Remove instrument numbering

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
auburnjamjoe
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:05 pm
Contact:

Remove instrument numbering

Post by auburnjamjoe »

Does anyone know if there's a way to have more than one of the same instrument and not have Dorico automatically number them?

I'm scoring some parts with two percussionists who in real life will be sharing a set of instruments. So for example, they each at various points play the Tam-tam, but there won't actually be two tam-tams.

I've added a tam-tam to each player, and they're become named Tam-tam 1 and Tam-tam 2, but I'd rather not have the numbering. Is that currently possible?

User avatar
Stephen Taylor
Member
Posts: 638
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 11:06 pm
Location: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Contact:

Re: Remove instrument numbering

Post by Stephen Taylor »

One solution is to put an extra space at the beginning or end of an instrument: "Tam-tam" and "Tam-tam ".
Dorico Pro, Sibelius 7.5, Logic Pro, Max, Kyma; 2019 MacBook Pro 16"
www.stephenandrewtaylor.net

auburnjamjoe
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Remove instrument numbering

Post by auburnjamjoe »

Brilliant idea! Thanks Stephen!

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: HeiPet, ptram, Summerstars and 10 guests