How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post general topics related to Nuendo 8 here.
GregC
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 7:39 pm
Contact:

How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by GregC » Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:16 pm

Hey all

I really hope this is a simple thing to do and I have somehow missed it but please will someone help with explaining how to export a cue sheet from a project where there have been many songs used.

I have a client that is asking me to go into their studio as they use Pro Tools which has the option to export cue sheets and that is the last thing I want to do.. Don't want to lose the work and definitely don't want to be using Pro Tools! :)

Thanks
Greg

User avatar
Sunshy
Member
Posts: 764
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by Sunshy » Mon Jan 22, 2018 5:17 pm

N 10 Cubase 10
Intel Core I7-3930K Sandy Bridge 3.8, 64 GB Corsair RAM, Itel 330 Series SSD Drive for OS, Win 10 Pro 64 bit
RME UFX, UR28M, CC 121, Blackmagic Intensity Pro

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:36 pm

Well, that's handy, and hello, Sunshy!

I started asking for cue-sheet export back around Nuendo 3, I think. You'd think more people would be interested in such a feature; I got the online equivalent of blank stares from the community at large, especially when the post-prod "one-stop shop" is often involved in composing and music supervisory issues. I'm on a plane now (wishing again for soft-elicenser) and don't have access to the app I use for cue sheet generation... but it was free. Nothing I've seen is as robust as the old OS9 "Cue", but I'd sure be interested in what other people are using.

And, again, Steinberg-- we really ought to be able to generate a professional cue sheet in Nuendo.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

ErikG
Member
Posts: 641
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by ErikG » Wed Jan 24, 2018 7:32 am

But jeez. Nuendo have had support to export markers as csv for a long time now.
Csv files are easily readable text tiles that are also formatted to easily be imported into spreadsheets or database programs for further processing.

Another alternative if you are using straight audio files as music cues is to copy those tracks/files to empty tracks without automation (automation causes clutter in the export) and export them as AES31. AES31 is a open human readable project format that may give you the type of information you need straight away.

As with many things in Nuendo, a solution to a problem is often already available but sometimes required a bit of a workaround.
Filmlance, a Swedish production company producing drama and feature films.
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 4k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1410
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by Oliver.Lucas » Wed Jan 24, 2018 8:30 am

My solution is a semi automated workflow using ykey by plumamazing.
It sets locators around a music cue, then copies in/out times and the filename and pasts this into a word processor.
As a result you get very nicely readable lists.
Main machine: Fireface UFX+ 64GB, 2TB Hecacore macmini 10.14.x, egpu
Avid ProTools Ulitimate and S3. A gazillion plugings
https://aufnahme.myds.me

User avatar
Sunshy
Member
Posts: 764
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by Sunshy » Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:45 pm

Hi Chewy, I moved back to Tempe AZ so I should stop by and see you soon.

I just feel that this feature should already be implemented as I've requested it as well. Yes, you can export in/out points and length, but it would be nice to not have to use 3rd party apps to arrange the data in the form of a readable Cue Sheet. The info is there, just the delivery falls short.
N 10 Cubase 10
Intel Core I7-3930K Sandy Bridge 3.8, 64 GB Corsair RAM, Itel 330 Series SSD Drive for OS, Win 10 Pro 64 bit
RME UFX, UR28M, CC 121, Blackmagic Intensity Pro

GregC
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 7:39 pm
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by GregC » Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:12 pm

Thanks everyone for all the feedback.. Good to know I'm not the only one dealing with this! A nice simple way of exporting the cue sheet from Nuendo as you can in Pro Tools would be super handy. Hopefully they take note or are already working on it :)

ErikG
Member
Posts: 641
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by ErikG » Thu Feb 15, 2018 6:16 am

Exactly where is the explicit cue sheet export in PT? I have never seen that.
Filmlance, a Swedish production company producing drama and feature films.
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 4k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 568
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:14 am

You can export session as text in Pro Tools. But that is hardly a cue sheet...
Have to byu other softwares for that AFAIK...
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

GregC
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 7:39 pm
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by GregC » Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:49 am

Yes that is what I am referring to in Pro Tools, the text file of the session that can be exported.

That's what my client is looking for which they have received in the past from other studios which use Pro Tools. It seems like they take this information and plug it into their system/software that they use to create cue sheets.

Would be great if Nuendo did the same thing..

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 568
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:03 am

What info the client wants? Durations of the musics?
If so, just make cycle markers around each music, name accordingly and export markers as csv...
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

GregC
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 7:39 pm
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by GregC » Fri Feb 16, 2018 11:30 am

The attachments will show you what you will find in the text file from Pro Tools.. sent to me from the client.
Attachments
Capture2.JPG
(330.23 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Capture 1.JPG
(520.39 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 568
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:26 pm

Still unclear what they need. For me that looks like a lot of unneeded info.
So this from earlier in this post: viewtopic.php?p=717756&sid=b0fd94bc3d85 ... 1b#p710716
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2579
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by Fredo » Fri Feb 16, 2018 1:49 pm

Not the same as the txt list from PT (Actually, if you take a screenshot of your Pool, you haev the exact same information as "Capture 1), but try the Project/Track sheet.

Unfortunately for big projects, it can result in pages and pages ...

Fredo

ErikG
Member
Posts: 641
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by ErikG » Sat Feb 17, 2018 8:30 am

Please do read my earlier post again.
We can already do this and have been able to for years!
Neither the PT or Nuendo solution will create a complete cue sheet but the info will all be there.

