Creating Dorico videos

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
tromboneandrew
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:57 am
Contact:

Creating Dorico videos

Post by tromboneandrew »

By popular demand (not really, just a few nerds) I'd like to create a Dorico playback video. I don't believe this is a native part of Dorico (the documentation is the other way around: syncing an already-made video with Dorico) and I don't have any experience doing something like this. But, some others here may, and I'm looking for suggestions before I start to fumble blindly into the dark.

What I'd like to see is the audio output following the moving cursor, just like playback in Dorico, but without some of the system edit flags like system breaks visible. What's the easiest way to do this and get a decent result?

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5976
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by dankreider »

Galley View, and hide all signposts?

I use Movavi Screen Capture, works great. You can easily set your audio source as Dorico’s audio engine.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico training: dankreider.com/dorico
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

tromboneandrew
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:57 am
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by tromboneandrew »

Ah - hide signposts is exactly what I was looking for. Thanks!

Checking out the Movavi website - egads, I don't like their website layout. Way too much scrolling to see basic advertising for the product.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5976
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by dankreider »

Yup, but the product itself works great. There are, of course, a bazillion similar products available, and possibly others are better. But I’ve used Movavi with great success.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico training: dankreider.com/dorico
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

User avatar
snakeeyes021
Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by snakeeyes021 »

I'm a fan of OBS (Open Broadcaster Software), if only because of the price point (free!). I can't speak to its quality versus that of other software, but I know it's pretty widely used and suits a number of purposes.

The one thing I would mention is that I haven't been able (nor do I even know if it's possible) to get it to work with my audio interface. It seems like if you're using one of those, Dorico sends audio straight to it, and the rest of the computer never even gets a whiff of it, which would make capturing the audio in a separate program not possible. Dunno though. As long as you either just use your standard PC audio outputs or you don't mind switching your audio device in Dorico, should be no problem.
Wow. Very signature. So engraving. Such compose. Amaze.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5976
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by dankreider »

When I run into that, I typically capture out to another device. Then I combine the video and audio in PowerDirector, which is really simple.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico training: dankreider.com/dorico
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

User avatar
snakeeyes021
Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by snakeeyes021 »

Interesting. When you say you capture out to another device, do you mean like another hardware device physically attached to an audio interface? Because that's the only way I can imagine getting a hold of the audio signal after Dorico's sent it to the audio interface (at least, that's my experience with my Scarlett 6i6).

I feel like at that point, I'd rather just switch the audio output device in Dorico and then plug my headphones into my PC's headphone jack. OBS definitely has no trouble capturing that.
Wow. Very signature. So engraving. Such compose. Amaze.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5976
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by dankreider »

Sorry, device was totally the wrong word. In Audacity, you can set the input source as “device capture” or something like that, allowing you to capture whatever is passing through your sound card regardless (or as a former professor used to say, “dis-irregardless”) of where it’s being generated.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico training: dankreider.com/dorico
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

User avatar
snakeeyes021
Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by snakeeyes021 »

Ah, yeah, ok, that makes more sense (though device was totally the right word; there's more than one kind!). Thing is, I think this is precisely why OBS (and I'd wager perhaps other video capture software as well) doesn't play well with an audio interface. If you have Dorico set to output to one, it bypasses your sound card entirely; like, the audio interface is your sound card now. But there's no software protocol by which the audio interface funnels any of that signal back to the computer (at least not any audio interface I've used, which admittedly is only a handful), but that's why I thought you might've meant separate hardware.

