SONAR TO CUBASE 10 PRO - MIDI EDITING QUESTION

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
FreakRecluse
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:47 pm
Contact:

SONAR TO CUBASE 10 PRO - MIDI EDITING QUESTION

Post by FreakRecluse » Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:30 pm

Hi - I'm a fairly recent convert from SONAR Platinum to Cubase 10 Pro. I love the stability of Cubase with my UA Apollo interface and all of the audio abilities, but I'm having little difficulty adjusting to editing MIDI in Cubase My question is - is there anyone who has SONAR experience who can throw us some tips on how to achieve the same MIDI functions in Cubase?

One of the things about SONAR MIDI editing that was particularly powerful was the MIDI Find/Change (aka "Interpolate" in older versions) function allowed me to quickly filter on any MIDI events and change them. For example, if I wanted to limit a part that has velocities ranging from 1 to 127, I could select that range in the "Find" window and then enter something like a velocity range of 80 to 100 in the "Change" or "Replace" window. This is a very simple example of functionality, but it was a very flexible and efficient way to handle specific MIDI editing.

Any help would be very much appreciated! Thanks!
Cubase 10.5 Pro | Universal Audio Apollo 8 - Thunderbolt | MOTU MIDI Express XT Interface | Focal Twin6 Be Active Monitors | Avantone Active MixCubes | Mackie HR824 Active Monitors

Arturia V Collection 7; BFD 3; Komplete 12 Ultimate; Plethora of UAD & Waves; Ozone 8; Neutron 2; Melodyne 4 Studio; other miscellaneous plug-ins

OS: Windows 10 Home Premium 64 Bit | Motherboard: ASUS X-99A/USB 3.1 | CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3.30Ghz | RAM: 64.0 GB Crucial DDR4-PC17000 Non ECC | System Drive: Crucial BX100 SATA SSD 500 GB
Audio Drive: 4 TB Western Digital - Black 7200rpm | VST Instrument Drive: 4 TB Western Digital - Black 7200rpm | Aux Storage: 2 TB Western Digital - Black 7200rpm | External Storage: 2 TB Toshiba USB 3.0 External

Firewire: SiiG Firewire 400 | ASUS Thunderbolttex li Thunderbolt Adapter. PCiExpress 2.0X4 | Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT740 | Cooling: Intel Thermal Solution Air | Case: Antec P280 | Power Supply: True Power 750 Watt

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4133
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: SONAR TO CUBASE 10 PRO - MIDI EDITING QUESTION

Post by raino » Sat Mar 16, 2019 11:22 pm

Not qualified to comment related to Sonar.

But from your example I'd recommend you check out the regular (midi) Logical Editor and the Project Logical Editor. You can create Presets and run them by assigning Key Commands or even execute a sequence of LE presets using Macros.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
FreakRecluse
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:47 pm
Contact:

Re: SONAR TO CUBASE 10 PRO - MIDI EDITING QUESTION

Post by FreakRecluse » Sun Mar 17, 2019 2:35 am

Hey raino, thanks for the tip! I'll look into the Logical Editor.
Cubase 10.5 Pro | Universal Audio Apollo 8 - Thunderbolt | MOTU MIDI Express XT Interface | Focal Twin6 Be Active Monitors | Avantone Active MixCubes | Mackie HR824 Active Monitors

Arturia V Collection 7; BFD 3; Komplete 12 Ultimate; Plethora of UAD & Waves; Ozone 8; Neutron 2; Melodyne 4 Studio; other miscellaneous plug-ins

OS: Windows 10 Home Premium 64 Bit | Motherboard: ASUS X-99A/USB 3.1 | CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3.30Ghz | RAM: 64.0 GB Crucial DDR4-PC17000 Non ECC | System Drive: Crucial BX100 SATA SSD 500 GB
Audio Drive: 4 TB Western Digital - Black 7200rpm | VST Instrument Drive: 4 TB Western Digital - Black 7200rpm | Aux Storage: 2 TB Western Digital - Black 7200rpm | External Storage: 2 TB Toshiba USB 3.0 External

Firewire: SiiG Firewire 400 | ASUS Thunderbolttex li Thunderbolt Adapter. PCiExpress 2.0X4 | Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT740 | Cooling: Intel Thermal Solution Air | Case: Antec P280 | Power Supply: True Power 750 Watt

User avatar
FreakRecluse
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:47 pm
Contact:

Re: SONAR TO CUBASE 10 PRO - MIDI EDITING QUESTION

Post by FreakRecluse » Sun Apr 07, 2019 8:21 pm

Raino was absolutely right. The Logical Editor allows me to do the same types of MIDI filtering/edits as I did when using the MIDI Find/Change (aka "Interpolate" in older versions) of Cakewalk/SONAR. For users like me who have migrated over from Cakewalk/SONAR to Cubase, take a little time to learn the Logical Editor, it's not as immediately intuitive as MIDI Find/Change but once you get the concept, it's pretty powerful and will save time. Thanks again to Raino!
Last edited by FreakRecluse on Mon Apr 08, 2019 2:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 10.5 Pro | Universal Audio Apollo 8 - Thunderbolt | MOTU MIDI Express XT Interface | Focal Twin6 Be Active Monitors | Avantone Active MixCubes | Mackie HR824 Active Monitors

Arturia V Collection 7; BFD 3; Komplete 12 Ultimate; Plethora of UAD & Waves; Ozone 8; Neutron 2; Melodyne 4 Studio; other miscellaneous plug-ins

OS: Windows 10 Home Premium 64 Bit | Motherboard: ASUS X-99A/USB 3.1 | CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3.30Ghz | RAM: 64.0 GB Crucial DDR4-PC17000 Non ECC | System Drive: Crucial BX100 SATA SSD 500 GB
Audio Drive: 4 TB Western Digital - Black 7200rpm | VST Instrument Drive: 4 TB Western Digital - Black 7200rpm | Aux Storage: 2 TB Western Digital - Black 7200rpm | External Storage: 2 TB Toshiba USB 3.0 External

Firewire: SiiG Firewire 400 | ASUS Thunderbolttex li Thunderbolt Adapter. PCiExpress 2.0X4 | Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT740 | Cooling: Intel Thermal Solution Air | Case: Antec P280 | Power Supply: True Power 750 Watt

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4133
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: SONAR TO CUBASE 10 PRO - MIDI EDITING QUESTION

Post by raino » Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:09 pm

For completeness the Input Transformer should also be mentioned. It is similar to the other 2 but works on incoming midi data. It is also capable of executing multiple presets in sequence. With LE & PLE you need a Macro to execute a series of Presets.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
AllanH-CF
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 8:01 pm
Contact:

Re: SONAR TO CUBASE 10 PRO - MIDI EDITING QUESTION

Post by AllanH-CF » Mon Apr 08, 2019 3:37 pm

Being a Sonar expat, I found the Input Transformer of most use. Another subtle issue is some of the midi track settings, delay most notably, get baked into the Sonar midi-export, so you should set all of those to zero before export.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pliktro and 4 guests