I just hate when some folks complain about something ask how to do it and then ignore the bloody answer!

I would really like it if some folks tried harder to learn and understand their tools before complaining about them.
Filmlance, a Swedish production company producing drama and feature films.
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 4k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

stingray
Senior Member
Posts: 1136
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:55 am
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by stingray » Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:10 pm

ErikG wrote:
Sat Feb 17, 2018 8:30 am
I just hate when some folks complain about something ask how to do it and then ignore the bloody answer
I know what you mean. That happens too often on here.

User avatar
Sunshy
Member
Posts: 764
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by Sunshy » Sun Feb 18, 2018 1:43 am

I agree that all the info you need is there, but what many people don't know is how to convert this into a usable cue sheet. I had to get help converting the times (seconds) into minutes and seconds in a spreadsheet. This info (steps on how to make a cue sheet) should be in a knowledge base somewhere with an excel formula and an excel or google docs spreadsheet.
N 10 Cubase 10
Intel Core I7-3930K Sandy Bridge 3.8, 64 GB Corsair RAM, Itel 330 Series SSD Drive for OS, Win 10 Pro 64 bit
RME UFX, UR28M, CC 121, Blackmagic Intensity Pro

Dave_C
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:21 am
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by Dave_C » Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:51 am

I am suddenly finding myself needing this functionality as well and also for much the same reason (another studio is able to just export it from pro tools).
I work on quite a large number of short duration projects that get compiled into tv shows. Its not uncommon for me to work on a 3 or 4 minute item that has 10 pieces of music in it and I might do a dozen or more of those items in a day. I don't need in and out points, all I need is the total duration that each music file was used in the project (it may be used more than once). I thought I might be able to get this info from the pool window but it doesn't seem to appear so. If I have to create and label markers for each snippit of music used its going to take too long. Is there an easy way for me to do this that I am missing?

Cheers
Dave
Nuendo 10.1, Windows 10, RME HDSPe AES, Blackmagic Intensity Pro. Avid Artist Mix+Transport.

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 568
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Mon Feb 19, 2018 7:47 am

Use cylcemarkers and to export to csv.

These things have been said in this thread already...
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

Niekbeem
Member
Posts: 692
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by Niekbeem » Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:42 am

.... try the Project/Track sheet.
Although this is a sheet "from the past" and needs a overhaul in many ways, I think it delivers you the best solution.

A suggestion which may give you and your client the easiest overview, although again "from the past", not printable and it only shows the content of 1 track at a time:

PROJECT/ BROWSER , select your music track, select "Track Data", create screenshot.
Nuendo 10 / Pro Tools Ultimate / Logic X / MixBus32C 5 / WaveLab 10
MacPro 5.1: 12Core 3.46GHz Intel Xeon/ 48GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.13
MacBook Pro: 2.9 GHz Intel Core i9/ 32 GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.14
MetricHalo ULN8 + 2882 / RME HDSPe MadiFace
Euphonix MC Pro

ErikG
Member
Posts: 641
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by ErikG » Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:09 pm

Or you could try one of the above already mentioned suggestions, or of course ignore them.
Filmlance, a Swedish production company producing drama and feature films.
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 4k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

Dave_C
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:21 am
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by Dave_C » Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:51 pm

Please excuse my ignorance but don't all the 'already mentioned suggestions' require markers being made. I have a 4 minute long item with 8 pieces of music in it with a number of them hacked together from separate regions from the same file. Is there and easy way to create markers for each piece of music being used, bearing in mind each region is crossfaded into the next that doesn't involve me manually making and labelling the cycle markers?

The track data view gets close although it has the length of each region which (for me) would have to be manually added together and doesn't appear to be exportable/printable.


Dave
Nuendo 10.1, Windows 10, RME HDSPe AES, Blackmagic Intensity Pro. Avid Artist Mix+Transport.

ErikG
Member
Posts: 641
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by ErikG » Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:10 pm

The need to deal with edited music cues exists in all solutions.
Easiest way is actuall to handle it outside of the daw but requires som excel or database skills (not very advanced but still).
Otherwise the user have to either consolidate or glue or somehow deal with the edited parts in the daw first. There is no way around that.

Another thing to be aware of is that the event length might be totally wrong as the used length of the music may be totally different depending on where the mixer fades the cue in or out.

As with most things there are no free lunches.

Dealing with stems and overlapping a/b cues is another obstacle again.

What I do is to just go through the material check the in/out points of the music and grab the name from the remix track using a macro (I use keyboard maestro in Mac). This speeds things up quite a bit.
Filmlance, a Swedish production company producing drama and feature films.
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 4k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 568
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:42 pm

I clue the edited music parts, have a key command to make a cycle marker around it and copy paste song name to markers name.
When finished, export music cycle markers to csv.
Easy, not too time consuming and is very ok for productions...
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

Dave_C
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:21 am
Contact:

Re: How to export a cue sheet the same way as you can with Pro Tools?

Post by Dave_C » Thu Mar 15, 2018 4:24 am

Sorry to dredge this up again but I was wondering if someone had a clever way (on a windows machine) of selecting the 'region description' field so I can copy it and paste it to the marker description field without having to click on it with the mouse, this seems to be the one thing stopping me from making a macro.
Nuendo 10.1, Windows 10, RME HDSPe AES, Blackmagic Intensity Pro. Avid Artist Mix+Transport.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests