midi files are out of sync with the metronome

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
xime54
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:06 pm
Contact:

midi files are out of sync with the metronome

Post by xime54 »

Hi every body,


First of all: I'm a newbee in Cubase.

I'm using Elements 9.5.


I have import a midi file (2 guitars, 1 bass and 1 drum), and when the pists are played using "Microsoft GS Wavetable synth", it seems that they are out of synch with the clic of the metronome. Containers are physically at the right place.
When I use a VST (ezdrummer) for the drum, it becommes the only pist witch is in synch with the clic.


Does anybody have an idee of this trouble?

Thanks.

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5287
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: midi files are out of sync with the metronome

Post by svennilenni »

Don ´t use Microsoft wavetable synth, for the reason you just found out.

xime54
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: midi files are out of sync with the metronome

Post by xime54 »

Thanks for your answer svennilenni, but as I told, I am a total beginer, so I can't undestand your answer:

- Microsoft wavetable synth is a default setting whenn I import midi file, and all pists together without cubase clic work fine! If I should not use it, why is that by default? How can I change it?
- If I don't use it, what should I use instead?

Thanks

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5287
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: midi files are out of sync with the metronome

Post by svennilenni »

MS wavetable synth is a windows device. It will not even be included in a Cubase mixdown.
Use VST instruments instead like EZD you mentioned. There are free ones and several that come with Cubase. look into Halion Sonic SE. for a start.

xime54
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: midi files are out of sync with the metronome

Post by xime54 »

Oooohh undersrood!
Windows wavetable is not a part of cubase, so the sound treatment creates latency !
All work fine with Halion!
Thanks a lot!

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests