German version: Key commands

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Eddo
Junior Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 12:45 pm
Location: Stuttgart, GER
Contact:

German version: Key commands

Post by Eddo »

SOLVED – see post below

=====================

This is a minor thing, but I wanted to bring it to the attention of whoever is concerned:

In the localized German version the key command for inputting rests is a semi-colon (;), the yellow flag however shows a comma (,). Which btw would be more convenient, as the semi-colon requires an additional shift-key…

Also, not sure if it has to do with the localization, when I activate slur (s) by mistake, clicking it or typing s again doesn't deactivate it. Is there some logic behind it that I haven't grasped so far or can it be regarded as a small bug?

EDIT 2/6/18: Okay, Shift-s fixes it.
I still don't understand why I need a different shortcut to deactivate/stop slurs. The only reason could be to stack slurs, but for what reason would one want to do this?
Last edited by Eddo on Sat Jun 02, 2018 3:37 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Playing and teaching 4-12 plucked and slided strings
Dorico Pro 3 | Sibelius 8.1 | Cubase Pro 10 | Ableton Live 10 | Wavelab 9.5.35.152
MBP13' 14,2 | macOS 10.15.4 | MOTU Traveler mk3

HeiPet
Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by HeiPet »

Eddo,
for me (Win 10) rest input has got the key command (,). Did you change something here?

(s) starts a slur and (shift + s) stops a slur. This is the case, because you can have multiple slurs nested ("verschachtelt") - if you want.
e.g.:
press (s) to start Slur 1
(s) to start Slur 2
(Shift + s) to stop Slur 2
(Shift + s) to stop Slur 1
or any other combination ...

Eddo
Junior Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 12:45 pm
Location: Stuttgart, GER
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by Eddo »

ad 1) No, I didn't. I'm on Mac.

ad 2) Yes, I found out (rtfm…). Just wondering why would one want to nest slurs?

Anyway, thank you for replying!
Playing and teaching 4-12 plucked and slided strings
Dorico Pro 3 | Sibelius 8.1 | Cubase Pro 10 | Ableton Live 10 | Wavelab 9.5.35.152
MBP13' 14,2 | macOS 10.15.4 | MOTU Traveler mk3

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8007
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by pianoleo »

2) Examples attached, both from Chopin Etudes.
Attachments
chopin op10 no10.PNG
(99.55 KiB) Not downloaded yet
chopin op10 no4.PNG
(54.11 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

Eddo
Junior Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 12:45 pm
Location: Stuttgart, GER
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by Eddo »

@ Leo: Convinced! ;-)

Concerning (,) and (;):
I found out that the strange shortcut behavior has something to do with my home-made Mac keyboard mapping done years ago in a handy tool called Ukelele.
Setting back to default German fixes it. I didn't change the comma and semi-colon, though, so it's still unclear to me why Dorico doesn't see a comma when I type one, and sees a comma when I type a semi-colon. When I use the keyboard for any other task, both commas and semi-colons behave normally…
Anyway, it's something outside of Dorico that somehow interferes with it. I can live with it – or fix it outside of Dorico.

Solved.
Playing and teaching 4-12 plucked and slided strings
Dorico Pro 3 | Sibelius 8.1 | Cubase Pro 10 | Ableton Live 10 | Wavelab 9.5.35.152
MBP13' 14,2 | macOS 10.15.4 | MOTU Traveler mk3

VIPStephan
Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:19 am
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by VIPStephan »

HeiPet wrote:
Sat Jun 02, 2018 2:33 pm
(s) starts a slur and (shift + s) stops a slur. This is the case, because you can have multiple slurs nested ("verschachtelt") - if you want.
e.g.:
press (s) to start Slur 1
(s) to start Slur 2
(Shift + s) to stop Slur 2
(Shift + s) to stop Slur 1
or any other combination ...
I don’t have Dorico 2 yet, but I don’t suppose this has changed, so here’s a suggestion for Steinberg, regarding the nested slurs UI: show a little number on the button to indicate how many slurs are currently activated. It might feel redundant because you should know how many slurs you have activated, but sometimes you might accidentally hit the key and unknowingly add a slur level, or you get distracted during input (phone rings/child cries/your lunch boils over in the kitchen/…), so it would be helpful to see the nesting level right away without having to try and revert if it’s wrong.

ReRei
Member
Posts: 433
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by ReRei »

In German version Dorico 2. I have my key commands from version 1.2 got imported with the update. That’s good but now I realized that 2 of my commands are still there and visible in the edit menu however they have another translation in that menu than in the key commands menu. I can’t find them there. I found others which I suppose should be the same (but in other words) however if I select them they show no command set to them.
Some other key commands are still not translated. And the command „Datei exportieren“ can be set to what I want but does nothing.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18303
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

There is a bug in 2.0 that affects key commands that are "two levels deep" in the Key Commands editor, due to a problem with localisation which will be fixed in the forthcoming update. Can you be specific about the commands that appear with the wrong shortcuts?

ptram
Member
Posts: 762
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by ptram »

I'm not sure this is related or not, but I too have issues with changing key commands. And I use a custom key layout made with Ukelele. In addition to not being able to make some key commands work, I can also not see the original ones in the Key Command preferences.

viewtopic.php?f=246&t=140045&p=753776#p753776

Paolo

ReRei
Member
Posts: 433
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by ReRei »

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:02 am
There is a bug in 2.0 that affects key commands that are "two levels deep" in the Key Commands editor, due to a problem with localisation which will be fixed in the forthcoming update. Can you be specific about the commands that appear with the wrong shortcuts?
I attach two screenshots which will show the problem. It is the transposing score / concert score which are wrong.

Here you can see how it is called in the Edit menu and the shortcuts set for them
The attachment Edit menu.png is no longer available


I would like to have a toggling key command for this transposing and concert score. This would be very handy I have wouldn't habe to recall both shortcuts.
Attachments
Edit menu.png
(148 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by ReRei on Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ReRei
Member
Posts: 433
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by ReRei »

2nd screenshot. I don't know why I could not attach both at once.

This is what I found in the key commands window.
Key command.png
(41.73 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18303
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

I believe this is the same bug discussed elsewhere on the forum for commands that are "two levels deep" in the menu of key commands: there is a localisation-related problem that prevents those mapped shortcuts from showing up in the dialog. This problem has been fixed in advance of the next release so it will not bother you further once that build is available.

You cannot set a single shortcut to toggle between concert and transposing pitch.

ptram
Member
Posts: 762
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by ptram »

Something that I would encourage to check is the ability to reassign the Note Duration shortcuts. For example, on my keyboard they currently seem hard-wired to the numeric keypad (or the regular number keys).

This is a bit annoying in my case, because I will always have to press two keys for each duration. 1) By using a keyboard with no numeric keypad, I have to simulate it with the fn/ctrl+jkl… key combination. And 2) typing regular numbers requires pressing Shift before typing the actual number.

I would be happy to assign note durations to single hits (like jkl…), and make note input much more comfortable.

Paolo

User avatar
k_b
Senior Member
Posts: 1545
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by k_b »

ptram, can you configure your computer/laptop so you don’t need to use the SHIFT key to access the regular number keys?
Dorico Elements 3.1.10, Dorico Pro 3.5.10.1045
PhotoScore Ultimate 2020.1.14

semibreve [whole note] - minim [half note]
crotchet [quarter note] - quaver [eighth note]
semiquaver [sixteenth note]

fkretlow
Member
Posts: 819
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 10:10 am
Location: Detmold, Germany
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by fkretlow »

ptram wrote:
Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:44 pm
I would be happy to assign note durations to single hits (like jkl…), and make note input much more comfortable.
If you take a look at the file keycommands_XX.json for your language in the Dorico application folder you'll find a section with the key commands for the note durations. You could copy this section to the right place in the corresponding json file in your user data folder and replace the numbers with your own key commands. (Use a proper editor like sublime text so you've got some orientation with the json syntax!) I haven't tried it myself but I think the default key commands should then be overridden by the changed ones.
I would not advise to change them right away in the first file because I seem to remember that Daniel said doing this might cause problems when you update Dorico later. And do save a backup of the file before you change anything!
Florian

ptram
Member
Posts: 762
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by ptram »

@Florian, great tip! Yes, I can create my own command map myself!

@k_b, this would mean having to continually switch between keyboard layouts. Unfortunately, Apple decided to abandon the old Italian ISO layout in year 2000, and adopt a modifed US layout. This means that you have to press two keys for very common symbols, like accented characters or apostrophes. I prefer to keep the numbers in second position, and have the typing flow go without any break.

Paolo

User avatar
k_b
Senior Member
Posts: 1545
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by k_b »

ptram, you know that you can assign any keyboard layout to your keyboard?
I does of course not match the actual keys - but might fit your workflow in a better way..
Dorico Elements 3.1.10, Dorico Pro 3.5.10.1045
PhotoScore Ultimate 2020.1.14

semibreve [whole note] - minim [half note]
crotchet [quarter note] - quaver [eighth note]
semiquaver [sixteenth note]

ptram
Member
Posts: 762
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by ptram »

@Florian, unfortunately it seems there is no way to add a custom map in the Preferences. However, I can use any unused layout, and rename my custom layout that way.

@k_b, yes, I know. I make use of my own custom keyboard layout on any system.

Paolo

fkretlow
Member
Posts: 819
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 10:10 am
Location: Detmold, Germany
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by fkretlow »

I was thinking of adding the key commands for note durations to the json file that contains the custom key commands you defined via the preferences menu. Thus you wouldn't need to create a new map. But I was probably not quite clear about the different files and folders involved (it's late and English is a foreign language...). Anyway, I'm glad you got it working, this way or the other!
Florian

ptram
Member
Posts: 762
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by ptram »

Florian, do you know where the custom keycommands for the Default keyboard layout are stored, on the Mac? What I can find is:

- The .json files for each language in the Dorico > Contents > Resources folder.
- A preferences.xml file in the ~/Library/Applications Support/Steinberg/Dorico folder, only containing general preferences.

If custom keycommands are saved elsewhere, I can't find them.

Paolo

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4088
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by MarcLarcher »

The custom ones are the ones in your ~/Library
The others are the default ones.
Marc Larcher

OS X 10.15.6, macbook pro 2019 16" (8 cores i9 @ 2.3GHz, 32GB, 1TB)
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.5.10, and Photoscore Ultimate 2020.1.14(9.0.2))
French is my native language

fkretlow
Member
Posts: 819
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 10:10 am
Location: Detmold, Germany
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by fkretlow »

Have you ever saved a custom key command in the preferences dialog? If so a json file should have been created in the same folder where you find your custom preferences and Engraving Options and so on (I'm not on Mac, but trust Marc, dunno if he's ever been wrong here on the forum :)) If not then there's probably no such file yet. Just save a custom key command then, you can delete it after copying and pasting the durations section into the new file.
Florian

ptram
Member
Posts: 762
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by ptram »

Found! It is in ~/Library/Application Support/Steinberg/Dorico 2/. I had reset all my keycommands, to recreate them in the keycommands file inside the Dorico app folder. I'll try to edit my keycommands in that file.

Paolo

ptram
Member
Posts: 762
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by ptram »

Ok, I tried to edit the .json file in the Library folder. But I had forgotten that this thread started because of a bug making the changes (all or some) contained in that file are not considered.

So, until a fix is released, the only solution is to edit the file inside the Dorico app.

Paolo

User avatar
xavierpages
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: German version: Key commands

Post by xavierpages »

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 1:06 am
I believe this is the same bug discussed elsewhere on the forum for commands that are "two levels deep" in the menu of key commands: there is a localisation-related problem that prevents those mapped shortcuts from showing up in the dialog. This problem has been fixed in advance of the next release so it will not bother you further once that build is available.

You cannot set a single shortcut to toggle between concert and transposing pitch.
I am having problems with some custom shortcuts. I don't know if this is related to the previous problems, but I post it here in case it helps to refine the improvement in this field.
I have defined a shortcut to filter rests to Crtl+Shift+Alt+R. It seems to work just afeter definition, but after some time, it stops to work... I don't know if it is related to my keyboard language (Spanish/Catalan). Dorico is running in English.
Thanks in advanced for helping!
Xavier Pagès-Corella | Conductor & Composer
Dorico 3.5.0.1020, Windows 10
Website: www.xavierpages-corella.com
Publisher: www.influxsheetmusic.com

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Donizetti06, J_Woodtli, PjotrB, windrag and 2 guests