Groove Agent SE Problems

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
planetsundaystudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:46 pm
Contact:

Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by planetsundaystudios » Fri Mar 08, 2019 11:14 pm

Hey all! Maybe this has been addressed but I can't seem to find it....For the last three versions of Cubase (8,9 and 10), any time I use an instance of Groove Agent, after saving and closing the project, when I go to reopen it...(sometimes later that day, sometimes in a month or so) Cubase crashes when loading GA during the project loading. It will not open in safe mode. My only work around has been to stop using GA. (kind of a bummer) When I have to open a project that uses Groove Agent....I have to open it on my macbook after transferring to another drive, bounce groove agent to audio, remove it from the project, save it, transfer the project back to my studio computer and then get back to work! Ridiculous! I have been using Cubase since Cubase 5. My current DAW build is a Windows 7 64bit machine with 16G of ram. Everything else seems to work great! Just no Groove Agent for the last few years. I was hoping that 10 would clear this up but it's still a thing. I was able to open the project today in Cubase 9 without switching computers and bounce the audio and take off Groove Agent, resave, then open in 10 and keep working, but normally no versions open if Groove Agent is involved. Hope someone can help or back to just not using Groove Agent, which is a shame as I like using it!

Thanks!

Joel

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 19319
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sun Mar 10, 2019 8:50 pm

Hi,

Could you attach a crash file located in the macOS Console utility, please?

Could you try to trash Groove Agent SE preferences?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

planetsundaystudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by planetsundaystudios » Mon Mar 11, 2019 4:40 am

It opens fine on the MacBook just not my main DAW which is a PC. If you can tell me where the the crash files are located for Windows 7 I would gladly send! I will look into trashing Groove Agent preferences. I tried safe mode as stated which I thought did a similar thing but maybe it doesn't. Thought I choose to bypass all prefs when I did that..It has been acting up since going from Cubase 8 to 9. I was hoping 10 would change it. Thanks. I'll try and find the crash files for Windows!

Joel

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 19319
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:20 am

Hi,

The crashes dump files are located in Documents/Steinberg/Crash Dump folder.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

planetsundaystudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by planetsundaystudios » Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:07 pm

Here are the newest two I could find! Strange that it doesn't show any from last week as I tried 4 or 5 times to open the project and it did the usual "Cubase has stopped working" right when it gets to loading Groove Agent. The results should be the same though as this is literally the only time it crashes for me! Thanks so much for looking and let me know if there is anything else I can get you!

Joel
Attachments
Cubase 10.0.5.72 64bit 2018.11.20 21.36.dmp
(658.61 KiB) Downloaded 46 times
Cubase 10.0.5.72 64bit 2018.11.20 21.38.dmp
(574.89 KiB) Downloaded 30 times

planetsundaystudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by planetsundaystudios » Tue Mar 19, 2019 2:48 pm

So were the crash dumps no help? Want me to create some new ones?

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 19319
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Mar 19, 2019 3:30 pm

Hi,

You are using Cubase 10.0.5. Update to the latest CUbase 10.0.15. If CUbase is still crashing, atach a new crash dumps from 10.0.15, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

planetsundaystudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by planetsundaystudios » Sun Mar 24, 2019 5:35 am

I am using the newest version 10.0.15, but must have disabled crash dumps...I can repeat it but it's not logging the new crashes. Where is that preference at? Those were from November 2018......same issue though. Groove Agent has been crashing Cubase for me for the the last two years.....but only on PC. Not Mac.....

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 19319
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sun Mar 24, 2019 9:33 pm

Hi,

There is no preferences to enable or disable writing of crash dumps. That's very interesting actually.

I will report to Steinberg.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

planetsundaystudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by planetsundaystudios » Sun Mar 24, 2019 9:54 pm

Crash.JPG
(46.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet

planetsundaystudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by planetsundaystudios » Mon Mar 25, 2019 1:56 am

If I trash preferences for Cubase10_64 and GrooveAgent SE_64 a project with Groove Agent will open the first time I try....Then when I close and try and re open, it won't and crashes during the load with the "Cubase 10 has stopped working window". It doesn't make a crash dump however and the only way to open the project again is to trash the preferences.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 19319
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:57 am

Hi,

Do you have a previous Cubase preferences folders? If yes, could you try to rename the older Cubase preferences folder, please?

Could you attach the Cubase preferences folder (ZIP it), after you
- trash preferences
- start Cubase
- quit Cubase.
(So the new preferences are created.)
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

planetsundaystudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by planetsundaystudios » Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:05 pm

I had Cubase 9 and 9.5 installed on this machine. I have removed them both and removed their preferences folders. I will send the updated 10_64 preference folder tonight when I get a chance. Thank you Martin!

planetsundaystudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by planetsundaystudios » Tue Mar 26, 2019 2:17 pm

here is the pref folder after trashing prefs....opening cubase....then closing.
Attachments
Cubase 10_64.zip
(1.39 MiB) Downloaded 23 times

planetsundaystudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by planetsundaystudios » Tue Mar 26, 2019 2:24 pm

Just tried to send you the Preference folder after opening a groove agent project (which opened after trashing preferences), closed it, tried to reopen and same old crash! It said the folder was to large (even zipped) to send....So opening the project must have grown the preference folder substantially?

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 19319
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Mar 26, 2019 3:04 pm

Hi,

ZIP the preferences file and share a Dropbox (or similar service) link, please.

While Quit, Cubase always overwrites its preferences (most of them). But it shouldn't grow significantly.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)


Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 19319
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu Mar 28, 2019 4:06 pm

Hi,

Thank you for all detailed information and attachments. I just reported it to Steinberg CAN-21940.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 19319
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Apr 01, 2019 2:15 pm

Hi,

Could you try to use Microsoft ProcDump utility, to generate DMP file even though Cubase doesn't do it, please?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

planetsundaystudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by planetsundaystudios » Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:54 pm

Just seeing this sorry! Not familiar with procdump utility? Is that built in or do I need to download it?

planetsundaystudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by planetsundaystudios » Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:58 pm

Nvmnd downloading!

planetsundaystudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by planetsundaystudios » Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:59 pm

No idea how to use Procdump....Seems pretty complicated. Are there specific instructions you could give me? Downloaded and ran the installer for the 64bit version.

planetsundaystudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by planetsundaystudios » Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:18 pm

https://www.dropbox.com/s/mp3z9v3vwwrj8 ... 0.zip?dl=0

here is a dmp file I made....wasn't able to figure out procdump but made through task manager....

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 19319
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Apr 08, 2019 10:00 am

Hi,

Dropbox is involved in the crash and at the end, it crashed in ntdll. Any Steinberg product is not in the crashed stackt at all.

Do you save the project on Dropbox?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

planetsundaystudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent SE Problems

Post by planetsundaystudios » Tue Apr 09, 2019 5:10 pm

That was a dmp file I created with tskmanager so it probably isn't working. I can't figure out how to use Procdump. I don't save any projects on Dropbox...I only use it for mixes for clients. I opened the Cubase 10.0.15 project with GrooveAgent, it stopped working when it tried to load groove agent....like it has for a few years now (ever since version 8.5 I believe...I then followed some microsoft directions to create the file I sent you which must not be monitoring Cubase. I've trashed prefs, uninstalled all other versions of Cubase that were on my machine all with no luck! Another oddity is that projects containing Groove Agent One SE open just fine....UGH

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: curness69 and 0 guests