Flow Creation with "new from template"

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
kswalls
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 4:25 pm
Contact:

Flow Creation with "new from template"

Post by kswalls » Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:44 pm

I want to create a new flow that uses a different set of instrumentation than the existing flow, and want to use the "new from template" to create it. Is there a way to do this in 2.2.10? Thanks!

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7344
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Flow Creation with "new from template"

Post by pianoleo » Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:47 pm

Not really. Two alternatives:

1. Add another flow the usual way, within your existing project, and sort the instrumentation manually OR
2. Start a new project using the New From Template option, then save and close that project. Then, in your original project, go File > Import Flows and select the new project you just saved.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

kswalls
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 4:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Flow Creation with "new from template"

Post by kswalls » Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:50 pm

Perfect! Thanks. Except method two creates new player names. For example, if Flow 1 had "Alto Sax" 1 and 2, the new flow has "Alto 3" and "Alto 4."
It might just be easier to do it manually.
KW

kswalls
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 4:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Flow Creation with "new from template"

Post by kswalls » Tue Feb 05, 2019 8:21 pm

There are some very strange things happening when trying to add a couple of instruments to the 2nd flow that were not in the first. Maybe because it's because the first flow was a Music XML import. I want the instrumentation in Flow 2 to be totally independent of the instrumentation in Flow 1. Is this possible? The "Players" list appears to be global.
Last edited by kswalls on Tue Feb 05, 2019 8:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7344
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Flow Creation with "new from template"

Post by pianoleo » Tue Feb 05, 2019 8:25 pm

The Players list IS global. You could bunch all the players for Flow 1 in one group, then bunch all the players for Flow 2 in another group, which would mitigate the numbering problems.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

kswalls
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 4:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Flow Creation with "new from template"

Post by kswalls » Tue Feb 05, 2019 8:52 pm

Thanks pianoleo, this solved the problem!

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dankreider, Google [Bot], HeiPet, high5ths, mducharme, oscarvandillen, prko and 7 guests