In any case, this is a pretty niche issue and likely not even a problem for Andrew, as I'd bet he's not one of the probably very small number of users who find need to video record from Dorico AND are using an audio interface. I, on the other hand, just happen to occasionally be one of them :lol:
Wow. Very signature. So engraving. Such compose. Amaze.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5976
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by dankreider »

Yeah. I do think many people probably need external audio devices, since so many laptops’ built-in devices are absolutely garbage. Mine can barely play an orchestral score with choir that uses NP. It’s a “pro” machine, and I have to set the buffer as high as possible, and it still shorts out. I imagine I’m not alone!
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico training: dankreider.com/dorico
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

Derrek
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4096
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Location: East Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by Derrek »

Corel VideoStudio has a screen-capture mode if you own that.
Dorico Pro 3.5.10.1045, Finale (v26), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3.3.1, CuBase Pro 10.5 newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac Catalina as alternate)
US English Keyboard

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 19023
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

Ant uses Screenflow (Mac only) for all of the videos on our YouTube channel; I have and use iShowU Studio (also Mac only). You can even do screen recordings in QuickTime Player on Mac, though the functionality provided there is very basic.

User avatar
rubberfingers
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 3:24 am
Location: Everett WA, USA
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by rubberfingers »

I'd love to have this feature built-in to Dorico. I've been using OBS Studio but it's overly complex for just capturing audio with score with the moving bar.
Dorico 3.5.10 Pro, Finale 25.4 (rarely used), Windows 10 on Dell laptop (Celeron, 2 cores, 1.4 GHz, 1366x768 display). CME XKEY 25 midi input.

tromboneandrew
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:57 am
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by tromboneandrew »

Well, I'm not using Movavi. Any demo that constantly pops up IE windows trying to promote the product is trash.

Joss Scarlatti
Junior Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 1:37 am
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by Joss Scarlatti »

Two days ago, in an another topic here in this forum about the playhead in Dorico (the green bar), I wrote this:

“I dream of a unique software that makes video scrolling score without playhead like we see and listen to on YouTube. Any geek out there to program such a software? Or maybe, adding that kind of feature in Dorico? I have the right to dream! ... and to sing the blues.”

tromboneandrew
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:57 am
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by tromboneandrew »

OK, I had the initial problem of getting OBS to capture Dorico's sound output, but it looks like I got OBS to recognize sound coming from Dorico. I had to get a bit creative and tracked down the Edit->Device Setup->Device Control Panel->"Allow ASIO host app..." checkbox and disabled that option.

tromboneandrew
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:57 am
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by tromboneandrew »

The first video result, for anyone who might be interested. I am using OBS Studio to create the screen capture videos, and editing them with OpenShot Video Editor. More to come.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ni0FPCtgT4Q

User avatar
snakeeyes021
Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by snakeeyes021 »

Very nice! Glad to see OBS is working out for you.

Out of sheer curiosity, is there any particular reason the page is migrating left in the video? Intentional or still got some kinks to iron out perhaps?
Wow. Very signature. So engraving. Such compose. Amaze.

tromboneandrew
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:57 am
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by tromboneandrew »

Damn, OpenShot is buggy as hell. I don't recommend it.

The page migrating is OpenShot stupidness.

I'm now taking recommendations for video editing software.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5976
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by dankreider »

PowerDirector. Not free, but excellent. You generally get what you pay for in this arena.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico training: dankreider.com/dorico
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

tromboneandrew
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:57 am
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by tromboneandrew »

dankreider wrote:
Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:17 pm
PowerDirector. Not free, but excellent. You generally get what you pay for in this arena.
Maybe. I don't need all those features right now. I'd just like to be able to splice out for length, scale the image a bit, and add the black sidebars and not have it do weird things.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5976
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by dankreider »

I use barely a tenth of what PD does. But it does it well, every time. Fast encoding, dependable, easy to use!
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico training: dankreider.com/dorico
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 19023
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

I've used Shotcut for various simple things with some success.

User avatar
snakeeyes021
Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by snakeeyes021 »

I was also just about to recommend Shotcut. Once again, can't beat the price :)
Wow. Very signature. So engraving. Such compose. Amaze.

tromboneandrew
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:57 am
Contact:

Re: Creating Dorico videos

Post by tromboneandrew »

Shotcut definitely works way better. Thanks. :)

The fixed video without the weird panning:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OcmBujAqYuc

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], psmk31452, Rob Tuley, sjanssens and 6 guests