Click sounds are gone

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
DTS Recording Studio
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:40 am
Location: Bordentown, New Jersey USA
Contact:

Click sounds are gone

Post by DTS Recording Studio » Fri Jan 18, 2019 1:17 am

Is there anyone out there that has this issue? CBP10 - my metronome sounds list is empty. Only custom sound is the standard Woodblock. No Clave, nothing. Checked in the Click Sound Sets folder in Steinberg Preferences and the folder is empty. I reinstalled the FULL version of CBP10 again and no luck. What happened to the new audio click sounds introduced in 9.5? See attached pic.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-12-20 at 11.33.02 AM.png
(88.68 KiB) Not downloaded yet
"An Optimist says that glass is half full, a Pessimist says that glass is half empty...an Engineer says that glass is twice as large as it needs to be!"
www.DTSrecordingstudio.com www.facebook.com/DTSrecordingstudio

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 22114
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri Jan 18, 2019 10:12 am

Hi,

Try to install from the Full Installer once again. The missing content should be installed.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
DTS Recording Studio
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:40 am
Location: Bordentown, New Jersey USA
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by DTS Recording Studio » Fri Jan 18, 2019 11:10 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 10:12 am
Hi,

Try to install from the Full Installer once again. The missing content should be installed.
Nope! Just installed the Full version once again and now there's not even the Woodblock sound in there. Nothing. What gives??
Anybody else experiencing this? Is this a CBP10 bug? Or is it just me?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-01-18 at 5.09.00 PM.png
(74.34 KiB) Not downloaded yet
"An Optimist says that glass is half full, a Pessimist says that glass is half empty...an Engineer says that glass is twice as large as it needs to be!"
www.DTSrecordingstudio.com www.facebook.com/DTSrecordingstudio

User avatar
pliktro
Member
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by pliktro » Fri Jan 18, 2019 11:42 pm

Hi. Can you please click on Steinberg click sounds? You have ticked custom sounds maybe that's the problem. Not sure but try it.
Cubase 10.0.40 Win7 x64,Cubase Pro 10, CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.13.6,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r,2xRME Multiface

User avatar
DTS Recording Studio
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:40 am
Location: Bordentown, New Jersey USA
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by DTS Recording Studio » Sat Jan 19, 2019 12:40 am

pliktro wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 11:42 pm
Hi. Can you please click on Steinberg click sounds? You have ticked custom sounds maybe that's the problem. Not sure but try it.
Nothing but the standard click sound. See pic Thanks for suggesting though.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-01-18 at 6.39.07 PM.png
(75.99 KiB) Not downloaded yet
"An Optimist says that glass is half full, a Pessimist says that glass is half empty...an Engineer says that glass is twice as large as it needs to be!"
www.DTSrecordingstudio.com www.facebook.com/DTSrecordingstudio

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 22114
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:56 am

Hi,

Could you try in the Cubase Safe Start Mode? I'm not sure if the sounds are somehow packed and "hard-coded" (it sound really weird) or if these are common wav files stored somewhere.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
pliktro
Member
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by pliktro » Sat Jan 19, 2019 1:08 pm

@DTS Recording Studio: Are you on Mac or PC?
I'm right now in from front of my PC AND in C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Cubase 10_64\Presets\Click Sound Sets, there are some .xml files with the custom sounds names.

Clave A
Clave B
Cowbell
Egg Shaker
Firm Wood
Hihat
Mechanic
Stick
Synthetic
Tambourine
Tiny Kit
Tom
Vintage Spike
Woodblock

Can you confirm that IF you are on a PC? I don't have installed CB 10 on my Mac so i cannot check for you. Sorry.
If you are on Mac and you can find the same folder check if the .xml files are inside, if not i can upload them somewhere for you to get it.

edit: Ok i found out that CB 9.5 has the same folder structure in Mac.
Go to: Applications> right click on Cubase > click on Show package contents > open Contents > open presets > open Click Sound Presets, and check if you have the .xml files inside.
Cubase 10.0.40 Win7 x64,Cubase Pro 10, CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.13.6,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r,2xRME Multiface

User avatar
DTS Recording Studio
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:40 am
Location: Bordentown, New Jersey USA
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by DTS Recording Studio » Sat Jan 19, 2019 8:28 pm

pliktro wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 1:08 pm
@DTS Recording Studio: Are you on Mac or PC?
I'm right now in from front of my PC AND in C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Cubase 10_64\Presets\Click Sound Sets, there are some .xml files with the custom sounds names.

Can you confirm that IF you are on a PC? I don't have installed CB 10 on my Mac so i cannot check for you. Sorry.
If you are on Mac and you can find the same folder check if the .xml files are inside, if not i can upload them somewhere for you to get it.

edit: Ok i found out that CB 9.5 has the same folder structure in Mac.
Go to: Applications> right click on Cubase > click on Show package contents > open Contents > open presets > open Click Sound Presets, and check if you have the .xml files inside.
@pliktro
Yes I am on Mac and I found the wav files inside the Cubase app (show package contents). They are all there, but not xml files, .wavs. This is what i don't understand. They are within the app itself, yet the app doesn't seem them for some reason. As far as I know, i did nothing to screw them up or mess with the file hierarchy.
See attached pic...
Btw, same for 9.5, i checked inside the package contents.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-01-19 at 2.23.03 PM.png
(263.73 KiB) Not downloaded yet
"An Optimist says that glass is half full, a Pessimist says that glass is half empty...an Engineer says that glass is twice as large as it needs to be!"
www.DTSrecordingstudio.com www.facebook.com/DTSrecordingstudio

User avatar
DTS Recording Studio
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:40 am
Location: Bordentown, New Jersey USA
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by DTS Recording Studio » Sat Jan 19, 2019 8:33 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:56 am
Hi,

Could you try in the Cubase Safe Start Mode? I'm not sure if the sounds are somehow packed and "hard-coded" (it sound really weird) or if these are common wav files stored somewhere.
Not sure what is Cubase Safe Start Mode? I've been a user since 1993 and haven't done that before.
To confirm, the wav files for the click sounds are indeed inside the Cubase app when i show package contents. See attached pic.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-01-19 at 2.23.03 PM.png
(263.73 KiB) Not downloaded yet
"An Optimist says that glass is half full, a Pessimist says that glass is half empty...an Engineer says that glass is twice as large as it needs to be!"
www.DTSrecordingstudio.com www.facebook.com/DTSrecordingstudio

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 22114
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:33 pm

Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
DTS Recording Studio
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:40 am
Location: Bordentown, New Jersey USA
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by DTS Recording Studio » Sat Jan 19, 2019 11:15 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:33 pm
Hi,

Safe Start Mode
Thanks I'll give it a try.
"An Optimist says that glass is half full, a Pessimist says that glass is half empty...an Engineer says that glass is twice as large as it needs to be!"
www.DTSrecordingstudio.com www.facebook.com/DTSrecordingstudio

User avatar
DTS Recording Studio
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:40 am
Location: Bordentown, New Jersey USA
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by DTS Recording Studio » Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:53 am

DTS Recording Studio wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 11:15 pm
Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:33 pm
Hi,

Safe Start Mode
Thanks I'll give it a try.
Nope, nothing in Safe Start either.
See pic...
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-01-19 at 6.51.37 PM.png
(82.68 KiB) Not downloaded yet
"An Optimist says that glass is half full, a Pessimist says that glass is half empty...an Engineer says that glass is twice as large as it needs to be!"
www.DTSrecordingstudio.com www.facebook.com/DTSrecordingstudio

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 22114
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sun Jan 20, 2019 8:37 am

Hi,

Could you try to reinstall Cubase?

Before your can make a backup of your current Cubase. Just rename you're Cubase 10.app to Cubase 10_backup. App (or whatever). Then install Cubase from the full Installer and install the latest update, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
DTS Recording Studio
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:40 am
Location: Bordentown, New Jersey USA
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by DTS Recording Studio » Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:27 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Sun Jan 20, 2019 8:37 am
Hi,

Could you try to reinstall Cubase?

Before your can make a backup of your current Cubase. Just rename you're Cubase 10.app to Cubase 10_backup. App (or whatever). Then install Cubase from the full Installer and install the latest update, please.
Hi Martin,

Yep! Already did this twice....FULL installs and still nothing. I would take my Cubase10.app and move it to a folder of my previous versions which i still have since CB8. So i definitely moved it out of the way before installing the 2 times. I even open separately 9.5 and the sounds were missing from there too, even though they are still inside the app show package contents. I just don't get it. It's not critical that i get those custom sounds working, but it would be nice to have options to change up the standard click sound from time to time.
"An Optimist says that glass is half full, a Pessimist says that glass is half empty...an Engineer says that glass is twice as large as it needs to be!"
www.DTSrecordingstudio.com www.facebook.com/DTSrecordingstudio

User avatar
pliktro
Member
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by pliktro » Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:48 pm

DTS Recording Studio wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 8:28 pm
pliktro wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 1:08 pm
@DTS Recording Studio: Are you on Mac or PC?
I'm right now in from front of my PC AND in C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Cubase 10_64\Presets\Click Sound Sets, there are some .xml files with the custom sounds names.

