Or anything else to that effect, but I'm obviously just guessing.
Don't throw your mediabay.db files away just yet, just in case ... :ugeek:
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

Joerg
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Joerg » Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:28 am

I'm working on it with high priority, will keep you updated.
Jörg Hoinkis, Senior Software Developer, Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
Posts: 804
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Home Studio 87 » Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:10 pm

Joerg wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:28 am
I'm working on it with high priority, will keep you updated.
Thank you.... 8-)
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI / Intel Corei7 6800k / 32 Go DDR4 / 4x SSD / Win 10 Pro x64 / UAD Apollo Twin USB / UAD2 Satellite Octo USB / UAD2 Octo PCIe / Cubase Pro 10 / VEP6 / D-Touch Cubase / Console 1 / 24 Ch X-Touch / CMC Controllers / iPad 2&3 Lemur / Komplete Kontrol S61 MK2 /

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2196
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by HowlingUlf » Fri Nov 15, 2019 7:24 pm

Joerg wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:28 am
I'm working on it with high priority, will keep you updated.
Thank you.... 8-)
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

Joe90
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Joe90 » Fri Nov 15, 2019 7:41 pm

I'm curious - the media bay is always quite sluggish and laggy for me on C10, especially the first time opening it after opening a project, or accessing via the presets menu of a plugin - I don't suppose it's any snappier in 10.5?
Cubase 10 Pro, Studio One 4, Windows 10x64, i9 9900k, RME UCX

Toulouse Le Plot
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Toulouse Le Plot » Fri Nov 15, 2019 8:11 pm

This was driving me nuts but more by luck than judgment I added the column that said instrument in track template in the attributes and they appear to now show up, looks like they have renamed a few things, so glad really didn't want to have to start again, give it a try its worked for me.

Toulouse Le Plot
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Toulouse Le Plot » Fri Nov 15, 2019 8:30 pm

Forget that I had premature ejaculation, a few turned but the rest of my tags are on the missing list. really annoying. other than that media bay seems much faster just don't want to have to go through and do the same job again, took me weeks before.

User avatar
profezeus
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by profezeus » Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:10 pm

Thank you Joerg.
System 1: Custom ADK 9700Z Laptop with 4 internal SSD's, i7-4790K CPU, 32GB RAM, RME Babyface - Windows 8.1 64bit, Cubase Pro 10.5.12 & 10.0.50
System 2: Custom ADK 8600 Laptop with 3 internal SSD's, i7-2820QM CPU, 16GB RAM, RME Babyface - Windows 7 64bit, Cubase Pro 9.5.50
VSL, VEP5, East West CC, Arturia V Collection etc., CC121, various keyboards and acoustic instruments.

User avatar
Grada
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Grada » Sat Nov 16, 2019 1:25 am

Thanks Joerg for getting in,

Unfortunately I can confirm this on all machines including OSX, Tried to figure out from database,preferences,components(copying from 10) without luck.
Cubase 10.5- Latest - Windows 10 1909 - intel i7-4790k - Asus Maximus VII Hero - RAM: 32GB - EVGA GTX 950 SC, RME HDSPe AIO

Null Test Bug viewtopic.php?f=250&t=117331
Noise Floor Issue viewtopic.php?f=250&t=134316&p=728526#p728526

Joerg
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Joerg » Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:18 pm

Joerg wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:28 am
I'm working on it with high priority, will keep you updated.
Found the bug and fixed it for the next maintenance update. Sorry for the trouble!
Jörg Hoinkis, Senior Software Developer, Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

Joerg
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Joerg » Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:34 pm

Joe90 wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 7:41 pm
I'm curious - the media bay is always quite sluggish and laggy for me on C10, especially the first time opening it after opening a project, or accessing via the presets menu of a plugin - I don't suppose it's any snappier in 10.5?
MediaBay setup takes its time during setup and after installation of additional content, but follow up starts should be much quicker.

When you add your own content, I suggest to keep it on dedicated drives / partitions, so you can "Create [a] Volume Database" before checking any folders for scanning. That will speed up additional user-preset look ups, because the main database is kept small.

For follow up conversation on this topic I suggest to create a dedicated thread.
Jörg Hoinkis, Senior Software Developer, Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

etchell
Member
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by etchell » Mon Nov 18, 2019 4:58 pm

Joerg wrote:
Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:18 pm
Joerg wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:28 am
I'm working on it with high priority, will keep you updated.
Found the bug and fixed it for the next maintenance update. Sorry for the trouble!
Sixty-four-thousand-dollar question: when will it be available? :?:
Main Studio System
Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit - 1909 - 32 GB RAM - Intel Xeon E3-1231v3 - RME Fireface UC - Samsung SSD 860 EVO (SATA 6) 250GB (System & Cubase + 3rd Party VST(i))
Cubase 10.0.50 Pro / 10.5 Pro

Joerg
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Joerg » Mon Nov 18, 2019 5:30 pm

etchell wrote:
Mon Nov 18, 2019 4:58 pm
Joerg wrote:
Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:18 pm
Joerg wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:28 am
I'm working on it with high priority, will keep you updated.
Found the bug and fixed it for the next maintenance update. Sorry for the trouble!
Sixty-four-thousand-dollar question: when will it be available? :?:
Sorry, I don't think I comply with company policies if I talk about release dates. I wonder what happened if I would spread something like "it is already in beta test"? ;)
Jörg Hoinkis, Senior Software Developer, Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

Funkybot
Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:08 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Funkybot » Mon Nov 18, 2019 5:35 pm

Yeah, let's not get one of the people fixing issues in trouble with his bosses. That'll set a bad example for the others!

User avatar
Grada
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by Grada » Mon Nov 18, 2019 9:24 pm

Joerg wrote:
Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:18 pm
Joerg wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:28 am
I'm working on it with high priority, will keep you updated.
Found the bug and fixed it for the next maintenance update. Sorry for the trouble!
Thanks so much for the quick reaction Joerg, looking forward for the maintenance update, hope it will arrive before the new year so I can get hands finally on 10.5 :)
Cubase 10.5- Latest - Windows 10 1909 - intel i7-4790k - Asus Maximus VII Hero - RAM: 32GB - EVGA GTX 950 SC, RME HDSPe AIO

Null Test Bug viewtopic.php?f=250&t=117331
Noise Floor Issue viewtopic.php?f=250&t=134316&p=728526#p728526

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2196
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by HowlingUlf » Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:03 pm

Joerg wrote:
Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:18 pm
Joerg wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:28 am
I'm working on it with high priority, will keep you updated.
Found the bug and fixed it for the next maintenance update. Sorry for the trouble!
That kind of behavior is ... :o something we have no problem with whatsoever haha! Thanks a lot! 8-)
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

etchell
Member
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by etchell » Tue Nov 19, 2019 4:06 pm

Joerg wrote:
Mon Nov 18, 2019 5:30 pm
etchell wrote:
Mon Nov 18, 2019 4:58 pm
Joerg wrote:
Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:18 pm


Found the bug and fixed it for the next maintenance update. Sorry for the trouble!
Sixty-four-thousand-dollar question: when will it be available? :?:
Sorry, I don't think I comply with company policies if I talk about release dates. I wonder what happened if I would spread something like "it is already in beta test"? ;)
No worries, I have even not expected to get a definite date here (anymore). Not blaming you..just with these rather slow delivery for any bug there is little hope things will get sorted quickly...
Main Studio System
Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit - 1909 - 32 GB RAM - Intel Xeon E3-1231v3 - RME Fireface UC - Samsung SSD 860 EVO (SATA 6) 250GB (System & Cubase + 3rd Party VST(i))
Cubase 10.0.50 Pro / 10.5 Pro

swill97
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2019 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10.5 MediaBay USER Attributes Tags Error

Post by swill97 » Fri Dec 20, 2019 11:52 am

Is there any update on this at all? 10.5 is useless to me untill this is fixed, and since its been over a month since this post with no update I am troubled that this hasn't been fixed for the public.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ed_ruggers, kelp, Prock, quantum7, Quinn3k3 and 2 guests