Can you confirm that IF you are on a PC? I don't have installed CB 10 on my Mac so i cannot check for you. Sorry.
If you are on Mac and you can find the same folder check if the .xml files are inside, if not i can upload them somewhere for you to get it.

edit: Ok i found out that CB 9.5 has the same folder structure in Mac.
Go to: Applications> right click on Cubase > click on Show package contents > open Contents > open presets > open Click Sound Presets, and check if you have the .xml files inside.
@pliktro
Yes I am on Mac and I found the wav files inside the Cubase app (show package contents). They are all there, but not xml files, .wavs. This is what i don't understand. They are within the app itself, yet the app doesn't seem them for some reason. As far as I know, i did nothing to screw them up or mess with the file hierarchy.
See attached pic...
Btw, same for 9.5, i checked inside the package contents.
You are looking at the wrong folder....NOT in folder "click samples".....but in folder "presets" and then "Click Sound Sets"
screenshot attached.
Anyway i did upload the folder in case you need it. https://mega.nz/#!EzRnwY5b!v4jda-E-4J6T ... FtsTb1oMP0
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-01-20 at 5.43.18 PM.png
(578.29 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase 10.0.40 Win7 x64,Cubase Pro 10, CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.13.6,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r,2xRME Multiface

User avatar
DTS Recording Studio
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:40 am
Location: Bordentown, New Jersey USA
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by DTS Recording Studio » Sun Jan 20, 2019 7:14 pm

pliktro wrote:
Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:48 pm
You are looking at the wrong folder....NOT in folder "click samples".....but in folder "presets" and then "Click Sound Sets"
screenshot attached.
OH man, I thought that solved it for sure. Took a look and I DO have those xml files right where they should be. Something is screwed up with linking to them. Cubase is not seeing them. And the Default Sounds drop down menu does not give me the option to "open" a sound set. And I can't even point to them because they are hidden inside the package contents of the app! UGH. See pic attached. Almost....
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-01-20 at 1.03.45 PM.png
(70.23 KiB) Not downloaded yet
"An Optimist says that glass is half full, a Pessimist says that glass is half empty...an Engineer says that glass is twice as large as it needs to be!"
www.DTSrecordingstudio.com www.facebook.com/DTSrecordingstudio

User avatar
DTS Recording Studio
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:40 am
Location: Bordentown, New Jersey USA
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by DTS Recording Studio » Sun Jan 20, 2019 7:25 pm

DTS Recording Studio wrote:
Sun Jan 20, 2019 7:14 pm
pliktro wrote:
Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:48 pm
You are looking at the wrong folder....NOT in folder "click samples".....but in folder "presets" and then "Click Sound Sets"
screenshot attached.
I GOT IT!!!!!!! FINALLY!!!! Its NOT the click sound sets WITHIN the Cubase app....its in your LIBRARY > PREFERENCES > CUBASExx > PRESETS > CLICK SOUND SETS!! The folder was EMPTY and I don't know why. So I just copied them from the app and VOILA!! Back to normal. See attached pic. Pheww.
Thanks @pliktro and @Martin.Jirsak for all your assistance!! Hopefully this will help someone else out someday.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-01-20 at 1.20.53 PM.png
(118.93 KiB) Not downloaded yet
"An Optimist says that glass is half full, a Pessimist says that glass is half empty...an Engineer says that glass is twice as large as it needs to be!"
www.DTSrecordingstudio.com www.facebook.com/DTSrecordingstudio

User avatar
pliktro
Member
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: Click sounds are gone

Post by pliktro » Mon Jan 21, 2019 11:30 am

Finally..... Hurray.
I'm glad you solved it. Hopefully no one else gets this problem but IF, then here is the solution.
Cubase 10.0.40 Win7 x64,Cubase Pro 10, CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.13.6,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r,2xRME Multiface

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cubase+++, valvehead and 7 guests